Old 02-11-2006, 11:20 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 186,217
The British Invasion

Saturday 11th February, 2006
T'dad Guardian
British soca acts
By Adrian Boodan

British recording artistes Kelly and The Evn paid
a visit to the Guardian’s Chaguanas Bureau on
January 31. They were also in the busy Central
borough to check out the scenes in Chaguanas.

Kelly has been hitting the local stages with her
song Show Me the Money and recently gave a
stunning performance at Guaracara Park before a massive crowd.

She is signed to CAP records not only for her
singing ability but also for her skills as a dancer.

Kelly was born Telani Freewoman in Southampton, UK, in 1985.

Relaxing at Guardian’s Central office, Kelly said
Show Me the Money was a song that advises women
who go out with men—“blokes,” as she said—to put
their money where their mouths are.

Kelly said this was her first time in Trinidad
and she was eagerly looking forward to going to
Tobago, where she hopefully would get some tropical sun and work on her tan.

The leggy performer has toured the world with the
English pop duo Right Said Fred. On the local
scene she is planning to work with chutney star
Neeshan “The Hitman” Prabhoo, who shot to fame
with the song More Rum For Me in 2005; that song
had the infectious lines, “Listen, Mr Shankar, I
ent want your daughter, you doing me a favour, more rum for me.”

The Evn is made up of brothers Jonathan and Sam
Brewer, who also hail from Southampton. They are
also signed to CAP Records International, an
independent label with representation in Trinidad.

The Evn’s style of music falls into the pop genre
and they are experimenting with soca.

Jonathan and Sam, who have been to T&T four times
before, were hoping to show Kelly some sunny
weather but are disappointed by the unusually rainy dry season.

The Evn secured a top-20 spot in Europe with
their first release in April 2005, It’s You. It
charted in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Spain,
Greece and Estonia, they said. Their second
single, Summer’s Here, topped the charts in
Estonia. The duo has toured Europe extensively
and hopes to go on a US tour in the near future.

The Evn, whose music is influenced by Rupee and
Kevin Lyttle, have recorded two soca tracks,
Happily Ever After and Trini Woman. The lads said
Trini Woman had special meaning to them because
of all the beautiful women on the island. Both
tracks were recorded in England with mixes done
in T&T at Junior Ibo’s studio and were produced
by Junior Ibo and Clyde Ward, co-owners of CAP Records.

Both acts arrived early in January and plan to stay until March.

They expect to perform at various shows and said
they would be playing mas on Carnival Monday and
Tuesday with the big band Poison.

Kelly and The Evn said they were only treated
with the greatest of hospitality and kindness wherever they went in T&T.
Old 02-11-2006, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 7,331
Yuh eh see de other article with de Australians.....