Old 08-13-2009, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 11,863
Could the current set of Bajans being signed help soca artist?

Most of us know that there has been a good set of Bajan artist getting signed by Major internation labels in the last few years. Do you think that the attention that B'dos and the C'bean as a whole is not getting can be used to give soca a boost internationally? If so how?
Old 08-13-2009, 04:29 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,164
Who got signed and by what major company?
http://www.socarevolution.com/
http://www.myspace.com/socase
http://caribbeanbacchanal.podomatic.com
http://soca.spreadshirt.net <<< Fresh Soca T-shirts and more!
Old 08-13-2009, 06:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 18,405
Originally Posted by warrior View Post
Most of us know that there has been a good set of Bajan artist getting signed by Major internation labels in the last few years. Do you think that the attention that B'dos and the C'bean as a whole is not getting can be used to give soca a boost internationally? If so how?
I doan think so. BAJANS and CARIBBEAN ARTISTS, on the whole, must come with a different mindset. Give a lil break to their fellowman and doan let insularity creep into their lives. There are many great artists all over the Caribbean,just waiting to be discovered. It's just that it's Barbados' tIme today..tomorrow who knows. SOCA?? HMMM? DOAN KNOW.
Old 08-13-2009, 09:54 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by da.swedish.soca.bwoy View Post
Who got signed and by what major company?
Rihanna, Shontel, Livve, Hal, Jaicko, Vita. I am on my phone so I can't tell you who each is signed with, maybe later.
Old 08-13-2009, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 15,653
Are they singing Soca?
Old 08-13-2009, 10:04 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,946
How R they GOING to HELP SOCA?

R they NOT SINGING R&B/HIP HOP (AMERICAN) music???
Old 08-13-2009, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 4,164
ahah, them artist, i thought soca artist he meant.

No, absolutely not,

them artist really want to all be big as Rhianna and because soca is one of the most un-mainstream and commercial music styles in d WORLD,
they want even go close with pliers....

maybe in 5-10 years when they got big and are more confident.

or when ppl now what soca really is... lol
http://www.socarevolution.com/
http://www.myspace.com/socase
http://caribbeanbacchanal.podomatic.com
http://soca.spreadshirt.net <<< Fresh Soca T-shirts and more!
Old 08-13-2009, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)

No, absolutely not,

them artist really want to all be big as Rhianna and because soca is one of the most un-mainstream and commercial music styles in d WORLD,

nope......never gonna happen......just 2 name 2 people off hand......Billy Ocean and Heather Headley are Trinbagonians.........dem eh drop even a Soca duet yet
Old 08-13-2009, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 35,100
Originally Posted by Picong View Post
nope......never gonna happen......just 2 name 2 people off hand......Billy Ocean and Heather Headley are Trinbagonians.........dem eh drop even a Soca duet yet
lol.

so if de trinis aint doing, why de bajans have to? damn, depending on the bajans again?
Old 08-13-2009, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)

How R they GOING to HELP SOCA?

R they NOT SINGING R&B/HIP HOP (AMERICAN) music???
So?

1st she has done work with other Carribean artist

2nd
You don't have to do a song with a soca artist to much them. In interview people are always asking "What do you have on your Ipod?" Or "Which artist do you like?" Just consistently name a few high quality soca artist. I haven't watched BET in years but I know they used to have a countdown of an artist favourite music videos, drop a few soca videos in that list. When they ask them about back home mention some soca artist. Little things like that if done consistently can go a long way. Crap you could even have local/regional artist as extras in your video if it is recorded in the Caribbean.
Old 08-13-2009, 07:16 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 4,247
Rihanna, Shontel, Livve, Hal, Jaicko, Vita. I am on my phone so I can't tell you who each is signed with, maybe later.
Hal Linton, love his voice, but he sings R&B - Is he signed, or just with BET's Rising Icons series. He is good though.
Old 08-13-2009, 07:22 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 4,247

No, absolutely not,

I agree with you, it is amazing how many people say to me, I didn't know soca was a genre. Soca music people really need to come together and define their music, so that others and themselves can really understand where they are going with it.
Old 08-13-2009, 07:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,174
HELP SOCA?
HAHAHA
thats a good one. dem doan even like soca. them even think their more american than where they from. plus d labels tell them wat to do.
them aint bout no soca. lil jon more bout soca and them. lol
Old 08-13-2009, 07:38 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
lol.

so if de trinis aint doing, why de bajans have to? damn, depending on the bajans again?
how much Soca Rihanna sing since she been out.........get it.