Smarty Skirt
Credits: 1,547
Caribbean DJ's need to play each other's music
Hey guys,
Tell me what you think about this. I've been reading different threads about music in the different islands but unfortunately you can't hear most of this music on the radio unless it's local. What I find is that in Antigua for example we will hear music from here and some of the Leeward and Virgin Islands and a lot from Trinidad too. But I doubt people in Trinidad and Grenada for example have heard much about the music from elsewhere except for maybe Barbados I could be wrong. It would be nice though if one day we could all be able to discuss each other's music without prejudice. I know you can hear them online but we all know that radio has more coverage than any other medium. Do we have to wait on a record label to market the music region wide? What do you think? |
Phuck arf nuh man!!
Credits: 1,672
People been doing this for years, now. Good ting Alex Jordan took over from the last one on BBC 1xtra, he was biased, more than biased, there are also other biased DJs in the UK but I cant be bothed to list all of them.
Credits: 2,914
Like ya beatin a dead horse.
#1 Yes, we know it would be nice for DJ's to be more diverse. #2 You do realize how difficult it is to obtain some of the other islands music? #3 There is approx 400 new tunes in Bim right now..Not sure the count for Vincy or Antigua...But that's a lot of music to sift through to weed out the shite tunes. It's not easy for every DJ to take the time to listen to everything. I find more DJ's are being open to other music if the communication is there to obtain the music. I can talk to DJ 'A' and tell him check these 10-15 tunes from Bim & these 10-15 tunes from Vincy. DJ 'B' might be from those islands, and I can say ok, check these 10-15 Trini tunes or wherever. But DJ's often need a push to hear music they aren't familiar with. |
SupaCalaFragilistik
Credits: 140
What are these islands doing to promote their music? Do they make the effort to get it to the radio stations or to these DJs? I know for sure that music coming out of St. Lucia has zero promotion outside of the Lucian community. So if I aint hear it in a party or on the radio I know it's not the DJ fault
I'm so sick of this argument and the belly aching about not hearing one's music playing by others. |
Keep the faith in jah.
Credits: 388
bun badmind.
Last edited by TROPICAL_MOVEMENT"S; 07-05-2006 at 10:33 PM.. |
Credits: 2,914
Credits: 2,966
Well Living in London England coming from a Grenadian Prospective we don't hear a LOT of the music from our island and we r not properly represented in London but dat is about 2 change Socaholic taking the culture further!!!!!!!!!!
Credits: 198
What I think?? I think you make ah damn good point here!!! YOu are right and while I understand that we all are biased towards our home grown artistes, we should definitely show plenty more appreciationn for material and artistes that come from other islands throughout the region. |
Credits: 2,477
But I think those southern islands do play our (leeward) music but its more selective to the point its almost neglible, in terms of carnival. Djs, especially those in the states and elsewhere overseas, in some cases it might be like asking a leopard to change its spots...we will be long dead before it happens from what we have now. Last edited by BFFan; 07-05-2006 at 09:32 PM.. |
Gajo Fresco
Credits: 1,174
As 'Wadadlian Defoe' mentioned Alex Jordan's name, She is LIVING PROOF that this can be accomplished. Alex CONSISTENTLY plays music from ALL of the island. I know she has a wider 'outlet' for access to the music (because she is on BBC), but if other DJ's try hard enough, it can be done. If DJ'ing is thier life, why go HALF-ASS on it and disappoint fans from 'other countries'? ![]() |
#11 (permalink) | ||
Phuck arf nuh man!!
Crazy Person. Good Luck though
Maybe we should start the Alex Jordan appreciation thread, lol |
||
Phuck arf nuh man!!
![]() 1) anything new from ms hinds 2) how much percentage of them 400 tunes are decent? |
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ
Credits: 23,862
Well, I say the same thing all the time. But I think, as a DJ...your whole focus is to get the crowd real hype. So if they're used to playing for a certain crowd then they're gonna play what that crowd is used to hearing.
Now I've been to different parties with different DJ's and I tell you, I can sing every song back to back as they play it...because I know the damn line up and the way they mix it,....which really sucks, and this happens even on the radio! My solution, I've Stopped going to certain parties where DJ's play the same shit over and over! My Suggestion to the DJ's I know damn well that some DJ's don't purchase EVERY SINGLE CD they own.......my advice, use your computer and use it wisely!
Gajo Fresco
Credits: 1,174

Crazy Person. Good Luck though

1) anything new from ms hinds 2) how much percentage of them 400 tunes are decent?