Old 04-04-2009, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 76,624
Bands

wats de pros and cons of having a band in de soca industry?

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 04-04-2009, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,268
PRO: more professional performance- patrons feel like they get their money worth more ability to be flexible in your performance- more innovation coming from more talent than just the artist and the producer
CON: split the pay X number of ways- bands come and go- rivalry- band members leave to go to other bands or pursue solo careers- also take more time to set up de stage between acts
Old 04-04-2009, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 76,624

Originally Posted by soca control View Post
PRO: more professional performance- patrons feel like they get their money worth more ability to be flexible in your performance- more innovation coming from more talent than just the artist and the producer
CON: split the pay X number of ways- bands come and go- rivalry- band members leave to go to other bands or pursue solo careers- also take more time to set up de stage between acts
gud points

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 04-05-2009, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Debble

Credits: 2,758
Yes and no. The amount of time it takes for a change over is a direct reflection of the band (do they have their act together) and the promoters willingness to provide proper production.

Other Con is the expense put on the promoter to fly up additional band members. If you plan on making a band, make it as light as possible.
Old 04-05-2009, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,066
Originally Posted by benjie View Post
Yes and no. The amount of time it takes for a change over is a direct reflection of the band (do they have their act together) and the promoters willingness to provide proper production.

Other Con is the expense put on the promoter to fly up additional band members. If you plan on making a band, make it as light as possible.
I disagree with the bolded if you plan on making a band make a complete band so fans will pay for exactly what they expecting...Den rock an roll antics (bass,keyboard an drums) doh cutting it for me at all I rather dem sing over dj instrumental dan not hearing a full band.

I actually think lack of full bands is one of the major factors in the decline in the quality of muzik we dishing out lately...
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”
Old 04-05-2009, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,268
lots of active live bands now have sound and sample technicians- think of Madman Richard from Kes The Band who can essentially control the brass line, insert samples and effects etc and a number of elements versus a band like Asylum or Roy Cape that shows up with a 4-piece brass section or a pan or two

I'm all for seeing and hearing the live brass in the band- as well as a number of other instruments- but I have no issue with the consolidation of sounds where it's applicable
on the other hand you have a band like Y.O.U. which is like 11 performers total- yuh could also treat it like a sports team- you might have 15 players on the team total but you only need a certain number of players on the field at one time

I just feel slighted when I get to the fete and it's an artist performing over a TV track- tell the promoter give me back my blasted money
Old 04-06-2009, 12:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Debble

Originally Posted by Influence View Post
I disagree with the bolded if you plan on making a band make a complete band so fans will pay for exactly what they expecting...Den rock an roll antics (bass,keyboard an drums) doh cutting it for me at all I rather dem sing over dj instrumental dan not hearing a full band.

I actually think lack of full bands is one of the major factors in the decline in the quality of muzik we dishing out lately...
Please note I said as light as possible, not a non functional band. I am all for a proper presentation of the music but you must be aware of what the market can support. Let's see, you take a band and have bass, drums, keys, and guitar or insert second keyboardists because for some unknown reason, soca producers rarely write any thing for the guitarist to play excepts rythim. Add on 2 to 3 lead singers, 2 engineers (foh & mon), possible a road manager and some that like to be extra, someone to run the drum machine.

You are already looking at 9 to 10 tickets plus hotel and accomodations (transportation, per diem). Then you have the band fee which is of course higher because more mouths to feed. If you are a local band, great but if you expexct to travel, i believe that keeping yourself light helps with your marketability.

For example, I am a big Swinging Stars fan but although I love them, I would never risk bringing them on my own. I think the band has 11 members. Great band, great performers, great music but IMHO too heavy to travel with.

I beleive in the past they have cut down the size of the band in order to travel so I believe that they are aware of it being an issue.

Why don't you give me an estimate of the savings of cutting two plane tickets and the associated expenses (hotel rooms and per diem for 2 days minimum)
Old 04-06-2009, 12:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Debble

lots of active live bands now have sound and sample technicians- think of Madman Richard from Kes The Band who can essentially control the brass line, insert samples and effects etc and a number of elements versus a band like Asylum or Roy Cape that shows up with a 4-piece brass section or a pan or two

I'm all for seeing and hearing the live brass in the band- as well as a number of other instruments- but I have no issue with the consolidation of sounds where it's applicable
on the other hand you have a band like Y.O.U. which is like 11 performers total- yuh could also treat it like a sports team- you might have 15 players on the team total but you only need a certain number of players on the field at one time

I just feel slighted when I get to the fete and it's an artist performing over a TV track- tell the promoter give me back my blasted money
I hate track performances. I think it does a dis service to the performers. The last few have been so fustrating to see. At least if you are going to perform on tracks, at least get a split track so that you can play around with the backing vocals and the music independantly.
Old 04-08-2009, 09:31 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 3,857
all very good points. i would rather see an artiste with their band than with tracks cause with d band, there is more flexibility where as with d tracks, u more like in a straight jacket. i does see some artistes singing with tracks n try to do something extra with their performance like bring someone on stage or put down a piece ah wine or something but don't end back up on cue with d track n always have to wheel out d song and dat looks unprofessional. where bringing a whole band is concerned, d cost is really high depending on d amount of members d band has. every member is an additional airline ticket, additional per diem, transportation to n from airport, venues, etc., transportation for instruments, additional hotel rooms and band price. some bands may try to cut down on d size of d band when coming to touring, for example, if they normally have 2 keyboardists, they will try 2 cut down to 1, or they may leave out d guitarist, or leave out brassmen n use keyboard or sample brass but every member has their part to play so in leaving out certain members is like leaving out certain elements of d sound of d band. d only cut i could possibly see in bands when touring, is dey cut out d roady crew (guys carrying instruments). if during d season u have 3-4 roadys, when is touring time, u carry 1. dat is d only cut i see possible to still maintain dat professional sound.