Old 12-05-2006, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,584
Critiquing Soca Music For 2007

I just LISTENED to that SONG by IWER GEORGE and I must SAY that, it is this TYPE of SENSELESS and KINDERGARTENISH music why SOCA MUSIC is STRUGGLING to get out the GATE beyond its UNDERGROUND STATUS.

When you have so-called "BIG TIME" soca artist making this type of BRAINLESS music, and then you have people saying "ITS GREAT," it makes you wonder what is going on with this INDUSTRY.
Old 12-05-2006, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
De Cocoyea kid!

Credits: 1,333
I just LISTENED to that SONG by IWER GEORGE and I must SAY that, it is this TYPE of SENSELESS and KINDERGARTENISH music why SOCA MUSIC is STRUGGLING to get out the GATE beyond its UNDERGROUND STATUS.

When you have so-called "BIG TIME" soca artist making this type of BRAINLESS music, and then you have people saying "ITS GREAT," it makes you wonder what is going on with this INDUSTRY.
Yes, Iwer's music is what I describe as LITE SOCA. Nothing heavy, just silly, lighthearted party music. People want to party and fete as we get closer to carnival. So Iwer's music is filling a public desire for light soca music. He has a formula for success in this area. He is charismatic and different. So yes you are right, his music is brainless to the point of humorous. But it works. I seriously doubt Iwer is chasing record deals. He seems happy just making carnival lovers happy for carnival.
Old 12-05-2006, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,265

So what you rather him sing?
Old 12-05-2006, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,107

So because it's not to your liking means there something wrong with it? Get real man. Iwer's focus is to make fete tunes for carnival and that's it PERIOD. He's not trying to get no record deal, he's not trying to impress "the man" or anybody outside of the fete scene plain and simple. People enjoy it, it's kicksy, he's done his job, what more does he need to do?
Old 12-05-2006, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Credits: 2,737
Originally Posted by cuunoomoonoo View Post
Yes, Iwer's music is what I describe as LITE SOCA. Nothing heavy, just silly, lighthearted party music. People want to party and fete as we get closer to carnival. So Iwer's music is filling a public desire for light soca music. He has a formula for success in this area. He is charismatic and different. So yes you are right, his music is brainless to the point of humorous. But it works. I seriously doubt Iwer is chasing record deals. He seems happy just making carnival lovers happy for carnival.
Originally Posted by brownskintrini View Post
Originally Posted by Socaboy View Post
So because it's not to your liking means there something wrong with it? Get real man. Iwer's focus is to make fete tunes for carnival and that's it PERIOD. He's not trying to get no record deal, he's not trying to impress "the man" or anybody outside of the fete scene plain and simple. People enjoy it, it's kicksy, he's done his job, what more does he need to do?
+1
Old 12-05-2006, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
De Cocoyea kid!

My point exactly. Iwer and so many entertainers in TnT are "Carnival Babies". Their music revolves around Carnival. Its raw, so either folks love it or hate it. Come carnival time, its only natural to want to forget the sadness of the world and partay! If you hate it, no big deal -move onwards to the next record, you have 1,000 or so to choose from every carnival. Somewhere in there is a KL wannabe. Iwer is well loved doing his crazy brand of soca.

Last edited by cuunoos; 12-05-2006 at 12:46 PM..
Old 12-05-2006, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
SAIYAN-SADDIST 3

Credits: 199
keep my music pure, senseless and underground
Old 12-05-2006, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
De Cocoyea kid!

Originally Posted by goku View Post
keep my music pure, senseless and underground
For the Carnival Feters intent on "Getting on Bad" in an underground component of world culture, that is correct.
Old 12-05-2006, 01:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,000
most "deep music" is not as deep as its fans think. iwers music is funky and raw. there are still people like poorsah and colin lucas, ninjitsu, inspector, explainer and david rudder around. many cumbias or kompas or salsas are not super profound either. just a good feel to it.

Last edited by sebas4920; 12-05-2006 at 01:20 PM..
Old 12-05-2006, 02:44 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
Exactly RIGHT. iwer doh woh dem stupid deals where yuh all over B E T MTV an d yuh broke just LIKE another strugglin artist or some white dude who dont know shit bout trini culture tellin yuh how to sing yuh soca.Other artists ,most artists out there trying to mix de music to go mainstream, good for them but if evry single song ah artist sing is for white people who go sing for we,we go loose we soul for goal? fack dat shit iwer does sing silly shit yes but that is what people like him and pay him for HUMOUR!
Old 12-05-2006, 02:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,326
vincy powa wants every soca artist to be like kl..

used by the white man til he cyah get no money out of him and then tossed away like a used tampon.
Old 12-05-2006, 03:16 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 9,865

what did you think of icon's tune from last year? or problem childs?
Old 12-05-2006, 03:30 PM   #13 (permalink)

Yes, I SEE.

Well, it doesn't TAKE MUCH to make TRINIS SATISFIED so I UNDERSTAND and APPRECIATE where you're COMING from.

IWER TRULY knows his AUDIENCE yes.

I got U, bro.
Old 12-05-2006, 03:31 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by brownskintrini View Post
GOOD SOCA music.

I GUESS I am ASKING for too MUCH????
Old 12-05-2006, 03:41 PM   #15 (permalink)

It is not a MATTER of NOT to my LIKING....the SONG is just PLAIN EMPTY. It is a REDUNTANT FORMULA that is GETTING worse, not BETTER.

In other words, TIME to MOVE on. It seems IWER and his FOLLOWERS are STUCK in NEUTRAL.

In the song he BIG UP some DJs. I am BETTING those VERY DJs will now PLAY this FRUIT CAKE song, quite OFTEN, simply because of that FACT. It is a CHEAP way of trying to get your song PLAYED. A song, IMO, that is not WORTHY of HEAVY ROTATION

Frankly, this song is for the MINDLESS....there is NOTHING in it that GRABS you...it is BLAND. Probably the only thing the song has going for it, is MAYBE the beat.

But like I said, IWER knows his AUDIENCE, so I guess this kind of MUSIC works for him.