Old 08-06-2005, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rebelucian

Credits: 5,789
Caribbean Soca Monarch

If there was soca monarch competition for the whole caribbean....with judges from different islands. Who you think would win? Do you think the trinis would dominate?
Old 08-06-2005, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Black Knight

Credits: 2,531
Dat would be a bery interesting competitin and i think that they should seriously consider it!

NBA -LAKERS
EPL/CL - MAN U
NCAA BB - UCONN
NCAA FB - FLORIDA ST
NFL - RAMS
MLB - BRAVES
NHL - PENS
Old 08-06-2005, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,427
Soca Monarch in Trinidad consists of artists from all islands, not just trinidad.....so i guess that is the caribbean soca monarch.

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 08-06-2005, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~

Credits: 259
Originally Posted by wukkinup
Soca Monarch in Trinidad consists of artists from all islands, not just trinidad.....so i guess that is the caribbean soca monarch.
But who normally wins?
Old 08-06-2005, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Rebelucian

Credits: 5,789
I doh really consider the trinidad soca monarch a caribbean one because how many islands are really represented and i'm sure these are not the best from the various islands. Also, are the judges from different islands?

I mean a competition for all the artists who won soca monarch in their respective islands....and it should be held on a different island each year.
Old 08-06-2005, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,845
Originally Posted by Soca Shane
I doh really consider the trinidad soca monarch a caribbean one because how many islands are really represented and i'm sure these are not the best from the various islands. Also, are the judges from different islands?

I mean a competition for all the artists who won soca monarch in their respective islands....and it should be held on a different island each year.
I REALLY like this IDEA.

This will GIVE us a TRUE SENSE of who is REALLY the BEST in the Caribbean.

If all the RIGHT MECHANISMS are in place, it would be an EXCELLENT idea for the Caribbean, just like when they used to have the World CALYPSO Monarch competition.
Old 08-06-2005, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 29,965

The Soca Monarch in Trinidad is called the International Soca Monarch competition and as such is open to any and everyone. There was even a duet from Scotland doing bagpipe Soca once.
Old 08-06-2005, 11:20 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa
The Soca Monarch in Trinidad is called the International Soca Monarch competition and as such is open to any and everyone. There was even a duet from Scotland doing bagpipe Soca once.
INTERNATIONAL??

Do you mean INVITING a few people to PERFORM (not even TOP CLASS artists) but NOT with the INTENTION of anyone of the OUTSIDERS WINNING?
Old 08-06-2005, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
Originally Posted by wukkinup
are you serious? please tell me you're joking....

I like that idea!
Old 08-06-2005, 11:48 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
INTERNATIONAL??

Do you mean INVITING a few people to PERFORM (not even TOP CLASS artists) but NOT with the INTENTION of anyone of the OUTSIDERS WINNING?

No one is "invited" to compete. They enter of their own free will.
Old 08-07-2005, 12:05 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa
No one is "invited" to compete. They enter of their own free will.
Before I continue, how do THEY GO about DOING this, since you HAVE KNOWLEDGE about how the SOCA MONARCH operates in T&T??
Old 08-07-2005, 10:45 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,427
[QUOTE=sk gyal]are you serious? please tell me you're joking....

Um...why yuh gettin on so?? It is open for ANYONE to compete....so if your favourate artists don't want to enter....don't blame the competition for that.

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 08-07-2005, 12:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
[QUOTE=wukkinup]
Originally Posted by sk gyal
are you serious? please tell me you're joking....

Um...why yuh gettin on so?? It is open for ANYONE to compete....so if your favourate artists don't want to enter....don't blame the competition for that.
That does not make it it the Caribbean Soca Monarch plus all islands don't compete as it is...
Old 08-07-2005, 12:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
Please with theory that The socam Monarch in Trinidad is really INTERNATIONAL. I like the Idea though. Let get three of the best to represent, not 25 from Trinidad and the other 4 spread out. We also need an unbais location. POWA not Victoria park lol..
Old 08-07-2005, 01:03 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Before I continue, how do THEY GO about DOING this, since you HAVE KNOWLEDGE about how the SOCA MONARCH operates in T&T??

It operates the same way as any other Soca Monarch in the Caribbean in terms of entering the competition. The one difference is that we actually allow participants from other countries to compete; hence the word "International".