Old 01-20-2004, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 179
Beat or Lyrics or both?

Why are most of these soca artist considered "stars"? With the exception of few like: Destra, Roger George, Edwin, Oungnku, Most of the present soca artist cant sing but have the wicketest beat. Which leads me to believe lyrics arent as important as it used to be. Remeber guys like Becket, Baron, and Swallow? These guys vocals, lyrics couldnt compare to these artist today! These artist singing chupidness and lyrics is garbage ! I think the rhythms too are a cause of this. Rhythms allow non-talented artist to get a bligh in the industry. Which is killing it! Look at reggae music. Guys get on rhythms but Jamaicans dont consider everyone a damn star. They must pay dues unlike soca! Im not bitting my tounge, These are some artist that cant sing and have no lyrics.......
Like Iwer and
super P
With exception of few some artist have one talent but need alot more work on other areas. But people still consider dem the elite best which puzzles me.

hmmm....
Old 01-20-2004, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,835
Re: Beat or Lyrics or both?

Originally posted by harizon
Why are most of these soca artist considered "stars"? With the exception of few like: Destra, Roger George, Edwin, Oungnku, Most of the present soca artist cant sing but have the wicketest beat. Which leads me to believe lyrics arent as important as it used to be. Remeber guys like Becket, Baron, and Swallow? These guys vocals, lyrics couldnt compare to these artist today! These artist singing chupidness and lyrics is garbage ! I think the rhythms too are a cause of this. Rhythms allow non-talented artist to get a bligh in the industry. Which is killing it! Look at reggae music. Guys get on rhythms but Jamaicans dont consider everyone a damn star. They must pay dues unlike soca! Im not bitting my tounge, These are some artist that cant sing and have no lyrics.......
Like Iwer and
super P
With exception of few some artist have one talent but need alot more work on other areas. But people still consider dem the elite best which puzzles me.

hmmm....
The "untalented" artists on a riddim usually fade away faster than the good ones. Don't know for where u are but here in NY no DJ eh playin de garbage songs on a riddim unless he have a stake in it. Most of the time maybe 3 songs on a riddim plays in a party it hardly ever is more than that. As far as stars all you have to do is make one big hit and you are elevated into "stardom." Its no different in any genre of music. The only difference is that in soca artists tend to enjoy the privalege of being stars far longer than the life span of their hit songs. Some artists consitently have hits every year and as much as you, I or anyone else may consider them garbage they do have a fan base and therefor will always be considered stars.
Old 01-20-2004, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rummy-old

Another post that will end up w/ the same result...Same thing over and over.
Old 01-20-2004, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by Rummy
I was just about to put up a thread about that.
Old 01-20-2004, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,228
Originally posted by Rummy
LOL
Old 01-20-2004, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Ah Fed Up Ah De Same Ting "Ovaaa an Oveeeaaayaayaaaa
Old 01-20-2004, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
mr. wadadli

horizan...its pointless putting up these topics bredren...people here can't handle the truth...they let their over-patriotism get the best of them thus not allowing them to think obejectively..most of them wouldn't know consurtive critisizm if it dropped out of the sky and fell on their faces!!!

they have now even coined a phrase "small island envy"

[SIZE=!)]LMAO!!!![/SIZE]

anything to run from blame!!!

just look at all the excuses that come from some a dem!!!
can't tek balme at all!!!
dem always right!!!
Old 01-20-2004, 01:34 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 697
Originally posted by mr. wadadli
horizan...its pointless putting up these topics bredren...people here can't handle the truth...they let their over-patriotism get the best of them thus not allowing them to think obejectively..most of them wouldn't know consurtive critisizm if it dropped out of the sky and fell on their faces!!!

[SIZE=!)]LMAO!!!![/SIZE]

dem always right!!!
You talking ah pack ah shyt.
Old 01-20-2004, 01:36 PM   #9 (permalink)

Re: Re: Beat or Lyrics or both?

Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
The "untalented" artists on a riddim usually fade away faster than the good ones. Don't know for where u are but here in NY no DJ eh playin de garbage songs on a riddim unless he have a stake in it. Most of the time maybe 3 songs on a riddim plays in a party it hardly ever is more than that. As far as stars all you have to do is make one big hit and you are elevated into "stardom." Its no different in any genre of music. The only difference is that in soca artists tend to enjoy the privalege of being stars far longer than the life span of their hit songs. Some artists consitently have hits every year and as much as you, I or anyone else may consider them garbage they do have a fan base and therefor will always be considered stars.
Well in other genre of music it is the opposite to Soca. In other music you must have "Talent" Soca today doesnt require that. Its like people only care about a catchy hook and a fast beat. In RnB, Rap, Soul, Hip Hop requires Lyrics, vocals, stage presents, and and lyrics! You will never hear a rnb star with no good vocals being categorize as a star or a rapper that singing nursery rhymes being compared to Jay-z! That was my point really but alot of these artist have no hit or 1 hit and they the biggest ting on earth! I blame the fans, and what other resources making these guys stars!:
Old 01-20-2004, 01:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Rummy-old

[SIZE=!)]LMAO!!!![/SIZE]

dem always right!!!
envy? ammm...if you go look at the other 50 some posts that you post in, it's a bit repetitive don't you think? I don't represent any particular island, but I see all these posts say the same thing. Go in the other forums & chat about something other than who has better music, rhythms, beats, lyrics, etc. Or provide everyone with links to listen to all the music so that we can judge on our own w/o a few people's biased opinions. Let people enjoy soca instead of having to fuss over whose music sounds better. I can pick 30 songs that are my favorite. Guaranteed it will represent at least 8 islands.
Old 01-20-2004, 01:43 PM   #11 (permalink)

[SIZE=!)]LMAO!!!![/SIZE]

dem always right!!!
Wadadli: Most people in here dont want to talk about real topics! All dem wan talk bout is who got a new tune. which is fine. But we must attack topics that is destroying or helping our culture and music. People here dont want truth and solutions.All dem wan dem wan do is cuss all the time with no constructive feedback to the post!
Old 01-20-2004, 01:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Re: Re: Re: Beat or Lyrics or both?

Well in other genre of music it is the opposite to Soca. In other music you must have "Talent" Soca today doesnt require that. Its like people only care about a catchy hook and a fast beat. In RnB, Rap, Soul, Hip Hop requires Lyrics, vocals, stage presents, and and lyrics! You will never hear a rnb star with no good vocals being categorize as a star or a rapper that singing nursery rhymes being compared to Jay-z! That was my point really but alot of these artist have no hit or 1 hit and they the biggest ting on earth! I blame the fans, and what other resources making these guys stars!:
I agree is the fans to blame. As far as talent and hip hop goes you can be a one hit wonder and be a star just not for very long. Vanilla Ice was a star for a hot minute and he eh ha no talent. A lot of the time people doh study whats being said in the music. They get caught up in the flow, melody and beat. Take lil jon get low for instance: If females listened to that songfor lyrics they would hate it but its one of the Biggest hits of 2003
Old 01-20-2004, 01:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,433
Re: Re: Re: Beat or Lyrics or both?

I beg to differ on one point...R&B does not always require talent. One word...Ashanti! I rest my case...
Old 01-20-2004, 01:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Re: Re: Re: Re: Beat or Lyrics or both?

Originally posted by triniprincess76
I beg to differ on one point...R&B does not always require talent. One word...Ashanti! I rest my case...
Ouch! I take ityou are not a fan:p
Old 01-20-2004, 01:51 PM   #15 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Beat or Lyrics or both?

Originally posted by triniprincess76
Ashanti have talent. She dont make good music? If SHE had no talent why is she wining grammys? Why is she doing great on charts? why does she go platinum?