i would definitely like to know why caribana is so close to crop over. i heard is de trinis that invent it and i say to meself no wonder. if people want representation from different islands that carnival shouldnt be clashin with de barbados' crop over. i read the review by savoursoca who said that alison was stale, and a next person who said alison was tired. she said before she left on the radio that she will be goin there, i think the ame day or somethin, and she had to get back fuh euphoria in barbados which was sunday after caribana day, which it will be very hectic fuh she. no wonder de trinis does rule caribana cause it mek fuh them and them only, before i go on writin i would like to hear about caribana and its closeness to barbados' crop over festival. cause i will like to see more representation by de bajan artistes down there in toronto. i will get back with more.
Credits: 3,855
I guess the trinis invented labor day being close to LI carnival too. and Orlando carnival being close to ATL carnival and Trini Carnival being close to Brazil carnival and Mardi Gras... what the hell were they thinking.
![]() Last edited by Dougla Ting; 08-04-2005 at 12:17 PM.. |
WAT WERE THEY THINKIN? DEM WANT EVERYTHIN FUH THEMSELVES. I STILL WONDER Y DEM PUT IS SO CLOSE TO CROP OVER. THEM ARTISTES CANT LEFT TNT TO GO NOWHERE CAUSE IS THEM CARNIVAL BUT THEM DOES WANT OTHERS TO LEAVE THEIRS DURIN THEM FESTIVAL. I WAITIN TO HEAR FROM OTHERS BEFORE I CONTINUE MY WRITIN. SO WHEN I HEAR THAT TRINIS DOES TEK DE ROADMARCH AT CARIBANA, I COULD NOW SAY TO MESELF ONLY OBVIOUS, IS ONLY THEM THAT COMPETIN FUH DE ROADMARCH TITLE? IT IS RIGHT BETWEEN OF CROP OVER ACTUALLY IN THE LAST WEEK OF CROP OVER THERE IS ALSO CARIBANA. |
Credits: 933
Why did B'dos make it's carnival the same weekend as Antigua? ANU has been celebrating carnival much longer then B'dos. Did you ever think about that? Maybe B'dos is outta-timing, and maybe B'dos is to blame for the clash of events. Stop pelting stone to cause conflict. |
Credits: 39,075
![]() You does think before yuh open yuh mouth? |
As for the roadmarch talk, what about the year Rupee swept North America, Toronto included. As for the music, you guys are not in a hurry to release songs to int'l djs any time soon, and by the time you do, it'll be too cold to jump up in Canada. Last edited by deoriginalrudeboy; 08-04-2005 at 12:37 PM.. |
You even bothering tuh argue with he? Boy doh waste yuh time eh! |
Credits: 3,855
de mods just need to go ahead and lock dis post one time... one pack ah pure fackery.
antigua has nuffin to do with it, i am referrin to an international festival where caribbean peolpe r gathered from all over de caribbean. i know rupee took caribana,i dont know his whereabotus at de time but please tell me was he in toronto or barbados at that time? any other persons besides trinis that does tek de roadmarch title? and fuh an asshole like toppa toppa, wat de hell u replied for? u just tek a space that somebody with some blasted sense could write in there.
Hello, yuh care tuh take ah poll on who de arsehole in dis post is? Cause ah sure you go take de title by a landslide. Caribana was designed for people of Caribbean descent living in Canada, Crop over is in Barbados. If the Bajan artistes feel the need to go to Caribana to perform then that is their prerogative, they are not obigated in any way. But of course a way must be found to blame the Trinis. Trinidad is the all-purpose scape-goat in Soca chat. |
Yes, I See Ur Point, But There R Bajans In Canada Who Would Love To See Their Own People Performin, The Artistes Dont Want To Leave Here Cause They Already Have Their Obligations Fuh The Fetes And Events Etc. So If Bajans R Too Travel With Bein So Much In A Rush Rush Thin Then We Should Have Time. Vincymas Finish Already So Them Got Time To Get Down There. No Need Fuh Cross Talk, All I Wanted To Know Is Y Is It In Crop Over's Calender? How Would Tnt Feel If Labour Day Was In February? And If A Lot Of Trinis Were Livin In Brazil, Cause I Hear Brazil Carnival And Wanna Carnival Round De Same Time, How Would U All Get To Perform Fuh Ya Own People And Still Be At Carnival De Same Time.
Yeah well we solve that grave dilema by having a mass exodus of Trini nationals returning home for the Carnival season. Whoever remained could ketch some other Carnival somewhere or go home next year. Dise all. |
My last attempt.
Cropover is celebrated from June-August.........Yes/No Music isn't being released until 3 weeks before Kadooment day........Yes/No Let's say Caribana moved earlier, would that solve the problem, of the lack of new Bajan music........Yes/No Let's say it moved later, would it clash with Boston........Yes/No Would it clash with Labor Day..........Yes/No After that, would it not be too cold..........Yes/No If non-familiar Bajan acts were to come to Canada, and lets say their song is mashing up, due to lack of distribution, would the audience in Toronto be receptive to these songs...............Yes/No For the most part, it will take the whole of August for people abroad to really get the crop over feel. Even with the new music, a lot of Bajan music will still get disregarded, due to lack of distribution. Only selective tunes will be played. With that reason, 2k5 Bajan soca will be played for 2k6 Caribana. No Trini will expect a Trini artist to leave Trinidad during the height of the season. First off, unlike B'dos, the Trinidad fete schedule is more hectic. More fetes are scheduled, where artists are performing up to 10 shows a night, hence the reason why many foreign acts come to Trinidad. It is great exposure, and a great source of revenue. There is no time to go abroad, and that is understandable. You cannot compare apples and oranges. |
Daddy Cease in deh area
Credits: 5,182
I could be wrong, but I've always been under the impression that all these Carnivals are scheduled around the same time (first Monday in August) to celebrate Emancipation Day.
Antigua, Toronto, BVI, Nevis, Grenada, etc.....all have carnival around the same time. In Toronto, I really do not think it has anything to do with Trinis choosing that date. Yeah, it would be nice to have artists from these islands at Caribana, but that's just how it happened to work out. Also, I'm sure that there is plenty of Bajans in Toront who cannot make it home to Bim for Cropover..... |

WAT WERE THEY THINKIN? DEM WANT EVERYTHIN FUH THEMSELVES. I STILL WONDER Y DEM PUT IS SO CLOSE TO CROP OVER. THEM ARTISTES CANT LEFT TNT TO GO NOWHERE CAUSE IS THEM CARNIVAL BUT THEM DOES WANT OTHERS TO LEAVE THEIRS DURIN THEM FESTIVAL. I WAITIN TO HEAR FROM OTHERS BEFORE I CONTINUE MY WRITIN. SO WHEN I HEAR THAT TRINIS DOES TEK DE ROADMARCH AT CARIBANA, I COULD NOW SAY TO MESELF ONLY OBVIOUS, IS ONLY THEM THAT COMPETIN FUH DE ROADMARCH TITLE? IT IS RIGHT BETWEEN OF CROP OVER ACTUALLY IN THE LAST WEEK OF CROP OVER THERE IS ALSO CARIBANA.