Old 03-20-2009, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,856
Exclamation The continuing saga of BOY BOY, D MAGIC TIEF!

Here is d TNT MIRROR article dated March 1st 2009 concerning Boy Boy n d Ants song.

Point Fortin composer is furious:
Machel should pay me for "Antz"
-and i want my copyright credit.

A point fortin woman is claiming that top soca honcho Machel montano has lifted the concept of her song and presented it to Trinidad and Tobago as his very own exclusive work. According to Keisha antoine "I wrote and conceptualised a song called "Ants" but was surprised to see the version of "Wild Antz, which was released by Montano following my presentation to d HD camp.
In an exclusive interview with Mirror Weekend, the Point Fortin songwriter, who now resides in Curepe confessed that she was deceived into revealing the song and so "I was cheated out of my intellectual rights." "My whole song tells the story that we moving like ants." "It is a concept of Trinis...how we behave like ants for carnival and how ants get on or behave." "Machel, in an interview recently, used a concept of a colony of wild ants and linked it to people during carnival." The whole thing is, the same song that Machel is singing, Wild Antz, how it got out was when i got in touch with a guy by the name of Flex (alias) but his last name is Richard," Antoine disclosed.
She recalled the fact that it was her mother that introduced her to Flex. "Upon the introduction, my mom told me why don't i show flex the song and do the dance for him because she told him about me and it was just a matter of time for us to actually meet," she revealled. All this took place in December 31st 2008.
"After i did the dance and shared a piece of the material with him, he also shared piece of his material with me and indicated that he wrote Destra's Bacchannal. On January 4th, i got a call from Flex asking me if i was going to lime. I told him i was indoors already but asked him about his location. He said he was in the company of Machel and Kernel in the studio so i said ok! I remembered once he told me he wrote a tune for Machel and never got compensation so i saw this as somebody who went through an ordeal and i could learn from him. This is why i went to talk with him and introduced the song to where it reached," she reflected sadly.
Antoine indicated that after all this, the next phone call she got from Flex telling her that he signed a contract with Machel and is now working with him and they want more songs. An enraged Antoine revealed that two days before the launch of Wild Antz, he called her to ask how she was going. I told him everything was good because there wasn't any more i could say at this point.
"I was in the food shop and heard the song playing on radio and saying it was launched by Machel Montano. when i heard the starting, i already knew it was my song. With food in hand, i was about to call Flex to ask him how he could do me something like that but he beat me to the call and said that he wanted me to know that he didn't do that to me and he heard the song and it sounding just like mine."
Antoine said that she has documented evidence to show that the tune and ideas are hers."It is not only paper work i have to show that it is my song. My song was written since january 29th 2008 and i copyrighted it on May 12th 2008. I have all my documents, receipts and the song demo for a rythym which is in my possession. I am the original writer regardless if they took it and switched it up to their writing or style. I contacted his mom, Liz, who didn't give me a fair hearing and insisted that people could write the same tune and insisted that the tune which i am claiming, isn't mine."
Antoine ended by saying that all she wants is to be compensated for her song and for justice to prevail by being entitled to her copyright. "Machel owes me big time," a hurt Antoine sobbed.

It went on to show 3 pictures of her documented evidence: a letter which comprised of the lyrics of the song with the TT Post stamps proving that she had mailed it to herself, a cd with the Ants Demo and the page with the lyrics at the bottom which stated that the song was written by her on 29th january 2008 with copyright all rights reserved to her name.
Old 03-20-2009, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,264

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 03-20-2009, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,809
Ah DUN TEL ARYO MANY MOONS ago that WINER BOY comes off as an OPPORTUNIST and a USER. Ah FEEL ARYO should just BOYCOTT ANYTHING this FELLA is DOING.

LEY We TEK ah STAND nuh. Whey ARYO sey?
Old 03-20-2009, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 153,631
hmmm
Old 03-20-2009, 05:47 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 81,006
Like machel bull yuh gal or maybe ur man?

hmm
Old 03-20-2009, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 42,864
Originally Posted by Ping-Pong View Post
Like machel bull yuh gal or maybe ur man?

hmm
lol.. Musicology you aint have no news but any other artist?...we have other artists doing big things in the game now ..Destra and Kes have albums out now..you know this?..its either yuh see d man back stage or yuh posting article dated more than 2 weeks old... he is not the only artist in the game up for discussion

Last edited by Lieutenant; 03-20-2009 at 05:52 PM..
Old 03-21-2009, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,440
Cool Waaaaaaaayyyeee!!!!

Originally Posted by MUSICOLOGY View Post
Here is d TNT MIRROR article dated March 1st 2009 concerning Boy Boy n d Ants song.

A point fortin woman is claiming that top soca honcho Machel montano has lifted the concept of her song and presented it to Trinidad and Tobago as his very own exclusive work. According to Keisha antoine "I wrote and conceptualised a song called "Ants" but was surprised to see the version of "Wild Antz, which was released by Montano following my presentation to d HD camp.
In an exclusive interview with Mirror Weekend, the Point Fortin songwriter, who now resides in Curepe confessed that she was deceived into revealing the song and so "I was cheated out of my intellectual rights." "My whole song tells the story that we moving like ants." "It is a concept of Trinis...how we behave like ants for carnival and how ants get on or behave." "Machel, in an interview recently, used a concept of a colony of wild ants and linked it to people during carnival." The whole thing is, the same song that Machel is singing, Wild Antz, how it got out was when i got in touch with a guy by the name of Flex (alias) but his last name is Richard," Antoine disclosed.
She recalled the fact that it was her mother that introduced her to Flex. "Upon the introduction, my mom told me why don't i show flex the song and do the dance for him because she told him about me and it was just a matter of time for us to actually meet," she revealled. All this took place in December 31st 2008.
"After i did the dance and shared a piece of the material with him, he also shared piece of his material with me and indicated that he wrote Destra's Bacchannal. On January 4th, i got a call from Flex asking me if i was going to lime. I told him i was indoors already but asked him about his location. He said he was in the company of Machel and Kernel in the studio so i said ok! I remembered once he told me he wrote a tune for Machel and never got compensation so i saw this as somebody who went through an ordeal and i could learn from him. This is why i went to talk with him and introduced the song to where it reached," she reflected sadly.
Antoine indicated that after all this, the next phone call she got from Flex telling her that he signed a contract with Machel and is now working with him and they want more songs. An enraged Antoine revealed that two days before the launch of Wild Antz, he called her to ask how she was going. I told him everything was good because there wasn't any more i could say at this point.
"I was in the food shop and heard the song playing on radio and saying it was launched by Machel Montano. when i heard the starting, i already knew it was my song. With food in hand, i was about to call Flex to ask him how he could do me something like that but he beat me to the call and said that he wanted me to know that he didn't do that to me and he heard the song and it sounding just like mine."
Antoine said that she has documented evidence to show that the tune and ideas are hers."It is not only paper work i have to show that it is my song. My song was written since january 29th 2008 and i copyrighted it on May 12th 2008. I have all my documents, receipts and the song demo for a rythym which is in my possession. I am the original writer regardless if they took it and switched it up to their writing or style. I contacted his mom, Liz, who didn't give me a fair hearing and insisted that people could write the same tune and insisted that the tune which i am claiming, isn't mine."
Antoine ended by saying that all she wants is to be compensated for her song and for justice to prevail by being entitled to her copyright. "Machel owes me big time," a hurt Antoine sobbed.

It went on to show 3 pictures of her documented evidence: a letter which comprised of the lyrics of the song with the TT Post stamps proving that she had mailed it to herself, a cd with the Ants Demo and the page with the lyrics at the bottom which stated that the song was written by her on 29th january 2008 with copyright all rights reserved to her name.
I know dis kinda late & this story out a while now since after Carnival BUT... it still tiefin mu head tho.... NOT SURPRISED, just tiefin mu head.. soundin like dat Lauryn Hill story years back!!!!!
Old 03-22-2009, 02:05 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,174
Originally Posted by MUSICOLOGY View Post

i dont know y she mekkin all dis fuss over a shite tune!

and in any case by this article, she aint had no copyright if not she wud have no prob in getting wat is owed to her. she mout just too big.

and again, if she mekkin shite tunes like dis, it is she dat want locking up.

so.... anything "positive" things goin on wid the soca artist out there?
cus everybody like dem want to cry down machel. dont know wat he has done to wunnah so.
Old 03-22-2009, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 35,073
Originally Posted by PineHill View Post
i dont know y she mekkin all dis fuss over a shite tune!

and in any case by this article, she aint had no copyright if not she wud have no prob in getting wat is owed to her. she mout just too big.

so.... anything "positive" things goin on wid the soca artist out there?
cus everybody like dem want to cry down machel. dont know wat he has done to wunnah so.

i am still to hear de song antz.
Old 03-23-2009, 08:30 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,856
sorry mr. lieutenant, i knew d story came out a while now but i just decided to post d article as it came out in d newspapers.