Old 09-24-2003, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 63
Black Stalin Turns 62

THE BLACK STALIN AT 62

BIGDRUMNATION salutes the BLACK STALIN
on the occasion of his 62nd birthday anniversary.
Leroy Calliste, the Black Stalin, was born in San
Fernando, to Grenadian -born parents- on
September 24,1941.After quitting the San Fernando
Boys' Roman Catholic School in 1957 Leroy worked
as a tally clerk at the Pointe a Pierre docks, while
moonlighting as a limbo dancer.

Leroy took up calypso singing in 1958 and his savvy
generalship of the artform made quite a sharp impression
on very many calypso veterans of the day.Indeed, it was one
of those veterans,Lord Blakie, who named Leroy the "Black Stalin
of Calypso".The name stuck.

Stalin joined the Southern Calyso Brigade in 1962 and
five years later he went North to hook up one of his mentors,
Lord Kitchener,at Kitch's Calypso Revue.During his outstanding
tenure as Kitch's MC, the Black Stalin conferred on Brother
Valentino ( Emrold Phillip) the title of "people's calypsonian".
Back in the seventies and and early eighties Stalin and Valentino,
self-styled "blood brothers", were inseparable. The two men
worked as "one mind" for "Caribbean unity and Caribbean liberation".

In the name of Caribbean unity and Caribbean liberation,
Stalin and Valentino led a Trinidad and Tobago cultural
contingent to Grenada in 1980 to celebrate the first anniversary
of the People's Revolution.The T & T contingent included ace
saxophonist Roy Cape (of Roy Cape and the All Stars) and
calypsonian "Gypsy" ( Winston Peters). Both Gypsy and Roy
have solid Grenadian roots: Roy's roots are in the Grenville area
and Gypsy's in Paraclete.

Twenty-three years have passed, but today I can still remember
how the Gypsy set Hillsborough (Carriacou) ablaze
with his volcanic rendition of "I Am a Warrior; I'm a Fighter".
But I must not get carried away; we must go back to the
man of the hour.

Stalin served as Kitch's MC from 1968 until 1978.He "leggo
the wuk" after coming to the conclusion that it was interfering
with his ability to perform as well as he could . He was right,
for one year later the Black Stalin ran away with the Trinidad
and Tobago Calypso Monarch title. His winning songs were
"The Caribbean Man" and "Tribute to Winston"Spree" Simon".
Spree Simon was one of the inventors of the pan and the
founding skipper of Destination Tokyo ( Carib Tokyo) Steel
Orchestra.

Stalin would win the Monarch title again in 1985
("Ism Schism"/ "Wait Dorothy Wait" ); in 1987
("Mr Panmaker"/"Bun Them");in 1991
("Black Man Feeling to Party" /"Look on the Bright Side"; and
in 1995 ("In Time" /"Tribute to Sundar Popo".

Black Stalin is truly one of the living icons of calypso.

Long live the Black Stalin!

Tune of the day
Old 09-24-2003, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 295
Big up Black Stalin, one of my favorite calypsonians. "Tonight de black man feeling to parday!"
Old 09-24-2003, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,133
Just the other day we were trying to figure out how old the man is! LARGE UP BLACK STALIN, one of our living legends.
Old 09-24-2003, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
da sweet one

Credits: 1,072
nuff respect to Black Stalin... ah hope "tnite de black man feelin to party" :p .. Happy bday
Old 09-24-2003, 12:43 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 4,286
Happy B-Day Black Stalin!!!

"Hail. hail, hail Mr. Panmaker!"
Old 09-24-2003, 12:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Solidarity

A true fyah man

Yes, happy birthday Mr. Stalin...keep blazin!
Old 09-24-2003, 01:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

tonight de black man just feel to boogie woogie.

BRAXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

happy bday......
Old 09-24-2003, 01:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
It's ah"G&amp ;amp;amp ;quot; thing

Credits: 107
Happy Birthday Black Stalin.
Old 09-24-2003, 01:35 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 4,538
BLACK STALIN, HAPPY BIRTHDAY lova man!!!

Thanks frontlinez for the reminder!!!

Caribbean Unity is a sweet chune fuh so!!

One race (de Caribbean man)
From de same place (de Caribbean man)
Dat make de same trip (de Caribbean man)
On de same ship (de Caribbean man)
So we must push one common intention
Is for a better life in de region
For we woman, and we children
Dat must be de ambition of de Caribbean man
De Caribbean man, de Caribbean man

And you can't forget: BUN DEM *thanks to a certain Jamaican Imixer!!*
(This is my time for burning) I burning, and I burning, and I burning
(Peter keep de fire blazing) Blazing, blazing, blazing, blazing
(This is Jah time for burning) I burning, and I burning, and I burning
(Peter Keep de fire coming)
Old 09-24-2003, 06:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA de Soca_gal

Credits: 160
HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY B DAY STALIN!!!!!!

God Bless..may u live to celebrate many more!

Old 09-24-2003, 08:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Credits: 209
happy birthday sir, thank you for your music that you have blessed us with over the years. May your voice and music continue to bring consiousness to our hearts and minds about the necessity of a united caribbean people.
blessings and peace.
Old 09-24-2003, 08:49 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,477
DAMN HE THAT OLD!

THAT RASTAMAN DIET DOES DO WONDERS AFTER ALL!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BLACK STALIN!