#16 (permalink) | |
Credits: 93
I've just listened to an interview on ZDK with the chairman of the CDC and I think the picture is now getting clearer. here are some main points for consideration in this matter as per the chairman: 1) Rohan Hector (the band leader of El A Kru) was the person who was in charge of selecting the songs for the compilation (as he is an employee of the carnival office) 2) CDC assisted El A Kru in bringing in their rented Sound equipment for carnival. they covered the freight charges and other costs to the amount of $10,000.00. 3) El A Kru had also gone to the CDC to get Airline tickets to travel to NY for labor day, and was being granted the use of the terms and conditions afforded the CDC by American airlines where by they would only have to pay 50% of the ticket cost which is EC$7,000.00 for 10 persons travelling. CDC would have then absorbed the other $7,000.00 of the cost. I think in all of this CDC (thinking as they do) would have thought that since Mr. Hector was the one who compiled the project and based on the level of assistence given to EL A Kru they would have been justified in carrying out the compilation, therefore making El A Kru's bone of contention null and void. The chairman also stated that both him and Mr Hector are childhood buddies with a 30 yers relationship and it was him Mr. Hector who encouraged him to accept his post as Chairman of CDC. He further stated that it was a matter of SOUR GRAPES as El A Kru was upset after they thought that they should have won the Roadmarch title, an issue which caused them refusing to go on the road for LAst lap. I think EL A Kru should just bow out gracefully because they got more assistance that I would suppose any other band got from CDC. O WHAT A TANGLED WEB WE WEAVE !!!!!!!! ![]()
SOCA TILL I DIE!!!!!!..... OR IS IT SOAKHER TILL I DIE OR SUC HER TILL I DIE,, UUUUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMM Last edited by Jameritiguan; 09-27-2005 at 01:36 PM.. |
#17 (permalink) | |
Spitfire
Credits: 325
if you think is just a one song...then is obvious you got a bootleg copy of El A Kru's album![]() ![]() |
#18 (permalink) | |
Credits: 93
Ok lets not get carried away the album had about 3 good songs on it but that still does not make it the best for the carnival. I will say its the best they have done since Lethal Batty. ![]()
#19 (permalink) | |
Spitfire
well well well...yuh can say dat ahgen Jameritiguan. Seems as if de CDC did in fact give El A Kru alot of financial support and that coupled wid having three songs on the compilation...I don't see what else Rohan would want As for the roadmarch title...although I felt "Harder Deah Come" would take it easily cuz it's Flames...I was suprised to see that it only beat out "Another Man" by 10 plays...that too damn close so it could make one wonder . More than likely if roadmarch was an "issue" El A Kru should remember that nationality would also play a part in that too as Naycha is the lead on that song..it's his chune. Chups..well whateva...I don't know..leh de saga of cd's continue.Thanks for de update Jamtiguan ![]() |
#20 (permalink) | |
Spitfire
Aghen Dahlin...yoo like Charms must've gotten a bootleg copy wid on 1-3 good songs cuz ebrybady else me knoh lissen' dat album fram start tuh finish...skippin' no chunes Ok..it is in my opinion that it was the most "thorough" album put out by the various bands...However, ALL of Dadli's artist put forth exceptional efforts this carnival season![]() ![]() |
#21 (permalink) | |
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 14,493
![]() Let's see, while home for carnival I heard: Another Man Muscle Maria Stand Up Big Up Lumber Off Limits regularly on the radio and in and around Antigua. Regularly. I knew most of the CD b4 I bought it. So apparently y'all in the minority on this one. And they're all good songs. Guess is y'all opinion....but I eh have a clue as which CD yuh listening to. |
#22 (permalink) | |
Debble
Credits: 3,957
#23 (permalink) | |
Lucy-furrr
Credits: 1,338
but from my take, Kru was on the compilation. Hector chose the songs etc. All the other artists selected the songs to give the CDC as well. This was all before carnival and popularity of some songs etc.. I believe the original complaint was about the money being paid and the fact that songs blew up and should be paid more etc. Why is CDC strong armin? cuz it takes money and effort to produce these cd's, and now the compilation should be out and selling bringing them revenue. The whole thing supposta be scrapped and done again cuz a mr hector change he mind an he story. wheeew. okay, i done. i dont know what has transpired after that, so..... |
#24 (permalink) |
Charmed
Credits: 305
OK OK.....
I in de minority....I aint gonna go through this no more, I stand by my earliar statements... And oh...I happen to own the original CD. ![]() |
#25 (permalink) | |
Credits: 30
And whatever it costs CDC to produce that CD I am sure it cost El-A-Kru much more to produce theirs. So if it is right for them to use strong arm tactics then it is right for the Kru to be firm with their demands. that is the way negotiations go. Both sides have the right to defend their best interest. I have asked a couple friends of mine and I was told that EC$100.00 is a ridiculous offer to make for advance royalties for a song on a compilation. I have to agree. |
#26 (permalink) | |
Lucy-furrr
#27 (permalink) | |
el-a-kru attorney and was told he would get back to him after consulting with the band. Based on the fact that the amendments were made to some of the clauses in the contract and not to all the band decided that it was not acceptable. That answer was given to Cassell the same day. What is puzzling me and makes me suspicious of Cochranes statements is that he is saying that the roadmarch decision made the discussions sour from the start yet clearly it is stated that negotiationswere going on before that. No one from the EL-A-KRU was given a chhance to answer any of Mr. Cochranes allegations today or even yesterday. I know this is not the end of this. I am sure of it. |
#28 (permalink) |
And I believe Cochranes statements have made it worse.
#29 (permalink) | |
Charmed
Credits: 305
Anyway Ah still trying to Behave....how ah doing Lolas & Yanks? ![]() |
#30 (permalink) | |
Lucy-furrr

I don't get why the CDC is trying to "strong arm" El A Kru about being on the compilation? They need to come to a reasonable $$ amount considering as El A Kru had the hottest album for Carnival. Futhermore...I agree wid Hector that the "435" burned copies is suspicious considering how/how many cd's were originally produced. Sounds like CDC trying to pull a fast one...I wouldn't be surprised if (with the CDC's involvement)the compilation will mysteriously be bootlegged on selling pon de corner ah Market Street
Buoy...nuttn eva easy whey Antiguans cancerned. Please keep updating us Flames 4 life.

if you think is just a one song...then is obvious you got a bootleg copy of El A Kru's album

well well well...yuh can say dat ahgen Jameritiguan. Seems as if de CDC did in fact give El A Kru alot of financial support and that coupled wid having three songs on the compilation...I don't see what else Rohan would want
As for the roadmarch title...although I felt "Harder Deah Come" would take it easily cuz it's Flames...I was suprised to see that it only beat out "Another Man" by 10 plays...that too damn close so it could make one wonder
. More than likely if roadmarch was an "issue" El A Kru should remember that nationality would also play a part in that too as Naycha is the lead on that song..it's his chune. Chups..well whateva...I don't know..leh de saga of cd's continue.
Ok..it is in my opinion that it was the most "thorough" album put out by the various bands...However, ALL of Dadli's artist put forth exceptional efforts this carnival season