Credits: 140,865
THE DEATH OF CALYPSO and the BIRTH of...
Ok, it is TIME that the SOCA NATIONS or SOMEONE from the SOCA NATION CREATE a SOUND/RHYTHM that can SEE the REVIVAL of CONSCIOUS/SOCIAL LYRICS that ONCE DEFINED CALYPSO.
But this is not going to be a SOUND/GENRE where it is GOING to be BOGGED DOWN in a CARNIVAL COMPETITION or is GOING to be SANG DURING CARNIVAL. This is a GENRE that can be SANG ANYTIME of the YEAR. Frankly, I doh WAH to SEE ANY SONGS RELEASE during the CARNIVAL SEASON from any of the SOCA NATIONS. I LISTENED to a SONG (just GOT it on my IPOD) by BUJU BANTON on the "COMING IN FROM THE COLD" RIDDIM and all I can say to myself is, WHY DA PHUCK U CANNOT HEAR THESE KIND of MEANINGFUL LYRICS in SONGS from the SOCA NATIONS that PEOPLE can LISTEN? Of course, the SOUND/GENRE has to be ONE that is CATCHY...something that PEOPLE can FEEL. So yes, this is for the PRODUCERS and ARTISTS from the SOCA NATIONS, ESPECIALLY de VINCIES (BECAUSE I KNOW U GUYS HAVE IN U), it is TIME to BRING FORTH A BRAND NEW SOUND and GENRE that will TAKE PLACE of CALYPSO. So yes, this is the DEATH of CALYPSO and the BIRTH of a GENRE GENRE called............... YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee PS: PRODUCERS, the BASSLINE has to be PREVALENT in this NEW SOUND/GENRE. If you NEED IDEAS, go and LISTEN to some of the PRODUCTIONS from theGREAT FRANKIE MCINTOSH. |
Will work for rum
Credits: 57,257
you doesn't feel embarrassed when you re-read yuh post?
SOCA OR DIE
Credits: 16,268
seriously VP, while I agree with you on the quality, timeless lyrics debate...
the only thing worse than young vocalists/producers/musicians making bad, disposible music is older vocalists/musicians/producers telling them what to do because it's something they "want to see" also, this type of complaining sounds even worse coming from non-artists and non-musicians |
Credits: 11,863
LOL. Yeah it is a repost.
But to answer your question VP. I don't think there really is a need to create something new just expand what we already have. There are artist who produce music in all of our countries year round we just have to: 1)Think music industry and not soca industry 2)Be more open to different styles of music 3)Not see "soca" as "festival" music 123)To put it all together, expand what it means to be a "soca" artist. Look at the US, most of the bigger artist put out music with different flavours. A Rapper will put out straight Rap, RnB Rap, Dance Rap, Rap and Rock... A Rock artist will do the same. There is no reason "soca artist" couldn't do the same. Alison Hinds has done it a little with her Reggae song. If we start thinking music industry and not soca industry a soca artist may record 12 songs in a year release 2 for Trini Carnival, 3 for their national festival, 2 for Crop Over, 1 for Xmas and 4 through out the year. Xmas songs will obviously be about Xmas, the 7 "festival" songs will be festival inspired lyrically and/or musically and the other 4 can be what ever. Wunna remember the Trippple 8 and Facebook Riddims from Barbados last year. Once we move to the idea of music industry and not soca industry all kinds of music will appear year round; socially relivant, party, comedy... what we need is a music industry and implicit in that is greater caribbean musically unity. |
Credits: 4,247
Yeah he needs to be slapped, there are conscious soca music out there, but they don't get the airplay, we as a people trying to promote our music only seem to know a few artists. Calypso no dead, so VINCYPOWA need to take out the nail out of de coffin.
#7 (permalink) | ||
LET it GO the WAY of MENTO, SKA and ROCK STEADY. It is TIME to BRING SOMETHING FRESH...SOMETHING NEW...SOMETHING that this GENERATION can TAKE to the NEXT LEVEL. The OLDTIMERS of CALYPSO are all DYING OUT or RETIRED. Soca has PUT it by the WAYSIDE. The only TIME PEOPLE LISTEN to CALYPSO is DURING CARNIVAL, and even the CROWDS and the TENTS are GETTING SMALLER and SMALLER. CALYPSO DEAD OYEEEEEE...put the FOUR NAILS in the COFFIN...putting the COFFIN UNDER the GROUND and THROW the DIRT on TOP it. BURY it PERMANENTLY. TIME to BIRTH something NEW that will TAKE the PLACE of CALYPSO. Something that is not GOING to be SEASONAL. This NEW SOUND and GENRE should NEVER EVER be part of ANY CARNIVAL EVENT or COMPETITION, thus MAKING it SEASONAL. I am from the OLD SCHOOL and I am SAYING DEATH to CALYPSO. It is TIME to BRING something NEW that can give REGGAE a SEMBLANCE of a COMPETITION in the EYES and MINDS of CARIBBEAN people and BEYOND. AGAIN, CALYPSO DEAD. CARNIVAL COMPETITION has KILLED CALYPSO because that is all it is SEEN as. WORSE, even during CARNIVAL it is BASICALLY IRRELEVANT because only OLD PEOPLE still COMPETE in it and only OLD SCHOOLERS go to the SHOWS in MANY INSTANCES. It DEAD, it DEAD, IT DEAD OYEEE! YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeeee |
||
READY FOR SPICEMAS 2kWINE
Credits: 10,107
create what you want calypso is not dead!
Credits: 153,644
Calypso is dying. Calypso tents cah full, young people doh listen to it, not getting much play on radio....
SOCA OR DIE
Credits: 16,268
furthermore, most defined "genres" can take at least a decade or more to develop and evolve
by the time VP gets his wish- he will be 60 years old |
#11 (permalink) | ||
Do you THINK BUJU BANTON'S SONG on the "COMING IN FROM THE COLD" riddim is DISPOSABLE? I BELIEVE that is the KIND of MUSIC I have MADE REFERENCE to.
Do you KNOW of CONSUMERS (THE BUYERS/YOUNG PEOPLE or even OLDER people) BUYING CALYPSO music? Moreover, I have a KEEN EAR for MUSIC. I have a KEEN EAR for when it is TIME to MAKE A CHANGE. The TIME is RIPE to CREATE SOMETHING FRESH....something that will REPLACE CALYPSO. But it MUST not be a GENRE CREATED to COMPETE in ANY CARNIVAL COMPETITION. CARNIVAL COMPETITION is what has KILLED the DEVELOPMENT of SOCA MUSIC and CALYPSO. I can DEBATE anyone on that LAST COMMENT I MADE. What I have STATED is the GOSPEL TRUTH. SOCA MUSIC MADE for CARNIVAL cannot TAKE the GENRE to the NEXT LEVEL, and this is why I am SAYING that the SOUND/GENRE that REPLACES CALYPSO should have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with CARNIVAL or CARNIVAL COMPETITION. YUHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEee |
||
exactly! people ready to give calypso the boot to create something "new" take your time horse!
YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee |
Will work for rum
Credits: 57,257
you have to excuse him. he's a yankee who now start tuh download calypso.