islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree3Likes

Old 02-21-2012, 02:12 PM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 2,924
P.Y.F is a better Road song than Fay ann and Iwer song.
Old 02-21-2012, 02:27 PM   #32 (permalink)

Credits: 3,527
Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
I normally DJ on the road and I can tell you that the DJ if he wants to keep his job with a good band has no choice but to play what the masqueraders what to hear!
The bandleader if he wants to keep his band members happy and coming back to his band to play mas again next year has no choice but to order his DJ to play whatever the masquerders have requested.

That's how it goes in all the top mas bands that wish to keep their masqueraders happy and coming back!
Hmmm, Ive played mas probably over forty times in bands from all over North America and the Caribbean and never once have I been asked what I wanted to hear and have never seen a poll taken.

I can only conclude it must be probably a small select group of mas band insiders that are making the requests for a specific tune.
Old 02-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 642,436
Originally Posted by Rhythmwize View Post
Hmmm, Ive played mas probably over forty times in bands from all over North America and the Caribbean and never once have I been asked what I wanted to hear and have never seen a poll taken.

I can only conclude it must be probably a small select group of mas band insiders that are making the requests for a specific tune.
Do study he an da shit talk lol. Big bands have zero fear that they eh go make next year because they arrogant like that. And like you rythmwize, I never heard of any poll being done either so bess believe the DJ has ultimate control. Band leaders will say what make sense to say when the camera on. When camera off dem eh ha dat to study caw dey feel secure dat dey band will selloff again nex year. So as long as de DJ eh playin excessive amounts ah tata nobody eh sweatin dem.

I distubin de peace, I gettin on like ah beast!!!
Lave no evidence. DESTROY EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING!!!!!

Old 02-21-2012, 03:31 PM   #34 (permalink)

Credits: 41,208
Originally Posted by Problemjaydeess View Post
u is a fool or what? Inna band, Making Up, Make Room, Misbehave and Jab no pain are all betta songs than Machel.
Old 02-21-2012, 05:24 PM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 13,728
Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
Especially Hypa Hoppy. At pan semis dude was acting like he wanted to go home wid HD. lol
Hoppy izza GROUPIE! that nigga jus like attention

Originally Posted by Problemjaydeess View Post
I AGREE...as much as I hate it. I'm just disgusted all around by the roadmarch race...there are at least 3 other tunes released this yr that are much better fuh d road than the current contenders. It's more a popularity race ...overshadowed by the artists themselves rather than the "road-worthiness" of the actual song...steups
Old 02-21-2012, 06:57 PM   #36 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,126
Originally Posted by prplheart View Post

I AGREE...as much as I hate it. I'm just disgusted all around by the roadmarch race...there are at least 3 other tunes released this yr that are much better fuh d road than the current contenders. It's more a popularity race ...overshadowed by the artists themselves rather than the "road-worthiness" of the actual song...steups
You may have a point there!

I was liking Farmer Nappy's "Pressure" for the road but that great tune got quickly left behind in the dust by Machel, Fay-Ann & Iwer!

Notice those 3 artists are much more popular than Farmer especially for producing big power tunes!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-21-2012, 07:16 PM   #37 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,701
Originally Posted by prplheart View Post

I been watching the QPS feed pretty much whole day; and I haven't/didn't hear Kerwin Gimme Room atall.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-21-2012, 07:30 PM   #38 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,126
Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
I been watching the QPS feed pretty much whole day; and I haven't/didn't hear Kerwin Gimme Room atall.
That’s partly Kerwin's fault because he pulled out from the Power Soca Monarch with "Make Room" when he could have been pushing that tune as a RM contender!
Kerwin needs to be a bit more ambitious like Machel and try to win everything when he has the material to do so!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-21-2012, 10:50 PM   #39 (permalink)
Temporary Suspension

Credits: 125,241
So who got RM?
Old 02-21-2012, 10:57 PM   #40 (permalink)
IMIX BACCHANALIST

Credits: 463,031
Originally Posted by Nevergood View Post
So who got RM?
Machel

Affairs of the heart
Together we've grown
If ever apart
All I want you to know
Is your love is life changing
And I couldn't be the same without you dahling
Your love is life saving