Old 09-26-2005, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 245
CD Burning????????

El-A-Kru: CD burning suspicious

Monday September 26 2005

by Tahna Weston

EL-A-Kru band said it is baffled as to the number of CDs the Carnival Development Committee (CDC) destroyed last week.

The CDC recently burnt 435 copies of the controversial CDs but an original figure of 1000 was given as the number of copies the CDC will be producing which featured top soca songs for the 2005 Carnival.

CDC Chairman Neil Cochrane explained that only 435 CDs were undertaken in the initial phase, with the remaining 565 to be done at a later stage. He said the band had a misconception that 1000 CDs were duplicated.

That misunderstanding was never cleared up publicly, however, even after the SUN repeatedly quoted the figure as 1000.

“We had stopped the duplication. We are not going to produce 1000 CDs at one time,” Cochrane said.

Band member Rohan Hector, told the SUN that it is preposterous for the CDC to say that only 435 duplications were made. He said nowhere in the industry is that amount done he noted it is 100, 300, 500 and the like.

“Anybody stating otherwise is in direct contradiction of the truth,” Hector said.

Hector said it is very puzzling that 1000 CDs were duplicated at a cost $10, 000 and 435 were also produced at the same cost.

However, Cochrane said the copies produced cost no way in the region of $10,000.

Hector made reference to a letter written by Intellectual Property Rights Attorney Warren Cassell, who represents the CDC.

In that letter dated 4 Aug., 2005 Cassell wrote: “While the CDC does not want to force the band into a project, I must on their behalf inform you that the first thousand copies were already duplicated when you spoke with me.”

The band member told the SUN that if indeed only 435 CD’s were made, why would a letter written by CDC’s lawyer and copied to the chairman stating otherwise.

According to Hector, “someone is trying to deceive someone.”

He also said no one from the band was personally invited to witness the CDs being destroyed.

Hector said the CDC claimed that they had notified Brian DeSilva, the current road manager for the band, about the burning of the CDs. Hector said DeSilva was never a part of the negotiations from the onset and questioned “why was he (DeSilva) informed?”

I'm confused by this whole article/issue. Can some garrat explain wha goin' on? I thought Shan 1 had some insight on dis buh me nah see shi rounya inna lang while Whey Charmer anall?

Last edited by LolaMs; 09-26-2005 at 03:47 PM..
Old 09-26-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 612
Originally Posted by LolaMs

Monday September 26 2005

by Tahna Weston

EL-A-Kru band said it is baffled as to the number of CDs the Carnival Development Committee (CDC) destroyed last week.

The CDC recently burnt 435 copies of the controversial CDs but an original figure of 1000 was given as the number of copies the CDC will be producing which featured top soca songs for the 2005 Carnival.

CDC Chairman Neil Cochrane explained that only 435 CDs were undertaken in the initial phase, with the remaining 565 to be done at a later stage. He said the band had a misconception that 1000 CDs were duplicated.

That misunderstanding was never cleared up publicly, however, even after the SUN repeatedly quoted the figure as 1000.

“We had stopped the duplication. We are not going to produce 1000 CDs at one time,” Cochrane said.

Band member Rohan Hector, told the SUN that it is preposterous for the CDC to say that only 435 duplications were made. He said nowhere in the industry is that amount done he noted it is 100, 300, 500 and the like.

“Anybody stating otherwise is in direct contradiction of the truth,” Hector said.

Hector said it is very puzzling that 1000 CDs were duplicated at a cost $10, 000 and 435 were also produced at the same cost.

However, Cochrane said the copies produced cost no way in the region of $10,000.

Hector made reference to a letter written by Intellectual Property Rights Attorney Warren Cassell, who represents the CDC.

In that letter dated 4 Aug., 2005 Cassell wrote: “While the CDC does not want to force the band into a project, I must on their behalf inform you that the first thousand copies were already duplicated when you spoke with me.”

The band member told the SUN that if indeed only 435 CD’s were made, why would a letter written by CDC’s lawyer and copied to the chairman stating otherwise.

He also said no one from the band was personally invited to witness the CDs being destroyed.

Hector said the CDC claimed that they had notified Brian DeSilva, the current road manager for the band, about the burning of the CDs. Hector said DeSilva was never a part of the negotiations from the onset and questioned “why was he (DeSilva) informed?”

I'm confused by this whole article/issue. Can some garrat explain wha goin' on? I thought Shan 1 had some insight on dis buh me nah see shi rounya inna lang while Whey Charmer anall?
Yeah u right! This situation seems to get more complex by the day. And i thought it was resolved already.
Old 09-26-2005, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Debble

Credits: 2,759

Monday September 26 2005

by Tahna Weston

I think the big confusion has to do with the CDC not coming to an agree able price to put El A Kru's songs on their CD. That is where it started.
Old 09-26-2005, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,428
edit: oh, lemmuh hush, mi undastand now.
the article writerr still need to learn a thing or two about including background information -- a quick paragraph -- to summarize the whole subject matter.

maybe i'm just silly, but would'nt it have been more prudent for them to come to an agreeable price and sell the CDs as is? Just wasting money juss so?

Last edited by Mystic Xtremist; 09-26-2005 at 04:12 PM..
Old 09-26-2005, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 702
Originally Posted by benjie
I think the big confusion has to do with the CDC not coming to an agree able price to put El A Kru's songs on their CD. That is where it started.
So wha'iz de story...CDC put out ah compilation CD that had El-A-Kru music on it...but El-A-Kru di'n give dem permission and wanted them tuh destroy the CD's?
Old 09-26-2005, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Debble

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
So wha'iz de story...CDC put out ah compilation CD that had El-A-Kru music on it...but El-A-Kru di'n give dem permission and wanted them tuh destroy the CD's?
you pretty much summed it up. The destructioN of all the CD'S is now being questioned due to the discrepancy in the number initially reported as "produced/duplicated" compared to the number reported as being destroyed.
Old 09-26-2005, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 27
Originally Posted by benjie
you pretty much summed it up. The destructioN of all the CD'S is now being questioned due to the discrepancy in the number initially reported as "produced/duplicated" compared to the number reported as being destroyed.
It seems to me that that is the case now. The CDC apparently wrote them a letter telling them that they had produced 1,000 copies and that the band would be liable for the cost of producing the initial thousand copies even though they never had the bands written consent to be a part of the compilation.

Then at the official destruction there was only 435. So the question now is what happened to the other 565.

I heard there was a lot of other stuff that took place in between but that is where the matter is now.
Old 09-26-2005, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,428
Originally Posted by Flames 4 life
It seems to me that that is the case now. The CDC apparently wrote them a letter telling them that they had produced 1,000 copies and that the band would be liable for the cost of producing the initial thousand copies even though they never had the bands written consent to be a part of the compilation.
that's madness. there's no way anyone could have gonads that big to request such a thing.
Old 09-26-2005, 06:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Debble

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
that's madness. there's no way anyone could have gonads that big to request such a thing.
They got cantelopes.
Old 09-26-2005, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 27
Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist

If you read this carefully you will see that this is an excerpt from a letter written to the band by a Mr. Cassell who is actually a lawyer for the CDC. I've been tuning to ZDK in the mornings on www.caribbeanads.com and there has been much discussion on the matter. What he is actually suggesting there in the excerpt is that they do not want to force the band into the project but if they dont comply then they will have to. I heard a caller on ZDK last week actually read the other part of the letter and it said something to the effect that non-compliance would result in the band being liable for the production of the thousand copies at a whoppinng cost of EC$10,000.00.

It may seem weird but this is apparently real. My nephew works for the observer in Anu and I am trying to see if I can get some more info on this.
Old 09-27-2005, 01:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Charmed

Credits: 198

Monday September 26 2005

by Tahna Weston

Ummmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!You dearly lub put me inna tings pan tap you and Yank have asked me to behave myself

Back to the case in point

This whole saga is indeed very confusing and there seem to be issues on both sides, but I will attempt to shed some light as much as I can on it.

Now as I understand it (and this is in no way cast in stone), everything was running right on track, especially since Mr. Hector was the main man, being the individual who compiled the songs for the compilation (thus why it was rumoured that three songs from EL-A-Kru was suppose to be on)..this compilation as I understand it again was put together some weeks before the actual start of carnival after most of the bands had released and a look was taken as to what was more or less popular... Again it was rumoured that every thing was A-OK up until they were told that they had made a mistake after giving a verbal agreement to the Lawyer that they had agreed to the final draft of the conditions of the contract for the compilation and that duplication could proceed.....Charmer takes a breath.....
So!...Bottom Line....Now somebody want back their money and somebody taking somebody to court......Charmer leaving to take a breather and a drink

Boy Ah even confusing meself

Last edited by Lady Charmer; 09-27-2005 at 01:17 AM..
Old 09-27-2005, 11:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Charmed

CDC Chairman Clears The Air

The Bacanal is on............

If you are able tune in to ZDK and hear the real issues....

I will give a run-down of the events a little later guys.....

AH STILL BEHAVING

Last edited by Lady Charmer; 09-27-2005 at 11:25 AM..
Old 09-27-2005, 11:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by Flames 4 life
I've been tuning to ZDK in the mornings on www.caribbeanads.com and there has been much discussion on the matter. What he is actually suggesting there in the excerpt is that they do not want to force the band into the project but if they dont comply then they will have to. I heard a caller on ZDK last week actually read the other part of the letter and it said something to the effect that non-compliance would result in the band being liable for the production of the thousand copies at a whoppinng cost of EC$10,000.00.

It may seem weird but this is apparently real. My nephew works for the observer in Anu and I am trying to see if I can get some more info on this.
I don't get why the CDC is trying to "strong arm" El A Kru about being on the compilation? They need to come to a reasonable $$ amount considering as El A Kru had the hottest album for Carnival. Futhermore...I agree wid Hector that the "435" burned copies is suspicious considering how/how many cd's were originally produced. Sounds like CDC trying to pull a fast one...I wouldn't be surprised if (with the CDC's involvement)the compilation will mysteriously be bootlegged on selling pon de corner ah Market Street Buoy...nuttn eva easy whey Antiguans cancerned. Please keep updating us Flames 4 life.

@everybody:I am less confused now. Thanks for you allz insight and trying tuh pick sense outta de nonsense dat goin' on between de two groups.
Old 09-27-2005, 11:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by Lady Charmer
Ummmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!You dearly lub put me inna tings pan tap you and Yank have asked me to behave myself

Back to the case in point

Again it was rumoured that every thing was A-OK up until they were told that they had made a mistake after giving a verbal agreement to the Lawyer that they had agreed to the final draft of the conditions of the contract for the compilation and that duplication could proceed.....Charmer takes a breath.....
So!...Bottom Line....Now somebody want back their money and somebody taking somebody to court......Charmer leaving to take a breather and a drink

Boy Ah even confusing meself
whatta drama chile...well at least yuh behave buh all yuh double tark juss add tuh de confusion

Old 09-27-2005, 02:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Charmed

I don't get why the CDC is trying to "strong arm" El A Kru about being on the compilation? They need to come to a reasonable $$ amount considering as El A Kru had the hottest album for Carnival. Futhermore...I agree wid Hector that the "435" burned copies is suspicious considering how/how many cd's were originally produced. Sounds like CDC trying to pull a fast one...I wouldn't be surprised if (with the CDC's involvement)the compilation will mysteriously be bootlegged on selling pon de corner ah Market Street Buoy...nuttn eva easy whey Antiguans cancerned. Please keep updating us Flames 4 life.

@everybody:I am less confused now. Thanks for you allz insight and trying tuh pick sense outta de nonsense dat goin' on between de two groups.

Sweetie...One song don't make an album the hottest album...anyways, I say no more on that matter.....