Caribbean people
Why do we fight each other down .
Sean Paul … song deport dem was 2 yr old before it became a hit in the U.S. … look where he is today Kevin Lyttle … song Turn me on is the 15th most played song in the world and people who claim they love soca hate him |
Credits: 701
Re: Caribbean people
not because you like soca it means you have to like every artiste in the industry. I think most people wish him success they are just not fans of his work.
Credits: 2,907
I think it's more an issue that he came w/ 1 tune while you have far more talented individuals yet to be "discovered" by major labels. I may not care for his style of music, but as I said a while back, he did his homework in getting where he is. Hopefully others will follow suit and make their presence known.
i dont hate kevin at all wish he does great and be very successful
butthat song has l been played so much the last 3-4 years so ya kinda get tired of it |
Credits: 16,217
I don't hate any artistes. I am very happy for those who have made it so big.
I am just sick of hearing the same tunes a billion years later. |
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE
Credits: 1,747
Credits: 2,907
Credits: 181
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 37,846
I really don't think people dislike him here on the mix. It seems that the mere mention of his name creates angst among many regular posters since him and his music has become a controversial topic in Soca Chat. I honestly don't think of KL as a phenomonal talent as far as soca is concerned. However I wish him success and hapiness and I do hope that since it is soca music that has him in his current good standing, that soca benefits from his mainstream escapades. I am not confident that it will but I certainly still hope so.
Cosider this: When Will Smith won a Grammy for "Best Rap Solo Performance" in 1998 for the song " Gettin' Jiggy Wit It," hip hop fans and artists were up in arms. Why? Because many didn't believe it should even qualify as rap/ hip hop. Do these very people hate Will Smith? I sincerely doubt it. So Bush please try yuh best to not stir things up in our favorite forum. Carry yuh fassy ras back to backchat thank you very much. |
Born Again
Credits: 707
da sweet one
Credits: 1,066
LMAO @ Scorpion!...lol
Hate is such a strong word.. SPEAKIN FOR MYSELF... I glad Kevin been able to do wha he do... it jus frustrates me that his lack of talent (MY OPINION) is bein used to represent soca in the mainstream when I do not consider his music to really be soca ... anyhow he from the Caribbean so I glad he has been successful just hope his successes HELP soca get spread and not make soca been viewed as reggae or r&b or anythin so |
Royal
Credits: 24,269
Well, I like Sean Paul from the beginning. I bought his first album and his second too. He let people know that he was bringing dancehall music and culture. Kevin Lyttle...I liked Turn Me On when it came out and even though it's played out, it's still a good song. IMO, the extent of his talent has yet to be seen, as opposed to someone like Rupee who has and continues to put out excellent soca music. Hopefully Kevin will rep for Soca music and I wish him the best. So let time tell... |
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,426
Another, I can remember hearing plenty ppl say that what made it as mainstream salsa/merengue music a few years back wasn't authentic, that it too was watered down. This is just history repeating itself. It's obvious to me by now that it takes the light (or watered-down if u will) version of a music to cross over; hence all the negatives associated with being a crossover success. While some ppl may be hating, I think too often they're lumped in with ppl who are diehard fans, who are purists. Much as it pains you, as a decent human being u have to allow the purists (not the haters) their right to their opinion. Purists are not looking at the history or the business side or whatever, they want to see the best of the best, end of story. It's their opinion and they're entitled to it if they'd rather see Rupee or Machel or whoever buss big. Same as how we wanted to see Rakim or Tribe Called Quest or KRS-One become mainstream first. It's just a different point of view and a love you have to accept, deal with, and stop whinin' and get tuh hell over it.Same as how the purists need to look past their love for even a second and see others that are looking at things from a business sense. Or maybe they actually, genuinely like his music and think he's talented. Basically, everybody respect each other and shut tuh fack up with all this whining already sheeesh. Last edited by MysticReveller; 05-26-2004 at 01:53 PM.. |
da sweet one
Credits: 1,066
hahahahahaha:p |