Old 01-30-2007, 10:08 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 1,128
I thought I was the only one who noticed that they doan have nothing on dvd... the most I've seen is someone's cell phone recording....

Dem choopid cuz dem coudla mek so much rass money fi dat... Oh well....

I love Jam Band too... I guess I will get one ah dem singting den....
Old 01-30-2007, 11:24 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 23,359
Originally Posted by Tha Fugitive View Post
No i never bothered to ask them cause one time I asked Oungku them for some old music i could not get hold of an Oungku say some hurricane dash way all i think this was in 1999.. But u can try still
maybe u might have this already, but if u lookin for old music, u could get this cd.....http://sensay.com/shopsite_sc/store/...otflames1.html

Originally Posted by Persia View Post
I thought I was the only one who noticed that they doan have nothing on dvd... the most I've seen is someone's cell phone recording....

Dem choopid cuz dem coudla mek so much rass money fi dat... Oh well....

I love Jam Band too... I guess I will get one ah dem singting den....
but if u think about ain't that much soca artists that have dvds, the only person I can think of that had dvd is Machel, everythin else is videos that fans made, or maybe a Soca Monarch video
Old 01-30-2007, 11:38 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 6,297
Originally Posted by cease10 View Post
maybe u might have this already, but if u lookin for old music, u could get this cd.....http://sensay.com/shopsite_sc/store/...otflames1.html

but if u think about ain't that much soca artists that have dvds, the only person I can think of that had dvd is Machel, everythin else is videos that fans made, or maybe a Soca Monarch video
exactly. and it aint like Flames have that many videos. not new ones anyway. If they put out a dvd of them performin in say Lions, how much money will they make from that? hmmm... keep in mind the Lions Live Cd fiasco
Old 01-30-2007, 11:41 AM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 1,128
[QUOTE=yanktiguan;2334363]exactly. and it aint like Flames have that many videos. not new ones anyway. If they put out a dvd of them performin in say Lions, how much money will they make from that? hmmm... keep in mind the Lions Live Cd fiasco[/QUOTE

Yuh doan tink dem woulda mek money fram it?
Old 01-30-2007, 11:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
DI GENERAL

Credits: 82,083
No i never bothered to ask them cause one time I asked Oungku them for some old music i could not get hold of an Oungku say some hurricane dash way all i think this was in 1999.. But u can try still
Old 01-30-2007, 11:48 AM   #21 (permalink)

Originally Posted by yanktiguan View Post
exactly. and it aint like Flames have that many videos. not new ones anyway. If they put out a dvd of them performin in say Lions, how much money will they make from that? hmmm... keep in mind the Lions Live Cd fiasco
what's the story behind that? I've never really heard it.

no cause people woulda bootleg that like crazy, they would more than likely lose money or just break even
Old 01-30-2007, 11:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 6,297

actually, no.

no cause people woulda bootleg that like crazy, they would more than likely lose money or just break even
go listen to the song.
Old 01-30-2007, 11:56 AM   #23 (permalink)

actually, no.

go listen to the song.
all I kno is the chorus....."Gimme one copy, I want one copy, gimme one copy of deh Live cd.....Lions, Lions, Lions is on fyah, we don't need no water let deh motherphacker burn....."
Old 01-30-2007, 12:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
Debble

Credits: 7,648

They wouldn't even break even. Unless you find a way to seriously copy protect it. Hhmmmmmm.

Videotaping is something that I always wanted to do for some of my events. Well we'll see if the artists are willing to sign release forms for them.

After all it is considered intellectual property.
Old 01-30-2007, 01:31 PM   #25 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 30,897
[QUOTE=Persia;2334378]
exactly. and it aint like Flames have that many videos. not new ones anyway. If they put out a dvd of them performin in say Lions, how much money will they make from that? hmmm... keep in mind the Lions Live Cd fiasco[/QUOTE

Of course he would...I think Flames fan base even greater than JamBand...maybe it would not sell in Antigua but other places they would...you know how much people does play live music in the cars around town....Oungku just need to let a good camera man record his dances man....people will still come jam session

People just have to welcome change and try something new to see if it works before automatically assuming it wont work.
Old 01-30-2007, 01:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Paradise!

Originally Posted by benjie View Post
They wouldn't even break even. Unless you find a way to seriously copy protect it. Hhmmmmmm.

Videotaping is something that I always wanted to do for some of my events. Well we'll see if the artists are willing to sign release forms for them.

After all it is considered intellectual property.
Try something boss and get it professionally done with all the works...there are still those of us fans that willing to buy good original stuff not bootleg
Old 01-30-2007, 01:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
Debble

[QUOTE=Tha Fugitive;2334818]

Of course he would...I think Flames fan base even greater than JamBand...maybe it would not sell in Antigua but other places they would...you know how much people does play live music in the cars around town....Oungku just need to let a good camera man record his dances man....people will still come jam session

People just have to welcome change and try something new to see if it works before automatically assuming it wont work.
If most soca artists aren't even recouping their investment on cd's, why would you think they would recoupe it on a video?

Bootleggers run rampant in soca and you know it as well as I do.

I personally like the idea and i would purchase put I think I am in the minority. While there are a lot of people that would like to see it, I am unsure of how many would actually support by purchasing instead of copying.
Old 01-30-2007, 01:39 PM   #28 (permalink)
Debble

Try something boss and get it professionally done with all the works...there are still those of us fans that willing to buy good original stuff not bootleg
I am contemplating for the next show that I do. I just don't know if the end justifies the means. I guess I have to really evaluate the production budget and weigh it out.

Regarding my last comment in other post, I think it's just fustration I have when I see people cry up and down how they love an artist but won't support them but will support a reggae artist or american artists.
Old 01-30-2007, 01:39 PM   #29 (permalink)
Paradise!

[QUOTE=benjie;2334830]

If most soca artists aren't even recouping their investment on cd's, why would you think they would recoupe it on a video?

Bootleggers run rampant in soca and you know it as well as I do.

I personally like the idea and i would purchase put I think I am in the minority. While there are a lot of people that would like to see it, I am unsure of how many would actually support by purchasing instead of copying.
Maybe too u can look at the quantity you want to produce or make orders before the product is made...but i totally understand the bootleg business...Trinidad is the worse i have seen so far
Old 01-30-2007, 01:43 PM   #30 (permalink)
Paradise!

Originally Posted by benjie View Post
I am contemplating for the next show that I do. I just don't know if the end justifies the means. I guess I have to really evaluate the production budget and weigh it out.

Regarding my last comment in other post, I think it's just fustration I have when I see people cry up and down how they love an artist but won't support them but will support a reggae artist or american artists.
Well believe me I have Never bought a bootleg CD yet...I like the original cause I like to read the covers and inserts...
I particularly love what them Brothers did for Antigua and our small islands that love them that why I want to see their product out there...they are much more talented than a lot of people know