Old 02-01-2009, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Credits: 45,079
Chutney Soca Monarch:Beyond Racial Divide??

What allyuh tink?? I hear Shawn Mastamind Noel and Patch (Singing Rum and Roti)...come first, score d highest in the prelims and semis of the Chutney soca Monarch eh.........it is between that and Jep sting Naina i think winning.....but dais me....

Now allyuh think..this is d first yr ah duo has ever entered and made it thus far, also first yr, two uuuummmm....Nuccas...Afro Trinis, Rastas performing in 'Courtas' (cultural indan wear)..Non Indians.......allyuh feel Trini chuntney fans will bypass racial lines to vote give dem d crown once dey deserve it or nah??

I have faith in d trini melting pot....we ting is ah rell callalooo dey go win man.....dem two fellas.....wah yuh tink?? yay or nay??

SHAWN da MA$TAMIND NOEL performing "Rum and Roti" at Chutney Monarch Semis..
Old 02-01-2009, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 45,730
lol so if he does not win the Soca chutney monarch is it because he is black?...what if Hunter does not win the Soca Groovy Monarch is it because he is indian?....
on a side note Destra and I think Winchester (among other afro Trinis) have also competed in the Chutney finals in the past..

Last edited by Lieutenant; 02-01-2009 at 10:43 PM..
Old 02-01-2009, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Originally Posted by Lieutenant View Post
lol so if he does not win the Soca chutney monarch is it because he is black?...what if Hunter does not win the Soca Groovy Monarch is it because he is indian?....
on a side note Destra and I think Winchester (among other afro Trinis) have also competed in teh Chutney finals in the past..
no sir..d keyword is if they DESERVE it......if they ent DESERVE to win..i think they ent have no right to win..but if they DESERVE to win it based on the judging criteria and voting etc.......i think they should....

and yeh..destra and shurwayne perform ahreddy in d finals...but they werent on top (meaning) highest scores....) and they werent a duo.....the reason i ask is there are some rumblings already about is not chutney dey singing is ragga soca...ah not understanding dat atalll

in d soca monarch dais a diff thread all together.....cause we all know ....nutten nah
Old 02-01-2009, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Originally Posted by TriniDivaWoman View Post
no sir..d keyword is if they DESERVE it......if they ent DESERVE to win..i think they ent have no right to win..but if they DESERVE to win it based on the judging criteria and voting etc.......i think they should....

and yeh..destra and shurwayne perform...but they werent on top and they werent a duo.....highest scores....the rason i ask is there are soem rumblings already about is not chutney dey singing is ragga soca...ah nto understanding dat atalll

in d soca monarch dais a diff thread all together.....cause we all know ....nutten nah
lol and the keyword is this is a very opinionated subject..what about other people who have the opinion that rum and roti dont deserve to win..what if someone thinks jep sting deserves to win..so if jep sting wins then you think rum and roti lost cause the artist was afro trini??...Not taking anything away from rum and roti(its one of my favourites).. but if the chuune dont win then dont try and play the race card...carry on
Old 02-01-2009, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

lol and the keyword is this is a very opinionated subject..what about other people who have the opinion that rum and roti dont deserve to win..what if someone thinks jep sting deserves to win..so if jep sting wins then you think rum and roti lost cause the artist was afro trini??...Not taking anything away from rum and roti(its one of my favourites).. but if the chuune dont win then dont try and play the race card...carry on
boy...u read what i say??? is an opinionated subject yes......and is ah forum....where we uuuuuhhhh exchange opinions....dont put yuh head in sand......and act like these tings not possible, is trini......

in d other soca monarch ah sure it might have some of d same prejudices.....i said if they deserve to win.....as in performance, crowd response, prsentation, lyrics, melody, ORIGNALITY....etc....i ent say dey (Shawn and Patch) deserve to win yet.....d finals ent reach yet hoss.......i love Jep Sting Naina and Rum and Roti.....either could win on d nite.....but im wondering if there will be voting on racial lines, IFFFF dey did deseve to win on dat nite.....it possible...cause as ah said..there is alot of rumbling already...truss meh.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,463
I hope as a country, we are way beyond that. I was doing some research, and i did notice that last year they announced who topped the premlimnary round and the semi-final round but no mention was made this year. and i really didn't care until i was watching an interview on gayelle with Mastamind and Patch and the announcer congratulated them on coming in first place in both premlim and semi final rounds. So i wondered how come it wasn't mentioned any where else.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 22,072
Ummm...yuh mean kurtas?

I dunno nah. Both "Jep Sting" and "Rum and Roti" really nice tunes. Whoever win, ah wouldn't be quick to call it ah racial ting. Depending on yuh taste yuh might prefer one over the other. In some ways, Jep have it and in other ways Rum have it. So we shall see because it have plenty factors to consider...
Old 02-01-2009, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
READY FOR SPICEMAS 2kWINE

Credits: 9,954
Originally Posted by forgetit View Post
I hope as a country, we are way beyond that. I was doing some research, and i did notice that last year they announced who topped the premlimnary round and the semi-final round but no mention was made this year. and i really didn't care until i was watching an interview on gayelle with Mastamind and Patch and the announcer congratulated them on coming in first place in both premlim and semi final rounds. So i wondered how come it wasn't mentioned any where else.
i think as a country we are beyond the race ting. if anything is more of a who u know and how much money u have if anything! but we go c wha go happen
Old 02-01-2009, 11:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Royal

and yeh..destra and shurwayne perform ahreddy in d finals...but they werent on top (meaning) highest scores....) and they werent a duo.....the reason i ask is there are some rumblings already about is not chutney dey singing is ragga soca...ah not understanding dat atalll

Now dat is foolishness b/c if it was Anil Bheem and Hitman singing it...ah sure dem woulda been callin it chutney soca. Hope dais just a few dotish people talking dat nonsense. It's not ah chutney song though. In fact, neither tune is straight chutney. Is soca, traditional soca if we real about it.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
Ummm...yuh mean kurtas?

I dunno nah. Both "Jep Sting" and "Rum and Roti" really nice tunes. Whoever win, ah wouldn't be quick to call it ah racial ting. Depending on yuh taste yuh might prefer one over the other. In some ways, Jep have it and in other ways Rum have it. So we shall see because it have plenty factors to consider...
...yeh gyurl ah wasnt sure bout d spelling na...but ah din feel to search it...lololololol thanks....

Originally Posted by TriniJustice View Post
i think as a country we are beyond the race ting. if anything is more of a who u know and how much money u have if anything! but we go c wha go happen
u think the Whole of Trini beyond d race ting??? hmmmph..aite, I disagree though.....but i agree wid d rest of your post yes..talent, money, or some good links..is a lethal combination in trini..but yuh cant have talent alone dese days....hardly...lolololol...

either way as ah say....is jess ah thought that pass thru meh head cause of some undercurrent going on nah...yunno....nice dat dey make it so far..cause d chune bad.....so so far it seems like it dont matter cause ah beleive in d semis is people who had to vote same way.....so good
Old 02-01-2009, 11:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

..there is alot of rumbling already...truss meh.
NAh i not in dat "truss meh" ting !!..Post a link or post a source of where you read or heard the rumblings....we know trinidad is a "he say, she say country"..and not everyone believe in rumours posted in a forum....so please post a link or a credible source if you wanna go on with this type of conversation
Old 02-01-2009, 11:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
Now dat is foolishness b/c if it was Anil Bheem and Hitman singing it...ah sure dem woulda been callin it chutney soca. Hope dais just a few dotish people talking dat nonsense. It's not ah chutney song though. In fact, neither tune is straight chutney. Is soca, traditional soca if we real about it.
is soca chutney....btw...wais d diff betw. soca chutney and pure chutney and pure soca???
Old 02-01-2009, 11:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Royal

...yeh gyurl ah wasnt sure bout d spelling na...but ah din feel to search it...lololololol thanks....

u think the Whole of Trini beyond d race ting??? hmmmph..aite, I disagree though.....but i agree wid d rest of your post yes..talent, money, or some good links..is a lethal combination in trini..but yuh cant have talent alone dese days....hardly...lolololol...

either way as ah say....is jess ah thought that pass thru meh head cause of some undercurrent going on nah...yunno....nice dat dey make it so far..cause d chune bad.....so so far it seems like it dont matter cause ah beleive in d semis is people who had to vote same way.....so good
I agree. When Trini beyond d race thing, it will have ONE Soca Monarch. In dat, it will have ragga soca, chutney soca, techno soca and whatever other kinda soca people come up with. All soca.
Old 02-01-2009, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
DarkWingDuck

NAh i not in dat "truss meh" ting !!..Post a link or post a source of where you read or heard teh rumblings....we know trinidad is a "he say, she say country"..and not everyone believe in rumours posted in a forum....so please post a link or a credible source if you wanna go on with this type of conversation
nah..yuh could exit d post at this point..cause surely i wil not be posting any link bout no body who say dat...u think they will post some shit like dat in d papers...u self??

in a previous post/thread u self were giving yuh opinions etc....when i ask yuh fuh sources wah yuh tell meh??....yuh eh hadda do alladat, yuh eh 'revealing' yuh sources was d exact word u used....anywayz, u ent hadda be on d "truss meh" ting....yuh gave your opinion and i respect dat....keep it moving....if u ent have nutting else to add...i not trying to win nutten in here..just posting for discussion based on my thoughts, questions etc. about the issue. yunno
Old 02-01-2009, 11:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Royal

is soca chutney....btw...wais d diff betw. soca chutney and pure chutney and pure soca???
It really mix up today but imo, dem old tune like wha Sundar Popo and Babla & Kanchan used to sing is chutney. Tunes like...

YouTube - Payaliya - Devanand Gatto

There is no really difference between pure soca and soca chutney/chutney soca because the origins of soca came from the mix d two cultural musics to begin with.

Last edited by dollbabi; 02-01-2009 at 11:30 PM..