View Poll Results: Which Fete Would Be Better
Da Dancehall Ting Roti, whah yuh ah chat for 1 4.76%
De Soca Fete boss, dah goh mash up....PRESSHAAAAH... 20 95.24%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Old 02-14-2005, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,990
Big Fete/concert Battle: Dancehall Vs Soca

Which would be better?

The soca fete artists are Machel and Xtatik, Krosfyah, Burning Flames, Bunji Garlin, Rupee, Maximus Dan, Shurwayne Winchester, Destra, Fay Ann, Iwer George, David Rudder, Kevin Lyttle, Jamesy P, Alison Hinds and Square 1, and Dawgie Slaughter

The dancehall artists are Beenie Man, Sizzla, Vybez Kartel, Bounty Killer, Buju Banton, Capleton, Elephant Man, I Wayne, Sanchez, Luciano, Richie Spice, Cobra, Spragga Benz, Lady Saw, and Tanya Stephens, all backed by Ruff Kut.

Party Held in Floyd Bennett Field (open field, it's 70 degrees and sunny). Which would have more vibes and be better overall???

ALL ACTS APPEAR AND ARE ON TIME AND BABYLON DOES NOT CARE ABOUT WHAT TIME THEY SHOW ENDS.

My vote is…well…you know what it is, but I'll post later. Let's see how it go here with the present state of reggae.

Last edited by RotiKing2004eva; 02-14-2005 at 03:16 PM..
Old 02-14-2005, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,424
Oh boy...here we go...why yuh eh put this in backchat
Old 02-14-2005, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

cuz i'm interested in seeing what people would think is better on the soca board...i put it on dhr already...
Old 02-14-2005, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,707
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
cuz i'm interested in seeing what people would think is better on the soca board...i put it on dhr already...
i was just going to comment you have it in dhr already...lol!!

what happen...too much people over there are anti-soca and a bun out the soca vibes??...lol
Old 02-14-2005, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,901
Of course most of us on imix would prefer the soca. Kinda like asking which is better..Insomnia or Sumfest. Your lineup of soca individuals sucks though. Not that they aren't entertaining, but aside from Krosfyah & Flames...don't you have a lot of those artistes performing all the time at things like Brass & Glow? The lineup of reggae artiste is like VP anniversary or this one reggae show they have here every year. Neither seems special. 2 different crowds...so you can't compare really.
Old 02-14-2005, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by stargate
i was just going to comment you have it in dhr already...lol!!

what happen...too much people over there are anti-soca and a bun out the soca vibes??...lol
nah it wasn't that anti-soca as it's been in the past. that board is very dead anyway, much like the state of a lot of reggae that i'm hearing now or in the past year. A lot of people didn't vote, but it was like 8 reggae to 5 soca, overall from posts it was like 30-15 or something like that. It's weird cuz reggae ain't mashin up as much as it has been in the past in my opinion, cuz it went too much into dancing, and soca got more popular. if i posted in 1999 soca would have gotten blown away probably, but soca gettin much more respect.
Old 02-14-2005, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummacita
Of course most of us on imix would prefer the soca. Kinda like asking which is better..Insomnia or Sumfest. Your lineup of soca individuals sucks though. Not that they aren't entertaining, but aside from Krosfyah & Flames...don't you have a lot of those artistes performing all the time at things like Brass & Glow? The lineup of reggae artiste is like VP anniversary or this one reggae show they have here every year. Neither seems special. 2 different crowds...so you can't compare really.
i just put my personal 'best of the best' in both respective genre's.
Old 02-14-2005, 04:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,707
Originally Posted by Rummacita
i agree ....tek out elephant man and vybes kartel outta dat ...and add luciano and morgan heritage...

and for the soca part...have all those artists backed by burning flames...is den you a go have a show...all those artists singing thier songs on burning flames riddims...my god!! i cant even comprehend!!!