Old 02-23-2009, 10:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,707
Is calypso dead in Trinidad???

where are the calypso threads??? 1000 and one threads on the soca...but not one on the art form that spawned it.

did see any topics about calypso? who enetered who won? what were the big tunes?
Old 02-23-2009, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 3,246
Exclamation

Originally Posted by stargate View Post
where are the calypso threads??? 1000 and one threads on the soca...but not one on the art form that spawned it.

did see any topics about calypso? who enetered who won? what were the big tunes?
It on life support

But there is a preference by the judges for the old guys whose music and form people in my circles cant identify wih
Still some good calpsoes but the normal evolution and handing down is resisted
Brian London should have won IMO
Old 02-23-2009, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 14,231
who won calypso monarch?
Old 02-23-2009, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 17,060
I believe Chalkdust did. I like Tigress.
Old 02-23-2009, 10:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,265
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post

Yes he did win, but Tigress should've won. She make Manning fart, so that was ah no no.
Old 02-23-2009, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 14,231
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
what did she place?
Old 02-23-2009, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
Chalkieeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Old 02-23-2009, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
el n00ño

Credits: 14,979

I was just thinking about that while watching soca monarch this weekend.
People don't care. Just go to a calypso event - legend-filled lineup and it still won't get good crowds.
Old 02-23-2009, 11:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 36,008

did see any topics about calypso? who entered who won? what were the big tunes?
Since it had members posting in Trinibob Dimache Gras thread it clear it have fans of Calypso.... somehow threads not getting created. ken_yatta did some nice ones. There was a Calypso fiesta thread. But that is all

As for the artform well I saw Megan and this young male Calypsonian who sang before the competitors sang and it is safe to say calypso not dead. Good performances and message they made me feel proud. We have Calypso tents, schools competitions and other competitions and on some stations in Trinidad you can hear good calypso from both the up and coming calypsonians and veterans.
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 02-23-2009, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by n00ner View Post
I was just thinking about that while watching soca monarch this weekend.
People don't care. Just go to a calypso event - legend-filled lineup and it still won't get good crowds.

Some people don't realize how beneficial and informative good kaiso... good calypso is. Most make yuh think. Say yuh know that calypsonian right is really a ghetto of the mind (Singing Sandra)... or really and truly as a woman ... (Megan). Man or woman should not live by wine and jam alone.... even if is once in a while people should take in Calypso. Many Caribbean people and some members were not exposed to it growing up so they cyah really see they self taking it in. I hope when they cyah wine no more they will start listening to it.

Since I love my brass and live music it is sweet to hear the calypsonians sing accompanied by the music and most times give a message in the music with lil melodic sounds in between.... like debe debe doy doy doy.... or like how someone does say: 'ah tell yuh'
``
Old 02-23-2009, 11:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,265
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Some people don't realize how beneficial and informative good kaiso... good calypso is. Most make yuh think. Say yuh know that calypsonian right is really a ghetto of the mind (Singing Sandra)... or really and truly as a woman ... (Megan). Man or woman should not live by wine and jam alone.... even if is once in a while people should take in Calypso. Many Caribbean people and some members were not exposed to it growing up so they cyah really see they self taking it in. I hope when they cyah wine no more they will start listening to it.

Since I love my brass and live music it is sweet to hear the calypsonians sing accompanied by the music and most times give a message in the music with lil melodic sounds in between.... like debe debe doy doy doy.... or like how someone does say: 'ah tell yuh'

We (west indians) are not immune to the cultural ills of society. There is good hip hop, but what gets played on the radio and pressed into our minds. Not Fight the Power (I know it's not current) but I got hoes in different area codes.
Old 02-23-2009, 11:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
We (west indians) are not immune to the cultural ills of society. There is good hip hop, but what gets played on the radio and pressed into our minds. Not Fight the Power (I know it's not current) but I got hoes in different area codes.
Exactly!!!
``
Old 02-24-2009, 12:27 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 2,796

I like to hope is not, I grew up wid it, still enjoy listening to it. I would like to see more threads on it. I support Chalkdust's efforts to keep it alive.
Old 02-24-2009, 02:01 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
They rather listen conciouce reggae and then say we music aint have no message,all them wannabe trini reggae singers should know that a message is a message.
Old 02-24-2009, 09:26 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 5,065
I was about to make a similar thread asking the same thing as an outsider with imix as my medium to trini carnival I was about to ask if they still make calypso in trini..

In d/a calypso is de biggest thing come carnival time although nowadays dey start a soca monarch and I hear talks about moving carnival... I hope de intentions is not to invest in dat ______ competition...
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”