#226 (permalink) | |
Credits: 11,863
Most recently in Lights the had 2 different white girls wuking up getting on worste than the black girls that were there. Years back I was at a house party in Eden Lodge, they had 2 white (or mostly white) girls there. They wuk up just as bad as the "pure" girls that where there. Now to answer your question dirrectly, the black girl will probably have a bigger ass but equal skill. In all honesty, every white girl that likes soca music that I have seen wuks up just as good. I'm being very serious, I have also seen Indian girls wuking up bad too. In fact to indian mixed girls from St. Lucia came down for Crop Over this year. The one that wuk up more like a Bajan was the one that has no black in her but used to come here often as a child. |
#227 (permalink) |
And to you mixed Trini girls. You too can wuk up like a Bajan. Need practice to show off to all your friends for next year carnival, or when you come for Crop Over next year. (I ain't partial, pretty black Trinis can come too!!!)
#228 (permalink) | |
Credits: 140,862
![]() ![]() U DID NOT ANSWER my QUESTION DIRECTLY. I SAID which one do you BELIEVE will NATURALLY TURN OUT to be the BETTER WUKKUP DANCER?? |
#229 (permalink) |
Ok, I believe that the will be the same. I honestly believe that both will wuk up on the same level, assuming that they hang out with the same people.
I seriously dought culture has any significate genetic component. So I really don't think one will be naturally better than the next. |
#230 (permalink) | |
#231 (permalink) | |
RRRRRight. OOOOk. Safe. Anyway. I ain't going argue my point anymore because it seems like you are not basing it on reason but purely on faith. All I will say is question everything you heard, look at the alternative explanation., realise there is some true in every opinion. But seriously, no. I could go through and show the flaws in what he is saying but that would be pointless. Believe what you want to believe. But just one thing, there is a white person saying the exact same thing but only about black people, probably something about intelegence. Neither is really true just a clouded understanding of a physical reality. |
#232 (permalink) | |
With all the so-called ADVANCEMENT of MAN, you would think that this would be EASY to FIGURE out. Nevertheless, the PERSON is ABSOLUTELY WRONG on so MANY LEVELS that you will have to CREATE a THREAD in a DIFFERENT FORUM for me to BREAK it DOWN to U. |
#233 (permalink) | |
The reality is, we live in a different world now and the only reasons we can't understand is because of assumptions about the people in those times. Truth is, unless we know, me must default to a position. Stone age man did things that we wonder how they did it. Reality, humans are very arogant and want to believe that we are the shiz and that it is all about us. This goes from Priramids to natural disasters. |
#234 (permalink) | |
Credits: 7,234
I don't see why u think i meant to. When i wrote that post i was answering Vincys jackasstic claim that black people were biologically predisposed to dancing and playing drums.
Whether there is a moral component to being less clothed than an European, I'm not getting into because that's a personal thing. Carnival: carne valle: farewell flesh means it is time to be myself in all my godly glory. I am a man created in God's image, making me beautiful. We get half naked in the bright sun, soak up some vitamin D and jump to a rythm because as human beings, rythms entrance us; they harken to our mothers' rhythmic heartbeat in the womb. Its a natural, healthy experience. |
#235 (permalink) | |
Credits: 7,234
Even brother Malcom figured out that the nation of Islam was full of shyt. Emancipate yourself from mental slavery. For real.
Whether there is a moral component to being less clothed than an European, I'm not getting into because that's a personal thing. Carnival: carne valle: farewell flesh means it is time to be myself in all my godly glory. I am a man created in God's image, making me beautiful. We get half naked in the bright sun, soak up some vitamin D and jump to a rythm because as human beings, rythms entrance us; they harken to our mothers' rhythmic heartbeat in the womb. Its a natural, healthy experience. |
#236 (permalink) | |
Credits: 701
Indrani (universally hailed as the first soca song) was released in 1973... Shorty didn't visit with Maestro until 1975. What you and Oneshot referring to is common knowledge, Maestro himself spent a lot of time in TnT...where did he die? ..anyways this has already been hashed out repeated ...and settled... on imix over the years. I don't have time to pull it up but you're more than welcomed to do a search. |
#237 (permalink) |
Credits: 193
Hi VINCY, great point, and according to what the writer wrote about the artform coming from West Africa as kaiso, then the countries who should be claiming the artform would be Hispagnola which is now HAITI AND THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC. Haiti and the Dominican Republic is where the first group of African slaves landed in 1503.
#238 (permalink) |
Credits: 193
Difficult to tell sometimes
Hi look , there is a difference between SOCA AND CALYPSO but sometimes it is very difficult to tell. The reason for that is because some the artist who claims to be doing SOCA is still sounding like they are doing Calypso, and I am talking about some of the artist who should know the difference, but maybe they don't.
I believe that because SOCA is still in its experimental stage causes the listening audience to not understand what kind of music they are listening too, and that is because of the experimentation of the music, there is no direction. If some of us take time out and listen to some of the fast calypso music that was played in Islands like St.kitts, Antigua, Virgin Islands, etc, we would realize that some of the fast Soca music today has been done the same way, no difference. Most of it is carrying the name Soca but that is all to it. I think for the past twenty or more years ARROW(Montserrat) and KEVIN LITTLE(St.Vincent) brought some of the biggest changes to what we call SOCA music. When ARROW was pushing Soca music is only a very small amount of Trinidad artist was singing Soca, at that time he was single out and called the worst of names that anyone could think about, now I am amaze to see how things are going. GOD BLESS THE CREATOR |
#239 (permalink) |
Credits: 262
same madness. different people...
[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G61Y85IHyD0]YouTube - Brooklyn labor day parade 2008 in new york[/ame] Google Base: Westindian American Day Parade 2008 !! |
#240 (permalink) | |
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 37,846
You have trouble telling them apart? What exactly are you listening to? KL's mega hit popularized a style of soca that already existed and he brought global notoriety to the artform in general. He also has a unique voice (that can be duplicated by a few), but what exactly what did he change? This thread takes me back quite a bit! |