Old 02-26-2009, 11:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,856
Question At d end of d day, I feel BOY BOY Push d wrong song 4 d Road!

"We Won't Stop Till D Sun Come Up Case We Wining!" Somehow i feeling dat dis was Boy Boy best song dis year rather than Ants. I feel if he did push dis one, he woulda have a better chance. Not saying dat he would have won but u never know what could have happenned with this song if it was played for 20 minutes at d top & 15 minutes at d bottom of HD repoirtoire 4 d season. dey try to ram d ants down people throat but it ent stick at all but i found dat when they did "Leave Me Alone" they got a better response, even when DJ's played it. dat song has d better hook as well n more relates to d road. what allyuh think?
Old 02-26-2009, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,643
agree he should have push we won't stop harder, but I think that had a road theme with wild antz that's why he pushed that. the revellers was the antz, the bands was the colonies, I think he was sort of doing something like carnival monday and tuesday is a hole different world that's what i got from it
Old 02-26-2009, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,087
Now this is something I agree with. LOL. Won't Stop and Magic Drum are the only songs by Machel I'm feeling this year.
Old 02-26-2009, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 15,476
Yeah he did.....arrogant prick dat he is
Old 02-26-2009, 11:25 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 81,006
Best song for 2k9.

Wont Stop (2009 Trinidad) Machel Montano HD - Machel Montano HD
Old 02-26-2009, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,087
Originally Posted by Ping-Pong View Post
Best song for 2k9.

*starts to wine*
Old 02-26-2009, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,349
It still wouldn't matta the mafia & groupies was out in full force this year, machel have to re-group dust off he self & make his soca mafia Don bigger with more connection than anyone else and he good 2 go for 2k10 season unless we have a meet lil bunjann junior remix.

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.
Old 03-01-2009, 08:14 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,796
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
Now this is something I agree with. LOL. Won't Stop and Magic Drum are the only songs by Machel I'm feeling this year.
Yes I also agree dat he chose de wrong song to push.
I like de above 2 songs best too.
Old 03-01-2009, 08:48 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 4,386
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
I now comin an say just that. IMO...Out of all Magic drum was the best .
Old 03-01-2009, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
MonsterHittz Productions

Credits: 3,338
that won't stop tune doesnt have the road march ingredients people....wild antz is better suited for the road and d man had his whole story behind the wild antz name......it just wasnt his year, not to mention that ting with shurwayne that happen, he shot him self in the foot
Old 03-01-2009, 09:57 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 19,789

Originally Posted by Lucian Lymer View Post
that won't stop tune doesnt have the road march ingredients people....wild antz is better suited for the road and d man had his whole story behind the wild antz name......it just wasnt his year, not to mention that ting with shurwayne that happen, he shot him self in the foot
disagree...he just put he eggs in de wrong basket...i much rather hear won't stop on the road vs. wild antz
Old 03-01-2009, 10:06 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,924
Well ... I didn't make much sense anyway.

I read the TNT Mirror (not too sure if this is a reputable news source) yesterday...headline news...a young composer by the name of Keisha Antoine is claiming that Machel lifted the concept of her song and presented it to T&T as his own exclusive work, Wild Antz.

Right now she's demanding compensation for her Copyrighted material.

If this is really true...HD camp in even more hot water, oui...this really was not a good year for him.
Old 03-02-2009, 02:19 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,246

Originally Posted by MUSICOLOGY View Post
"We Won't Stop Till D Sun Come Up Case We Wining!" Somehow i feeling dat dis was Boy Boy best song dis year rather than Ants. I feel if he did push dis one, he woulda have a better chance. Not saying dat he would have won but u never know what could have happenned with this song if it was played for 20 minutes at d top & 15 minutes at d bottom of HD repoirtoire 4 d season. dey try to ram d ants down people throat but it ent stick at all but i found dat when they did "Leave Me Alone" they got a better response, even when DJ's played it. dat song has d better hook as well n more relates to d road. what allyuh think?
I agree with you on 'ants'.
It also proves that they cant always ram a song down people throat.
Machel is a genious...But he is also a spoilt brat and this year he went way overboard with his foolishness.
I am glad his song did not make it
Old 03-02-2009, 02:31 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 28,851
Originally Posted by Ping-Pong View Post
Best song for 2k9.

Wont Stop (2009 Trinidad) Machel Montano HD - Machel Montano HD

also shows dj does play what they want or artist tell/pay to play. should just play wat gets the best crowd response. to me Blaxx - Bad , got the best crowd responses
Old 03-02-2009, 08:20 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 2,924
Is Machel Losing His Touch? & Other Musical Musings… Live From Brooklyn

Is Machel Losing His Touch? & Other Musical Musings…

Posted by: HQ on: March 1, 2009

NOTE: Looking for 2009 Carnival Season pics? In addition to Saucy’s suggestions, check Triniscene, Mayaro Beach, Lizzard Blizzard, We-ting, IslandBox & Toronto Lime!

I found a very different TnT when it came to thoughts on Machel this year. People are getting tired of the diva antics. More than one person commented on his fights at Zen and his various altercations with fans around the world. Machel is one of Trinidad’s national treasures. Wouldn’t it be a shame if his arrogance caused his star to fade?

Add to that his obliviousness to the pulse of the people. Machel, I understand the whole AC thing, but you are releasing the songs a bit too late. People like to be familiar with songs on the road. I think Machel could have taken Road March this year with the tune dubbed by most as “the other Machel”, “Won’t Stop”. Now that was an excellent road song! I didn’t hear it on the road without feeling the urge to jump up and down. The same thing happened last year with his hit “CongoMan”. Just a smidge too late, one week earlier and it would have been a runaway success.

Also, he keeps pushing the wrong song. Honestly, what was that “Ants” madness? I heard people booing the song on the road Monday, it was that bad. But we all know how the Soca Mafia works, they keep pushing a song even when it is clear that the people don’t want to hear it! The fact that it placed third insults our collective intelligence, since we all know that Blaxx’s “Thusty” was a far better road song.

Let’s talk about these Road March results, shall we?

2009 Road March Results:
1. Faye-Ann Lyons “Meet Super Blue”
2. Destra Garcia “Bachannal”
3. Machel Montano “Wild Antz”
**I stand corrected, it seems that Blaxx “Thusty” did win 3rd place- thank God- will update when I locate an official source**

Love Faye Ann, I do. & I congratulate her on her record breaking Monarch wins (and congrats on the birth of her daughter). But Road March? I don’t think so. People, “Meet Super Blue” is not a road song! Someone please tell me where does it refer to wining, madness, carnival spirit, energy/stamina/stage/display or the road? Destra’s “Bacchanal” deserved the win, and I am upset that Destra seems to have been thwarted yet again. And there is no way that Blaxx’s “Thusty” wasn’t the people’s choice for 3rd place at least! When these things happen in the Caribbean music scene, it takes away from the legitimacy of Caribbean music and makes it hard to garner respect for our cultural art forms. Honesty and transparency is what is needed folks (at the very least, don’t make it so obvious!). I know plenty of people who don’t even care about carnival results because they believe everything is rigged anyway. That is truly a shame.

Last edited by prplheart; 03-02-2009 at 08:32 PM..