Old 09-24-2008, 11:22 AM   #151 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

@ this whole thread!!

just amazing!!!
Old 09-24-2008, 11:22 AM   #152 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Credits: 27,312
Originally Posted by oneshot View Post
i still say soca = calpyso - cadence
+1
Old 09-24-2008, 11:23 AM   #153 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,105
Originally Posted by ;2867892
B4 you all start bashing..answer these questions where was ras shorty located b4 he came up with the 1st "soca riddim" what was he doing? What could have influence his version of that form of music? When you find out the answer you will understand what oneshot was saying...that it was originated from or influenced by another form of fast uptempo music.. Which was cadence.. He just gave it his own spin and used one or two different instruments or samples
We've all been here before...that argument has virtually been completely dismembered. Just do a search for it. Ras Shorty I himself credit other music for soca's origins - influences that were far stronger in his life, in Trinidadian society.
Old 09-24-2008, 11:30 AM   #154 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Credits: 27,312
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Ivy I dun dismiss One Shot's sources as "spurious"....no need to go into no set ah long talk, stuff like that comes up from time to time on the 'mix.

Kama...yours is another that not making much sense. How can a song "lyrically" composed by a Dominican have any influence on the beat of the music. Maybe I'm just a whole lot more clueless when it comes to music than I thought...
The song was lyrically done on a fast uptempo beat which was not called soca till shorty I reinvented the style of riddim to his own liking...
Old 09-24-2008, 11:35 AM   #155 (permalink)

Credits: 140,724
Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
We've all been here before...that argument has virtually been completely dismembered. Just do a search for it. Ras Shorty I himself credit other music for soca's origins - influences that were far stronger in his life, in Trinidadian society.
GYEL, PUHLEASEEEEEEE.

There was NOTHING that was VIRTUALLY been COMPLETELY DISMEMBERED in the DISCUSSION referenced.

You're just an INDO YANKEE LIAR.

Go tell us about some HILLBILLY MUSIC from de SOUTH and let AUTHENTIC WEST INDIANS talk about CARIBBEAN MUSIC.

Yuh nuh yuh DYING to say INDIAN RIDDIMS.

Indian RIDDIMS (cosmetic) that DIED in SOCA from the TIME it was so-called INTRODUCED.

Go and talk about CHUTNEY MUSIC because you will hear some INDO influences in it.

Again, the FOUNDATION BEAT and RHYTHM in CALYPSO and SOCA came STRAIGHT out of MAMA AFRICA.

This is BLACK PEOPLE MUSIC.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 09-24-2008 at 11:42 AM..
Old 09-24-2008, 11:36 AM   #156 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ms_socadiva View Post
@ this whole thread!!

just amazing!!!
What is AMAZING about it?

The FACT that you can only WATCH from the SIDELINES and be AMAZED?
Old 09-24-2008, 11:54 AM   #157 (permalink)

Credits: 11,860
What EURO LATIN FLAVOR are you REFERRING to?

The CENTRAL BEAT and RHYTHM of CALYPSO comes from MAMA AFRICA....the CALL and RESPONSE vocals/lyrics of CALYPSO comes from MAMA AFRICA.....everything else is just COSMETICS.
True but the melodies and instraments often come from other places. Zouk is very French, Tuk is Britsh Millitary. Melody and instraments are very integral in the music and not just simple cosmetic. But since since our music is very rhythm driven the different brother/sister styles are oftne interchangeable. But in reality rReggaeton and Ragga have the exact same beat (ask a drummer if you doubt me).

I'll give another example from a totally different genre, Iris by Goo Goo Dolls. That is definately a Rock Song, but the beat is a Waltz. Do for dancing it is a Waltz but it would hardly be listed or even thought of as a Waltz.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsK90GWBVLY]YouTube - Goo Goo Dolls - Iris[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFsif7HRPQw]YouTube - Russian Irkutsk Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra[/ame]
Old 09-24-2008, 12:05 PM   #158 (permalink)

Originally Posted by warrior View Post
True but the melodies and instraments often come from other places. Zouk is very French, Tuk is Britsh Millitary. Melody and instraments are very integral in the music and not just simple cosmetic. But since since our music is very rhythm driven the different brother/sister styles are oftne interchangeable. But in reality rReggaeton and Ragga have the exact same beat (ask a drummer if you doubt me).

I'll give another example from a totally different genre, Iris by Goo Goo Dolls. That is definately a Rock Song, but the beat is a Waltz. Do for dancing it is a Waltz but it would hardly be listed or even thought of as a Waltz.
Mannn, GO LISTEN and DANCE to SOME AFRICAN MUSIC and COOL your NOISE.

Always QUESTION everything about AFRO CARIBBEAN HISTORY when it comes from the LENS of EUROPEANS or their ILK
Old 09-24-2008, 12:11 PM   #159 (permalink)
100 % Haitian-0 % Yankee

Location: Brooklyn.Flatbush –Kings county Borough (home to the largest Islanders,west-Indian, Caribbean community living aboard from home)state of statue of liberty
Credits: 5,808
I know my country doesn't produce any soca or calypso-but i love me some soca music ..................calypso is to slow-it's made for them older people (and you can't wine to calypso music). i never hear young person yet claiming they have a good calypso alubm near there stereo yet .

(R.I.P Grandpa-your memories will always be here with me !!!!).

I'm Chillin in New Orleans,Louisiana with Beyonce' and Lil Wayne and lil' Fizz (b2k),Fleur-de-lis (imix creole,homegirl) .Drinking some Hand-Grenade (Liquor Drink), near The Bayou.
Old 09-24-2008, 12:21 PM   #160 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,951
let's not forget that african musics has evolved as well. what is not coming out of africa these days are certainly not the same thing that was being played when the slaves were being shipped to the new world.

also a lot of africans elders do not appreciate these new african music genre because according to them, today people are taking traditional often spiritual dances and turn them into highly sexually suggestive dances. When coupé décalé came out, some african gov had banned it, as it was too dépravé.
Old 09-24-2008, 01:13 PM   #161 (permalink)

Always QUESTION everything about AFRO CARIBBEAN HISTORY when it comes from the LENS of EUROPEANS or their ILK

That is very true. And also question "Africanist" as well because honestly they are often just as bad.

Back to what I was saying, listening to that song I can immediately tell that is is African because of the melodies/instraments. That said, I am pretty limited on me experience with African music. Mostly from 3 CDs I have this is my favourity [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Kings-African-Music-Various-Artists/dp/B000003QFW/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1222272544&sr=8-3]Amazon.com: Kings of African Music: Various Artists: Music[/ame]

As I said, the melodies/instraments are different in the different bother/sister styles.
Old 09-24-2008, 01:26 PM   #162 (permalink)

3 Sweet African Songs by "Magic System" I love the 1st and the 3rd. I could just relax to the 1st and slow wuk and juk to the 3rd.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJMpeYwifEU]YouTube - Magic System - Premiere Gaou[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpFRbFLoaO4]YouTube - Magic System - " Ki Dit Mié "[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GLI9TN1GbU]YouTube - MAGIC SYSTEM "ZOUGLOUDANCE"[/ame]
Old 09-24-2008, 01:48 PM   #163 (permalink)

Here is something that we must not forget. Africa was also colonised by some of the same people that colonised the Caribbean. The result is that "Europeanisation" of African culture happenned in both places, as a result Patois exist in St. Lucia and Martinique but also in parts of Africa.

It is also going to be seen in the music. So if an African song sounds almost identical to Zouk, it does not mean that we took Zouk straight out of Africa, more likely the following complicated thing happened.

1st The same songs were made by Africans and original slaves.

2nd The colonialist were the same people so very similar outside cultures where influencing the music in both places.

3rd In the last 50 years, the would almost definately be a back and forth exchange in music with French-Caribbean music going to French-Africa and vice versa. Resulting a cross inluence of each others music.

4th We get music like this.
[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-_vifJ_SDk]YouTube - Didier Bile - Zouglou[/ame]

This sounds like Zouk to me. But for me to say that this is because "They are both African people" is just as incorrect/correct as saying this is because "France ruled both places"
Old 09-24-2008, 04:13 PM   #164 (permalink)
Royal

GYEL, PUHLEASEEEEEEE.

There was NOTHING that was VIRTUALLY been COMPLETELY DISMEMBERED in the DISCUSSION referenced.

You're just an INDO YANKEE LIAR.

Go tell us about some HILLBILLY MUSIC from de SOUTH and let AUTHENTIC WEST INDIANS talk about CARIBBEAN MUSIC.

Yuh nuh yuh DYING to say INDIAN RIDDIMS.

Indian RIDDIMS (cosmetic) that DIED in SOCA from the TIME it was so-called INTRODUCED.

Go and talk about CHUTNEY MUSIC because you will hear some INDO influences in it.

Again, the FOUNDATION BEAT and RHYTHM in CALYPSO and SOCA came STRAIGHT out of MAMA AFRICA.

This is BLACK PEOPLE MUSIC.
Unfortunately, you are highly uneducated about the musical influences in soca and chutney...

Give it up.
Old 09-24-2008, 06:27 PM   #165 (permalink)
Royal

Originally Posted by warrior View Post
Here is something that we must not forget. Africa was also colonised by some of the same people that colonised the Caribbean. The result is that "Europeanisation" of African culture happenned in both places, as a result Patois exist in St. Lucia and Martinique but also in parts of Africa.

It is also going to be seen in the music. So if an African song sounds almost identical to Zouk, it does not mean that we took Zouk straight out of Africa, more likely the following complicated thing happened.

1st The same songs were made by Africans and original slaves.

2nd The colonialist were the same people so very similar outside cultures where influencing the music in both places.

3rd In the last 50 years, the would almost definately be a back and forth exchange in music with French-Caribbean music going to French-Africa and vice versa. Resulting a cross inluence of each others music.

4th We get music like this.

This sounds like Zouk to me. But for me to say that this is because "They are both African people" is just as incorrect/correct as saying this is because "France ruled both places"
Nice example. Thank you.