Old 03-15-2005, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tall Legg

Credits: 219
Say it isn't so

Did Benji leave the Asylum
Old 03-15-2005, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 185,902
Originally Posted by cocoyeababy
If true, I cannot BLAME BENJI for TRYING to get from UNDER the SHADOW of BUNJI.

It would make PERFECT sense, especially if he is trying to FURTHER his CAREER.

He is not going to do it playing SECOND FIDDLE to Bunji.

So if it is TRUE, GOOD move Benji.
Old 03-15-2005, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
the lost one

Credits: 2,755
Benji??? Wha yuh mean Bunji or Benjai?
Old 03-15-2005, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 6,564
he announced it last wednesday at Zen. He'll be going solo.

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 03-15-2005, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,796
wait, u still in trinidad?

and yea i heard it, he's left.
Old 03-15-2005, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Credits: 1,333

what a shock
good luck to him in his career
i feel he will do well goin solo

but i hope he still does a couple of chunes w/ them
Old 03-15-2005, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 6,564
Originally Posted by Lady Slaughter
wait, u still in trinidad?

and yea i heard it, he's left.
LOL I came back to Tortola yesterday....but i'll be back in 2 weeks

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 03-15-2005, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 6,628
good phucking move..benjai. being under bunji's shadow was hold this dude back...IMO he's better than bunji...has his own original style and not a bounti clone...yes bunji may have him beat in the lyrics department but benjai to me was always the better artist overall...good move...he has my support 100%

plus other than bunji nuttin nah gwan fe godfathers...the rest of those cats are crap....with the exception of maybe gail-ann..all the rest are mediocre at best....
Old 03-15-2005, 06:55 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 7,026
Originally Posted by stargate
good phucking move..benjai. being under bunji's shadow was hold this dude back...IMO he's better than bunji...has his own original style and not a bounti clone...yes bunji may have him beat in the lyrics department but benjai to me was always the better artist overall...good move...he has my support 100%

plus other than bunji nuttin nah gwan fe godfathers...the rest of those cats are crap....with the exception of maybe gail-ann..all the rest are mediocre at best....
Gailann better than mediocre??????
Old 03-15-2005, 06:57 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 8,871

I am no fan of the reggae boys but isint comparing Bunji and Benjai kind of hard to do. They are 2 different kind of artist arent they?
Old 03-15-2005, 07:14 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 4,719

I actually spoke with Benjai this afternoon...he wanted everyone to know that he is now a Solo Artiste. As wukkinup said it was announced at Zen in Trinidad officialy last week and he is now ready to move on and do some things on his own...

He plans to stop by and chat w/ Islandmix in a couple of days...I'll keep you all posted...
Old 03-15-2005, 07:17 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 17,356
him and dawgie slaughter bound tuh mash up trinidad one of these years with road march / soca monarch type tunes, they too talented
Old 03-15-2005, 07:18 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 8,443
good luck Benjai
http://www.shopbop.com/welcome?invitation_code=4242223MG8R
http://www.beyondtherack.com/member/invite/B1206249
Old 03-15-2005, 07:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 6,628
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I am no fan of the reggae boys but isint comparing Bunji and Benjai kind of hard to do. They are 2 different kind of artist arent they?
no...they are both ragga soca artists both have the dancehall deejay lyrical delivery...but benjai unlike bunji can also sing not singjay...actually sing...come on now anybody who has an ear for talent can hear that benjai is more talented musically than bunji...by far...bunji maybe can wirte better lyrics and has a better stage proformance....but musically speaking IMPO benjai is more talented....i am being unbiased here and speaking in professional terms not as a regular joe blow fan with an opinion...cause in this business opinion dont count!!!
i bet you if you put benjai and bunji in front of randy paula and simon...they would pick benjai and send home bunji in a heatbeat...not tha bunji isnt good...he oviously is...but pound for pound benjai has more talent...
Old 03-15-2005, 07:20 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 4,719
no...they are both ragga soca artists both have the dancehall deejay lyrical delivery...but benjai unlike bunji can also sing not singjay...actually sing...come on now anybody who has an ear for talent can hear that benjai is more talented musically than bunji...by far...bunji maybe can wirte better lyrics and has a better stage proformance....but musically speaking IMPO benjai is more talented....i am being unbiased here and speaking in professional terms not as a regular joe blow fan with an opinion...cause in this business opinion dont count!!!
i bet you if you put benjai and bunji in front of randy paula and simon...they would pick benjai and send home bunji in a heatbeat...not tha bunji isnt good...he oviously is...but pound for pound benjai has more talent...

Benjai actually was the one doing most of the harmonizing for the Asylum and for Bunji right thru...why people sleep on him is beyond me...