Old 04-02-2005, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 688
Which bands will be next powerhouse bands of the small islands ?

in particular, the leeward islands.

In the leeward islands, no band has come near the influence of the Flames. And with the Flames getting older and older, I must wonder, when they retire, who's gonna carry the torch.

Right now, my vote goes with Nu Vybes. Their music is unique, it's jumpy and they seem to be making an audience in other islands besides just St. Kitts. Also, I heard their songs up here, mind u, Black berry was playing them BUT I've never heard any other leeward island band but the Flames being played in Toronto ever and even then, it was two Flames songs, tops. So the fact that I've heard Nu Vybes' songs up here is a phenomenon in itself.

What y' all think ?
Old 04-02-2005, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

Originally Posted by small_island_descent

In the leeward islands, no band has come near the influence of the Flames. And with the Flames getting older and older, I must wonder, when they retire, who's gonna carry the torch.

Right now, my vote goes with Nu Vybes. Their music is unique, it's jumpy and they seem to be making an audience in other islands besides just St. Kitts. Also, I heard their songs up here, mind u, Black berry was playing them BUT I've never heard any other leeward island band but the Flames being played in Toronto ever and even then, it was two Flames songs, tops. So the fact that I've heard Nu Vybes' songs up here is a phenomenon in itself.

What y' all think ?
Admittenly i don't know much about the bands in that regard to know who's next to blow...but i find that the slower tracks from Nu Vybes and Small Axe aren't too bad still. Now i en know what the leewars includes but i love the vibes that HS Phacktor were on but V-powa claimes that they may have called it quits doah!!
Old 04-02-2005, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,388
Originally Posted by Juksan Stabbs
Admittenly i don't know much about the bands in that regard to know who's next to blow...but i find that the slower tracks from Nu Vybes and Small Axe aren't too bad still. Now i en know what the leewars includes but i love the vibes that HS Phacktor were on but V-powa claimes that they may have called it quits doah!!
HS QUITS???
Old 04-02-2005, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

Originally Posted by Oneshot
HS QUITS???
V-powa seh so not me...it's in his 2005 Vincyland music thread!!
Old 04-02-2005, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)

well watch out WCK back on de road again
Old 04-02-2005, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Juksan Stabbs

Leeward islands are Antigua & Barbuda, St. Kitts & Nevis, Monserrat, VI & Anguilla.

Vincy, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia are Windwards.
Old 04-02-2005, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)

Leeward islands are Antigua & Barbuda, St. Kitts & Nevis, Monserrat, VI & Anguilla.

Vincy, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia are Windwards.
my bad i read lesser
Old 04-02-2005, 07:10 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Oneshot
my bad i read lesser

why, ur bad ? I was talking to Juks. I want any small island band, whether windward or leeward that anyone thinks will be the next power house to be put up in this thread. I'm just focusing on leeward islands cuz dat's my peeps .
Old 04-02-2005, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)

Oh yeah, also, I think WCK could have be and maybe still can be the next powerhouse band but they can never seem to stay together. People always leaving the band and too many changes can't be a good thing for their consistency in music. But Triple K now, if they stick together and learn how to master the bouyon like WCK, they might be able (if CK doesn't do it) to become a powerhouse band.
Old 04-02-2005, 07:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 8,046
Have u ever heard jam Band being played up there?

What y' all think ?
Old 04-02-2005, 08:08 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by De Mangla
Have u ever heard jam Band being played up there?
Never. I tell u, when u hear Stargate say we have NO small island music up here, he means NONE. I didn't even know who jamband was or how much of influence they had till I got on Imix.
Old 04-02-2005, 09:43 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,914
I'd take Nu-vybes, small axe...most any island music over Jam Band. For some reason, it grates my nerves after 2 songs.
Old 04-02-2005, 09:57 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummacita
I'd take Nu-vybes, small axe...most any island music over Jam Band. For some reason, it grates my nerves after 2 songs.
No love for the Jamband from Rummacita. OUCH.

Well, what about other VI bands, which one u think is nice and do any of them have a chance to be a powerhouse band.
Old 04-02-2005, 10:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 636
My money is on Small Axe Band. I think they have lots of potential. They got de riddim but they need to work on their lyrics. One of their songs, Backshot, was on D' Soca Zone 5th spin (I think). So that's a start.
Old 04-02-2005, 10:59 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 2,914
I prefer Small Axe over Nu-vybes(not by much). I just got a couple ultra-sonics cd's, so I'll take a close listen over the next week. There are some other bands that have decent tunes, but not very consistent. I'm not familiar w/ any bands from montserrat. VI...xtaushun is ok & I can say I think their music is decent for VI music. Every song doesn't sound the same to me.