Credits: 140,589
Destra Speaks
Destra has a much better track record overseas 'I get my rewards when I travel'
By Suzette Edwards-Lewis email: suzetteedwardslewis@tntmirror.com 01.26.05 SOCA sensation, Destra Garcia, has become a household name for Carnival 2005, but she has won most of her accolades overseas. The Laventille resident, who entered the Soca arena about five years ago, has certainly made her mark in the industry. She placed third in the International Soca Monarch competition in 1993 and 1994, and has twice placed second in the Road March race. But Destra has not limited herself to just local competitions, and it has paid off for her on the North American circuit. She has been the Miami Road March Monarch for two consecutive years, with We Carnival and Bonnie and Clyde. And she won five more soca awards in New York recently. "I do not feel disappointed when I do not win anything here, because I get personal satisfaction from my fans who appreciate my music. "And, in any event, I get my rewards when I travel," Destra told TnT Mirror last week. "My main goal, as an artiste, is to have a good song that the people like," she explained. "That is more important to me, than any title." Destra, who is now being hailed as the "Soca Queen", continued: "I am really enjoying my season. "My music career is getting better and better all the time. "It was truly an honour to have my first concert at the Divas in Concert, and again at the Youth Fest. "My success is just a living example that Laventille has great people, despite the odds." According to Destra, her success would not have been possible if it was not for Kernel Roberts the son of the late Aldwin Roberts, The Grandmaster, Kitchener. How did these two hook up? "Carlyle Juiceman came and told me that there was this girl who was singing with Roy Cape, and that he would like me to help her out with a song," Kernel explained. "And when I met Destra and heard her sing, she was even more than I expected," he added. That was the beginning of a beautiful professional relationship between the two. That was how Tremble It came into being, and Destra became a soca diva. "Destra is a pleasure to work with," Kernel continued. "She brings life into my compositions. "I really could not have done better." "Next year, we are not looking to win Road March, but just to please our fans," Destra pointed out. "In fact, we want to come second," Kernel chimed in. "It was also nice to work with Roy Cape," Destra noted. "He was the one who gave me the start, and the opportunity, even though I did not have any experience. "I also want to thank the band, Atlantik, for making me one of their members. "And Kernel, again, for having me as the singer for his compositions. I have learned so much from him. "And I cannot forget Terrence James, my producer, Junior Ibo, Darren Grant, KMC, Fabian Alfonzo, Chinese Laundry, Machel Montano, Maximus Dan, Bunji Garlin, my parents, my fans and Almighty God," Destra ended. |
Your Royal Sexiness
Credits: 127,355
Much love to Destra. She does her thing and she does it well.
Former IMIX POSTER Child
Credits: 2,690
Nice article...
Credits: 1,704
salty |
if i did wunna, i would worry about dat.... people does have a hard time reading in between lines. |
She actually came 2nd in 2003 and 3rd in 2004.
Destra right oui. Doh fight down Trinidad fuh title. Just do it for the people. |
Credits: 225
Well, she certainly have her followers including me, I love her music and I give her much support.
JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,268
This Is The Year
Big- up to Destra;
Like i stated in a thread back in 2004, " another good year and the title is hers " Well, her big tune so far " We Say So ' put her over the top , the title is hers. |
da sweet one
Credits: 1,038
JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,268
Why...
Get in touch with reality....If you are the Heavyweight Champ of the World, you have to defend your title....Clearly,....that title is up for grabs....The only female artist over the last fours years that as held it down is clearly Destra...yes we all know that she is no Alison.... but we are speaking currently...no one else is getting the job done.... If you are running a radio station for the lass 5 yr...and you are #1, does that mean the title is yours forever ? get with the program ! |
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,327
Reality Check..You Think Allison is going to keep that Title forever? She had her time in the light....she chose to step down being number 1.. ![]() |
Credits: 719
Allison will always be the first and original "Soca Queen", but currently this title belongs to Destra.
No Soca Diva has produced has much hits in the last 4 years like Destra. Give the girl her credit... she is definitely the woman leading soca music these days. |
Credits: 6,439
agreed
I dont know anyone with as much nice tunes as Destra over the past 3-4 years.
Only person that comes to mind is Shadow But Destra definately has the most tunes behind Shadow. |
Credits: 120
road march or not.....she has made an immortal soca tune in CELEBRATE....i play that tune in my soca set for these all ages bashment kids in T.O. alongside Rupees Jump and Squre One's Togetherness and it gets an equal if not stronger reaction.....so whatever happens to she....SHE MADE HER MARK! WE JUMPIN>>>>AND WAVIN!
look meh!
Credits: 1,108
Yeh big up Destra for real, she really doing her thing musically, I think we still have alot more of her to see and hear!!!
Oh, and I agree, she is the current SOCA QUEEN...over the last 4 years and runnin... |
Bye bye Alison
Traffik