Credits: 238
Source: trinidadexpress
Feb 8, 2004 By Nigel Telesford Welcome to the world where as Denyse Plummer once declared: "woman is boss". Guys, don't even bother to protest, just accept it as the absolute truth. Here we are on the final stretch to Carnival 2004 (or C4K, as some have dubbed this edition of our annual festival) and all around us, the action is centred around the female species. Whether it's the lady from the office that you've never seen get on bad like that before, or one of the many Soca Divas on-stage who is inciting these calculated acts of winery, the fact remains that women are in control. With Carnival right around the corner, there's no question that the current crop of Soca Divas are taking matters into their own hands. This year, a host of female vocalists have risen into the spotlight with engaging selections that play successfully upon the dominance of the female species. Let us now examine the lives of some of the most popular soca starlets, namely: Michelle Sylvester, Onika Bostic, Sanell Dempster, Destra Garcia and Denise "Saucy Wow" Belfon. All of these ladies are high in demand by promoters, advertisers and the general public, and thus, their daily schedules read like the itinerary of Government ministers and Members of Parliament-when elections are imminent. Michelle Sylvester: Virtual newcomer, Michelle Sylvester is enjoying her best season ever with her solo hit, "Go Ahead" in addition to her equally popular collaboration with Terry Seales, "Dip Down Low". "I have no complaints at all," she declared. "This season has been really wonderful and certainly, it's been my best season ever. Lots of people are calling for all sorts of different things; sometimes I have four/five gigs in one night, so it's hectic, but nice. I'm enjoying it; I'm having a lot of fun this year." Fun is most definitely what Carnival is all about, but while others enjoy the "barely-there" dress-code that becomes the norm around this time of year, patrons may have noticed that Sylvester is not one to show off too much of her sexy physique on-stage. "I'm kinda conservative I guess," she whispered, "at least when it comes to public appearances. I like wearing anything sexy and comfortable, but I don't like exposing too much of my body." body." The talented songstress remained unsure of her plans following the Carnival season, but she did express the hope that she would be making some appearances on the international circuit. The Pure Energy LP, which would include her solo offering, is due to be released after Carnival and sales of her single CD have been encouraging. Sylvester has already entered the International Soca Monarch competition and she said she will take part in any other competitions that exist in her vein. Destra Garcia: Meanwhile, Destra Garcia is waist-deep in commitments: having signed on to mentor five young acts as part of the Coca Cola sponsored, "Xtra Curricula" programme-which visits schools around the nation three days per week-in addition to her full-time position as a lead vocalist with the band, Atlantik. The ambitious entertainer is also hard at work on completing her sophomore LP, which would include her many hit singles and collaborations. "I just letting go tune this rounds," she revealed earlier this year. "Let the people pick which ones they like. My album is going to have something for everyone, so I want them to get familiar with all my new material. This isn't a Carnival album, it's a Destra album for all who like me and my music." Her latest release, "Bonnie and Clyde" is already a crowd favourite, along with her other C4K singles, "Negative Vibes", "In The Air" and her collaborations with the late musician, Andre Tanker, "Roller Coaster and Traffik vocalist, Shurwayne Winchester, "Come Beta". With her sexy outfits, dynamic stage persona and mega-popular musical offerings, Garcia is very much in control. Sanell Dempster: Sanell Dempster returned to the Carnival circuit this year with a fabulous new physique and a couple of hit songs as well. Her first release, "Little Bit" has become a definite favourite among the ladies and the Blue Ventures vocalist is also enjoying a wonderful season on the fete circuit. Late last year, Dempster had declared that she was working diligently on her debut LP and made mention of two collaborations that would surely impress her fans, namely: "Rude Vibration", which she did with Denise Belfon and "Doh Hold Meh Back" with Island Vibe front-man, Curtis "Spongy" Oliver. As one of only two women to have claimed the much-sought-after Road March title, Dempster is maintaining her legacy as a distinguished female entertainer of the highest calibre. Denise "Saucy Wow" Belfon: "Saucy Wow" has become a national icon. The sultry performer stormed the airwaves with her hit selections, "Indian Man", "Bounce It" and "Buss Dem Up" and now rules the event circuit with her always captivating stage performances. Manifesting the ideal persona of the self-confident and independent woman, Belfon has found favour across the board and her influence currently exists beyond the boundaries of race and gender. Her recent "Ladies Night Out" concert was a huge success and attracted thousands to the Jean Pierre Complex, prompting promoter Randy Glasgow to stage a repeat performance the very next week. Belfon is also a star attraction at the House of Stars Calypso Tent, where she performs nightly, before racing off to her many other engagements. "Saucy Wow" is also preparing to release her debut LP later on this year. |