Culture First
Credits: 251
Do you prefer the Soca DJ's of the 80's or the New Age Dj"S
I remember back in the day when I did it, all we did was mixed from song to song without talking. Back then it was all about a good mix. I remember the days of King Chow, Mad Man maddy, The late GB just to mention a few. Now the thing is totally different now...
Credits: 6,463
I want to know since when there had to be an Mike Man
Thats just to me reggae Djs Playing soca PUUUUUUUUUUUUUuuullllllllllllllll UUUUUUUUuuuPPPPPPPPPPPPP |
Culture First
Just resently I noticed that at the ARk...I remember when 2 guys would play all night,
now you about 10 lines up to get their chance to play.. |
Ive noticed that also
Y so many? I think it have something to do with the radio stations but I cant remember what was told to me anyway theywont play something that they aint hear noone else play before what a shame. So many of them playing the same thing |
Culture First
I actually thought that I was in a dancehall club. They play barely a verse and that's it..
Credits: 1,718
i'll never 4get a flyer i saw lass summer that had about 11 dj's on it. i guess w/ so many these dayz, they want 2 hire them all. who knows. maybe the vets can answer.
but i prefer a max of 2 dj's for 1 party. i rememba it used 2 be dat way and parties were rockin. salty |
look meh!
Credits: 1,125
The style has changed along with the music and the feteing public...unfortunately there are only a handful of people that can appreciate that older style of mixing. I happen to prefer it myself, never been much of ah talker myself, but say what.
As for the huge DJ lineups, not really sure about the reasoning behind that. I think alot of the times it messes up the vibes cause just when a DJ settles into a groove, ah next one coming to play. This is one of the main reasons Sokalypso parties always has two DJs and not 4 and 5. |
Credits: 1,718
just realized my previous post had nothing 2 do w/ topic.
but yeh mixing was it. blending from tune to tune was the real dj skillz and all u needed. some micmen r real cool though. it's the xcessive talkers dat can kill a party. i personally prefer 2 let the music speak 4 itself. salty |
2 makes sense
Thiis way u know what the next one play and u can take ur session anyway u want Ive seen some serious fight down in them fetes amongst Djs it really sad But I think when the promoter makes a deal with the radio station the owner asks him to put a couple of his djs on there I may be wrong. |
POISON CREW
Credits: 183
we crew have 4 d.j.s with different talents, all mixing and no talk... how do you dance to someone talking ah pack of *Hit.. only the reggae crew figure it out... Last edited by xclusiv; 03-08-2005 at 09:53 PM.. |
Culture First
is it that they are looking for the crowd responce and they hype the song up then drop it? One guy that I heard sounded like he was broadcasting a radio show. What the hell is this ..I actually heard his voice more than anything else..
Credits: 120
its all about crowd control.....if the DJ/mic man can incite some craziness....then talk yuh talk....but if you RELY on your voice to hype up a dance....i feelin sorry fuh yuh......cause if you cant move a soca crowd with soca music....YUH DEAD...
Credits: 5,899
In my opinion, there are a lot of DJ's out there who just don't know what the PAYING crowd like.
For once I want to go to a fete where not 1 song is repeated, but the DJ's take you back and forth through time with sweet soca music. Its especially good to hear the tunes that you haven't heard in a very long time, but I can only hear them on my mp3 player. If I was a DJ, I'd sort things out for real. |
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 37,843
Back when it was all records you had to actually spend plenty $ to keep up to date and therefore unless you had a money tree DJing was serious to those who invested time and finance ito it. I remember laboring after parties to dismantle system and toat home at least 8 crates of music. Now the average idiot goes online or outside by the bootleggers and has enough music to call themselves DJs. Also the crowd has changed. We who can appreciate the mixing are now an anomile or a throw back if you will to the days of real DJs. Now effects and talking have replaced ability to actually mix. I remeber nights when me and my partner at the time would play all night till sun come up and people still wouldn't want to leave. Even if someone else came to play the pretty much understood the vibe you created and could work with it to keep things flowing. Now you have everybody and they grandmother callin themselves DJs and they couldn't even play a good 2 hour session and keep the crowd interested.
I must say my most enjoyable play out in recent years was at Sokalypso where I felt free to do as I pleased with the crowd. There was also no pressure to come in and try to play 20 minutes of hits so that I stand out among 6-10 other DJs. To me DJing is an artform and we are supposed to be able to compliment oneanother if more than one of us are playing. This however is a lost ideal in that every DJ now needs to shine in order to always get gigs. So they all want to play at the same time and are all desperate to play the same songs that they think can get the crowd to act like wild monkeys. Noone wants to be the one to just have everyone on the floor enjoying the vibes if they not jumpin an screamin puuuuul uuuuup. Blame cds, promoters and the ever changing crowd. |
Aye YOU...
question......

now you about 10 lines up to get their chance to play..