Old 02-01-2009, 11:28 PM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
i agree. When trini beyond d race thing, it will have one soca monarch. In dat, it will have ragga soca, chutney soca, techno soca and whatever other kinda soca people come up with. All soca.
wierd perception,all races perform at all monarchs some races just copy others well no harm in that and some do it thru cultural backgounds thats just life,it has nothing to do with discrimination.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Credits: 45,559
i like d set up....jess so.. (cause how u go judge lets say....meet superblue against rum till i die or jep sting naina..yunno...yuh jess cant really) but i wouldnt be opposed to ONE soca Monarch....if they giving out prizes based on d diferent categories...actually nah......dey would never do dat....from a business perspective as welll its not a very smart idea...
Old 02-01-2009, 11:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,264
Originally Posted by PUSHA View Post
wierd perception,all races perform at all monarchs some races just copy others well no harm in that and some do it thru cultural backgounds thats just life,it has nothing to do with discrimination.
Soca is soca. Is one ting to have a chutney monarch, but dis is a chutney soca monarch. Should we have a ragga soca monarch too? Why not just split it up like how power soca and groovy soca split?
Old 02-01-2009, 11:35 PM   #19 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidivawoman View Post
i like d set up....jess so.. (cause how u go judge lets say....meet superblue against rum till i die or jep sting naina..yunno...yuh jess cant really) but i wouldnt be opposed to one soca monarch....if they giving out prizes based on d diferent categories...actually nah......dey would never do dat....from a business perspective as welll its not a very smart idea...
+1
Old 02-01-2009, 11:35 PM   #20 (permalink)

soca is soca. Is one ting to have a chutney monarch, but dis is a chutney soca monarch. should we have a ragga soca monarch too? Why not just split it up like how power soca and groovy soca split?
my dear we had that already didnt u know?
Old 02-01-2009, 11:35 PM   #21 (permalink)
Royal

Originally Posted by TriniDivaWoman View Post
i like d set up....jess so.. (cause how u go judge lets say....meet superblue against rum till i die or jep sting naina..yunno...yuh jess cant really) but i wouldnt be opposed to ONE soca Monarch....if they giving out prizes based on d diferent categories...actually nah......dey would never do dat....from a business perspective as welll its not a very smart idea...
That's just it. Dey can very will have it all in one, just will different categories dey have now. But yes, it's a money thing but it probably more than that. People have different tastes and some probably like what they perceive as "their own" crowd. Such as life...
Old 02-01-2009, 11:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Royal

my dear we had that already didnt u know?
Nah. I eh know it had ah totally separate venue...doh follow dem ting like dat.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:38 PM   #23 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

That's just it. Dey can very will have it all in one, just will different categories dey have now. But yes, it's a money thing but it probably more than that. People have different tastes and some probably like what they perceive as "their own" crowd. Such as life...
nah man ...how u go say dat??..ent Trinidad gone beyond dat ahreddy???
Old 02-01-2009, 11:40 PM   #24 (permalink)
Royal

nah man ...how u go say dat??..ent Trinidad gone beyond dat ahreddy???
Dem muss be talking about Trinidad, Cuba...
Old 02-01-2009, 11:42 PM   #25 (permalink)

nah. I eh know it had ah totally separate venue...doh follow dem ting like dat.
its important to especially when u posting here in soca chat it helps to know a lil history bout the topic at hand so u can relate your views and state u "reasons why" better.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:44 PM   #26 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 42,866
nah..yuh could exit d post at this point..cause surely i wil not be posting any link bout no body who say dat...u think they will post some shit like dat in d papers...u self??

in a previous post/thread u self were giving yuh opinions etc....when i ask yuh fuh sources wah yuh tell meh??....yuh eh hadda do alladat, yuh eh 'revealing' yuh sources was d exact word u used....anywayz, u ent hadda be on d "truss meh" ting....yuh gave your opinion and i respect dat....keep it moving....if u ent have nutting else to add...i not trying to win nutten in here..just posting for discussion based on my thoughts, questions etc. about the issue. yunno
lol just what i expected...you cant expect to make such a strong accusation in a public forum and tell people to "truss meh"...and expect everyone to run with what you said...but I will appease you and exit your thread highlighted by racial divide...
Old 02-01-2009, 11:46 PM   #27 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Originally Posted by Lieutenant View Post
lol just what i expected...you cant expect to make such a strong accusation in a public forum and tell people to "truss meh"...and expect everyone to run with what you said...but I will appease you and exit your thread highlighted by racial divide...
... u on a diff trip @ "expect everyone to run with what you said" .....if i deleted d comment about "rumblings" and "truss meh" d essence of what ah ask would still b there...so wais yuh point?? yuh gave yuh opinion so yeh, i appreciate it....thanx...!!!
Old 02-01-2009, 11:48 PM   #28 (permalink)
Royal

its important to especially when u posting here in soca chat it helps to know a lil history bout the topic at hand so u can relate your views and state u "reasons why" better.
The point is whether we are going to have a competition for every single type of soca or just combine at some point. It's one genre. But if we want to talk about that, then I suppose that you should understand that "discrimination" didn't have anything to do with the post you responded to. Since you already know all about the history of every monarch competition we have...

And I've been posting on soca chat longer than you've been a member. You can love soca without following everything Carnival related. When people can look at soca beyond Carnival, the genre will surely be more successful.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:49 PM   #29 (permalink)

fair enough. However, the point is whether we are going to have a competition for every single type of soca or just combine at some point. It's one genre. But if we want to talk about that, then i suppose that you should understand that "discrimination" didn't have anything to do with the post you responded to. since you already know all about the history oevery monarch competition we havef ...
like a hit a nerve sorry
Old 02-01-2009, 11:50 PM   #30 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

the point is whether we are going to have a competition for every single type of soca or just combine at some point. It's one genre. But if we want to talk about that, then i suppose that you should understand that "discrimination" didn't have anything to do with the post you responded to. Since you already know all about the history of every monarch competition we have...

And i've been posting on soca chat longer than you've been a member. You can love soca without following everything carnival related. when people can look at soca beyond carnival, the genre will surely be more successful.
bingo!!!!!