Old 11-21-2005, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 610
Da Bhann heads to Nigeria

One of Antigua’s premier jam bands continues to spread its music across the globe.

Da Bhann has been out of the country for months, performing in major cities around the world, and last staged a show in Antigua during the Carnival celebrations before setting off for a tour.

The band is currently in New York and according to co-manager Roger Perry, speaking to the SUN earlier this week, a number of engagements are in store.

The band will be performing during thanksgiving at the Best Party Place in the Bronx alongside Onyan and Lord Satellite, the two Edwards brothers of Burning Flames and Three Cylinder fame, as well as Royalty Band out of Dominica and Small Axe Band from St. Kitts.

The group also shot a video in New York in September for the song Caught Up.

“Their new single Caught Up released in the US is being received by Soca fans with tremendous enthusiasm,” according to the Web site www.sonicbids.com.

Meantime, Da Bhann will be traveling to Atlanta, Georgia, next month for a performance to coincide with the launch of Delta Airlines’ inaugural flight to Antigua on 18 Dec.

A major engagement in the group’s itinerary is a trip to Nigeria where they are expected to perform with top international soca artist Kevin Lyttle, who depends on Da Bhann heavily as a trusted back-up group. The band, however, has been holding its own extremely well, especially with the excitement and energy brought to the group by newest member Glenroy “Byke” Edwards.

The group was also featured in the New York Times Marathon section as a result of performing on behalf of the Antigua & Barbuda Department of Tourism in New York during the popular New York City Marathon.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,082
Old 11-21-2005, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 34,880
they performing In the bronx on Thursday ?
Old 11-21-2005, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 244
Originally Posted by Nutpower

One of Antigua’s premier jam bands continues to spread its music across the globe.

Da Bhann has been out of the country for months, performing in major cities around the world, and last staged a show in Antigua during the Carnival celebrations before setting off for a tour.

The band is currently in New York and according to co-manager Roger Perry, speaking to the SUN earlier this week, a number of engagements are in store.

The band will be performing during thanksgiving at the Best Party Place in the Bronx alongside Onyan and Lord Satellite, the two Edwards brothers of Burning Flames and Three Cylinder fame, as well as Royalty Band out of Dominica and Small Axe Band from St. Kitts.

The group also shot a video in New York in September for the song Caught Up.

“Their new single Caught Up released in the US is being received by Soca fans with tremendous enthusiasm,” according to the Web site www.sonicbids.com.

Meantime, Da Bhann will be traveling to Atlanta, Georgia, next month for a performance to coincide with the launch of Delta Airlines’ inaugural flight to Antigua on 18 Dec.

A major engagement in the group’s itinerary is a trip to Nigeria where they are expected to perform with top international soca artist Kevin Lyttle, who depends on Da Bhann heavily as a trusted back-up group. The band, however, has been holding its own extremely well, especially with the excitement and energy brought to the group by newest member Glenroy “Byke” Edwards.

The group was also featured in the New York Times Marathon section as a result of performing on behalf of the Antigua & Barbuda Department of Tourism in New York during the popular New York City Marathon.
very nice article...Congrats to Da Bhann on doin' big tings and gettin' de recognition in NY Times and wid Delta Airlines for their launch. I wish them the best in Nigeria alongside KL who "relies heavily upon them" ..whey VP dey Anyway..continued success fuh Da Bhann as well as the "Edwards Brothers"...we gonna jam jam dis weekend
Old 11-21-2005, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Originally Posted by Jahpikne
nope, on Wednesday and Saturday
Old 11-21-2005, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,928
I'm happy for them, they're cool......esp. Gavin and Boogy
Old 11-21-2005, 11:49 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by yanktiguan
nope, on Wednesday and Saturday
would you happen to have the address?
Old 11-21-2005, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Spitfire

No...and I hope you not thinkin' bout coming anway cuz is for you
Old 11-21-2005, 11:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 610
Best Party Place
166th and Third Ave
Old 11-21-2005, 11:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

yuh better read Lola post.... cuz I doh know why yuh want it.

but, long time since I see a good bangin, so It will be at the Best Party Place on Wed. That is at 3rd Ave and Boston Rd I think. Lola check me on that please.

and on Satdy I think its at Pyramid Lounge which is at 221st and White Plains. Lola, again...
Old 11-21-2005, 11:53 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LolaMs
No...and I hope you not thinkin' bout coming anway cuz is for you
I know it will be tuff being around all them passive ppl
Old 11-21-2005, 12:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Spitfire

I know it will be tuff being around all them passive ppl

Yeah and dem Kittians and VI neigah whey guh dey real passive too....so yoo nah hab nuttn fuh fear especially since yuh guh "blendeen" so well

dis gonna be goooooooooooooood

@Yanks...Nutpower post de correck address for Best Party Place and Pyramid is 220th buh maybe is best Jahpikne wander into one ah dem local JA places dung dey....cuz he nah reddy fuh de rassin' guh get buoy

Last edited by LolaMs; 11-21-2005 at 12:10 PM..
Old 11-21-2005, 12:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Yeah and dem Kittians and VI neigah whey guh dey real passive too....so yoo nah hab nuttn fuh fear especially since yuh guh "blendeen" so well

@Yanks...Nutpower post de correck address for Best Party Place and Pyramid is 220th buh maybe is best Jahpikne wander into one ah dem local JA places dung dey....cuz he nah reddy fuh rassin' guh get buoy
yea, me poase before me see Nutpower poase. yuh dun knoh me nuh know Branx. me just know howfih get wherever di akshun deh.
Old 11-21-2005, 12:11 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 140,835
very nice article...Congrats to Da Bhann on doin' big tings and gettin' de recognition in NY Times and wid Delta Airlines for their launch. I wish them the best in Nigeria alongside KL who "relies heavily upon them" ..whey VP dey Anyway..continued success fuh Da Bhann as well as the "Edwards Brothers"...we gonna jam jam dis weekend
Of course he RELIES HEAVILY UP them...they are his BACK UP band.

He would have RELIED HEAVILY on anyone that is BACKING him UP.

Thanks to Kevin Lyttle, Da Bhann is PROBABLY the most INTERNATIONALLY traveled soca band.

It is AMAZING that you guys did not give Kevin PROPS for giving this ANTIGUAN band some INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE.

Ah tel yuh, ARYO real UNGRATEFUL yes.
Old 11-21-2005, 12:13 PM   #15 (permalink)

@Yanks...Nutpower post de correck address for Best Party Place and Pyramid is 220th buh maybe is best Jahpikne wander into one ah dem local JA places dung dey....cuz he nah reddy fuh de rassin' guh get buoy
I'll just wear my small island colors and blend in