UPaNddownLiKeAbAlL
Credits: 250
between the islands....
if u had to group similarities in soca texture, how would you. in other words how would you group say tnt and bim together as the most alike or greenz and slu?
just curious? ![]() |
Credits: 140,829
It doesn't MATTER which PRODUCER it is....VINCY MUSIC has a FEEL to it that, IMO, is DIFFERENT from the other ISLANDS. The FIRST thing I LOOK for in MOST VINCY songs is the BASS. Most VINCY SONGS are BASS DRIVEN. The BASS, DRUMS and the KEYBOARD are CENTRAL in MOST VINCY MUSIC....and so too, in many instances, are the percussion instruments and the ELECTRIC GUITAR. I am sure that other ISLANDS can PROBABLY make that DISTINCTION too. However, there is a FEEL.....a UNIQUE FEEL that I can HEAR in a VINCY SONG that is not OBVIOUS in songs from other islands. VINCY MUSIC always have that INNOVATIVE FEEL about it. It has CONSISTENTLY been that way for DECADES. Over the DECADES, the one CENTRAL CONSTANT in the musical arrangement of VINCY MUSIC has always been the BASSLINE. Of course, others might also say the KEYBOARD. |
I was GOING to make a THREAD about "CAN YOU TELL WHEN A SONG is LIKELY COMING from a PARTICULAR ISLAND just BY LISTENING to the MUSICAL PRODUCTION," but I decided that this thread is very much appropriate for this type of dialogue.
Well, I said that VINCY MUSIC is always on the CUTTING EDGE of the INDUSTRY.....our music always sounding INNOVATIVE and DIFFERENT from the REST or most SOCA NATIONS. It is only LATELY I have seen, in some INSTANCES, of others COPYING our STYLE. Yes, I said it....COPYING our STYLE. There is NOTHING wrong with that....it is only GIVING us PROPS, RESPECT and APPRECIATION for our CONSISTENT STYLE and SOUND. Since I have TIME tonight (well, all night TONIGHT ![]() ), ley me START making the CASE of what I am REFERRING to. |
For INSTANT, when I heard this song dropped, I NEVER ONCE HESITATED that it came from any PRODUCER but a VINCY.
If you LISTEN to the INTRO (WICKED), the producer has the BEAT PUMPING and then he just BUSS/DROP the BASSLINE on U. That is CLASSIC VINCY right there. If you listen to the sound/song, it is not just a WINING song....you can DANCE to it....U can JAM to it....you can CREATE your own STYLE of DANCING. In other words, the PRODUCTION gives U OPTIONS in the DANCING department. The PRODUCTION is that of a JAMMING sound/feel. Again, CLASSIC VINCY music. And of COURSE, the song has MELODY for days....HOOKS....CATCHY LYRICS....and the LYRICAL content is classic VINCY. U R not going to get any chune SOUNDING like this (on any sort of consistent basis) if it is not COMING from VINCYLAND. As ALWAYS, VINCY ARTISTS always TELLING a STORY in their MUSIC and this TRACK is no EXCEPTION. Again, CLASSIC VINCY. WICKED CHUNE. PS: JUST IMAGINE YOURSELF wid ah DAWTER in a CORNER at a CLUB and this song is PLAYING. PURE WICKEDNESS/NICENESS. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 12-28-2007 at 09:01 PM.. |
Soca Technologist
Credits: 398
we all unique
vincy got their own sound, i could tell it when i hear it, st lucia got their own sound too, but as of late, trini been recycling their riddims and beats, the music era in the islands are changing, soon you wont be able to identify islands by the music, which i think is good. 1 caribbean. we have to start recognising the under dog islands, like the virgin islands,st kitts they got a good sound too, also we tend to neglect the french caribbean...
Credits: 5,166
How I see it, every island can sound different alike and sound de same alike. You could never really fully group together.
Credits: 5,166
VP, cut the crap. Bomani could of very well been ah trini, bajan, guyanese, etc.
Royal
Credits: 24,265
IMO, at this point almost every country have a distinct sound, although sometimes they can sound similar.
Credits: 4,539
Royal
Credits: 24,265
Credits: 4,539
Credits: 17,060
The bass is distinct...or is it the keyboard....or is it the percusssions....nah nah is just a feeling....ah vibe that ah does get. Vincies has a distinct sound...no many distinct songs not just one distinct sound. Mannn i so confused....please ignore me because as usual.....i don't know what the hell i'm talking about. Last edited by dedetriniking; 12-30-2007 at 11:36 AM.. |
Credits: 17,060
This song is a rudimentary two chords...yes two chords...the musicians here are only playing two chords.....basic song. Yes its catchy...in much the same way that a riddim section by itself can be catchy but there is nothing sophicated or cutting edge about this song. I'd gladly give this formula to the vincies. |
![]() ![]() RIGHT on CUE. The TRANSLATION of the ABOVE is: U DOH nuh what is a DISTINCT sound. You're just CONFUSING yourself. TIMBERLAND has a DISTINCT sound.....DR. DRE has a DISTINCT sound.....can you tell what makes their SOUND so DISTINCT??? How does one know when they hear a song PRODUCED by Dr. Dre or Timbaland? You're just UPSET because all TRINI songs sound ALIKE, unless of course it is ARRANGED by a VINCY or another OUTSIDER. ![]() ![]() Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 12-30-2007 at 03:08 PM.. |
![]() ![]() Right on CUE You're so TROUBLED by the GREATNESS of VINCYNESS. It BOTHERS U to see VINCY SHINING eh? ![]() ![]() RUDIMENTARY TWO CORDS he STATED. Well, since he has OBVIOUSLY PROCLAIMED himself an EXPERT on READING/UNDERSTANDING musical ARRANGEMENTS, we would like for the BABBLING TRINI to BREAK it down for us why he CONCLUDED that the song is a "RUDIMENTARY TWO CORDS" production, which means, according to him, the song is NOT INNOVATIVE or CUTTING EDGE? **thinking, here did I say CUTTING EDGE or INNOVATIVE in my post** While you're at it, we would like to KNOW what you BELIEVE is MELODY. This way we can BETTER APPRECIATE your comment in response to what I've stated in regards to MELODY. **THINKING, does he even know what is INNOVATIVE or CUTTING EDGE** Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 12-30-2007 at 03:07 PM.. |