Old 05-09-2005, 12:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,646
Congradulations Rupee!!

Congradulations to Rupee for picking up two awards this weekend at the International Reggae & World Music Awards. It's a great thing when hard work is awarded..

Very proud of you Mr. Clark......
Old 05-09-2005, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Another Sexy Scorpion!

Credits: 134
Was he there to collect?
Old 05-09-2005, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)

Yes, Rupee was in attendance....
Old 05-09-2005, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Credits: 209
could we have a link please?
Old 05-09-2005, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

Credits: 1,200
Sorry,

But doesn't look like they have posted the winners from the ceremony as of yet. But I did get photos of him acceptinghis award. I just have figure out where and how to post them. BTW, they are posted on his messageboard @ www.thisisrupee.com.

Congrats, Rupee!!

Old 05-09-2005, 12:48 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LadyDay005
Sorry,

But doesn't look like they have posted the winners from the ceremony as of yet. But I did get photos of him acceptinghis award. I just have figure out where and how to post them. BTW, they are posted on his messageboard @ www.thisisrupee.com.

Congrats, Rupee!!

Thanks LadyDay, I was just looking for some link to where i can post...
Old 05-09-2005, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 6,465
I find it very foolish that as soon as a record label signs somone they win an award and we come on here congradulating them like if they did some big things
Old 05-09-2005, 12:54 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I find it very foolish that as soon as a record label signs somone they win an award and we come on here congradulating them like if they did some big things

How is that foolish? And why shouldn't we congradulate them for being recognized for their work?
Old 05-09-2005, 12:57 PM   #9 (permalink)

It's so funny how our own ppl try to keep us down.....
Old 05-09-2005, 12:58 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Carine
How is that foolish? And why shouldn't we congradulate them for being recognized for their work?
I say it foolish because where is the competition?
Who is he up against?
Its only cause he is signed that he recieved an award. And we fall in line and give congrats allyuh letting that market dictate who is who in soca

Not saying he is not a good artist but the whole they sign so they win the awards is nonsense to me
Old 05-09-2005, 01:00 PM   #11 (permalink)

It's so funny how our own ppl try to keep us down.....
Try to keep us down?
By not allowing foriegn markets to say who is who in soca is keeping us down.

U go ahead and keep allowing them to dictate who gets what and who is who in the market.
Typical westindian what ever america say goes
Old 05-09-2005, 01:04 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I say it foolish because where is the competition?
Who is he up against?
Its only cause he is signed that he recieved an award. And we fall in line and give congrats allyuh letting that market dictate who is who in soca

Not saying he is not a good artist but the whole they sign so they win the awards is nonsense to me

To me, and I am sure to alot of ppl as well, it's not a matter of what record label or market dictating anything; to me, Rupee is an artist, he's been working on his craft for years and for him to be recognized by other people for something he works so hard for and so long, is really big..

We shouldn't have to analyze everything; there are some things that we should just be happy for that person.

Last edited by Carine; 05-09-2005 at 01:07 PM..
Old 05-09-2005, 01:08 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 24,373
To me, and I am sure to alot of ppl as well, it's not a matter of what record label or market dictating anything; to me, Rupee is an artist, he's been working on his craft for years and for him to be recognized by other people for something he works so hard for and so long, is really big..

We shouldn't have to analyze everything; there are some things that we should just be happy for that person.
what exactly did he win?
Old 05-09-2005, 01:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

I agree w/ you, Carine. Why can't we just be happy at other accomplishments and taking that step out there in the unknown?? Why the critique?
Old 05-09-2005, 01:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

Originally Posted by Oneshot
what exactly did he win?
"Best Song- Tempted To Touch"

"Best Soca/ Calypsoian Singer"