Krosfyah
Soca has never been so cool! Combat boots, baggy attire, brightly colored bandanas adorning funky dreads and coloured 'fros; krosfyah epitomizes coolness. Combined with infectious melodies, high-energy performances and pulsating rhythms that speak a language only one's hips comprehend, krosfyah has reinvented soca as we know it. For the past eleven years, krosfyah has been touring the world inducing fans across three continents into a soca frenzy! Yet despite the group's sophomore CD's (Ultimate Party - Pump Me Up) sales (totaling over 300,000 units to date without the assistance of a major label), the guys remain humble. As Edwin Yearwood, principal songwriter for krosfyah indicates, "We are just a bunch of island guys who love to play music." And play music is exactly what they do. Whether entertaining 20 or 20,000, krosfyah always delivers an energized performance! The evolution of krosfyah from playing covers for tourists on the Barbados hotel circuit to touring the world and performing their original music for dignitaries like Nelson Mandela occurred over a span of seven years. While few critics ever doubted the potential of krosfyah, most never imagined this level of success, in such a short space of time. In 1994, krosfyah released their debut album, Ultimate Party, which propelled the group from obscurity to the most popular soca band on the island of Barbados and won them the coveted "Band of the Year" title. In 1995, the group released Ultimate Party-Pump Me Up. Not only did this album produce the hit song, "Pump Me Up", which became the national anthem for the youth of Barbados but it travelled across the seas to Canada where it achieved the coveted Gold status in January of 1997. As you read, it continues to receive excellent sales and reviews throughout the Caribbean, South America, the USA and Europe, while still finding its way into new global markets. The album bestowed unprecedented honors upon its lead vocalist Edwin Yearwood: "Party Monarch", "Road Monarch Champion" and "Calypso King" in 1995. The triple-crown win by one artiste would mark the first and only time to date, in the history of Barbados' Annual Crop Over Festival, that such a feat has ever been accomplished. In 1996, krosfyah's third album, Aim High, led to more awards. The album also produced the hit song, "Wet Me", which dominated the music chart in the neighboring island of Trinidad and Tobago. During 1998, krosfyah surfaced from the studio with a new album, Hot Zone. Hot Zone, like all of its predecessors, produced hit songs which enabled the band to tour across the United States and Europe performing at music showcases and festivals. As if not to be stopped, krosfyah released yet another album krosfyah.com in 1999 with hits like Agony (which saw Edwin Yearwood crowned 1999 Party Monarch for the third time),Raga Beenie, Forkin', Be-sa-me and Sexy Body, to name a few. Krosfyah The year 2000 turned out to be no different. krosfyah marked their return to their homeland's cultural festival - Crop Over - with another remarkable feat. Lead singer with the band, Mr. Edwin Yearwood, won his fourth Party Monarch title with the track 'Fiah, Fiah' which is featured on his debut solo album Influenced: The Good and Badd In Me. This album was released alongside krosfyah's own The Best of krosfyah. This compilation of hits from the past and including two new tracks, continues to demonstrate krosfyah's musical ingenuity. The return to Crop Over for krosfyah has indeed proven to be one of their best decisions ever. Following the trend of the past years, krosfyah released yet another pulsating, award-winning album. "Kool Under Fire" the name of the album, is a fitting title for this ever dynamic band. The success of this album includes the Barbados 2001 Road March tune, 'Sak Pasé', "Emancipation" (another skilfully penned and appropriately titled masterpiece which reflects on our freedom; and some spanish flavour in "Plenty Amor". These songs will certainly add to the continuation of the group's success While it is true that krosfyah is "just a bunch of island guys and gal who love to play music", krosfyah's players (Edwin Yearwood, Anthony Bailey, Khiomal Nurse, Sharon Darlington, Morris Cassell, Corey Jordan, Sherwin King and Elvis Edwards) each add an unique ingredient to their magical music. |
Credits: 2,898
I will post plenty pictures later Consistency with nice songs that don't always have to be jump and wine. Some of the nicest and very talented guys. Love you all! |
Soca DJ
Credits: 276
Big up Krosfyah. french kiss
Krosfyah
Keep up the good work and continue carry the soca music flag high to the world. BIG Up all the time.:) |
Credits: 2,705
kiss me now.... kiss me quick......... |
Credits: 2,402
french kiss is an alrite song. much respect to this group, too many good tunes to mention, but ah cyah go w/o mentioning these as my favorite songs:
what a feeling pump me up jammin practice poom poom doin dis again road jam promise me west indian doh bother me ling tong |
da sweet one
Credits: 1,058
Nuff respect to Krosfyah... de one band I have not and doh think will ever get sick of... dis is de one band dat could make me cry from jus singin or performin a song... plenty talent.. easily meh fav band... I doh think there is a song of their's I doh like but a couple dat ah really love dat stick out in meh head are:
Wet me Oil Pumpin Dushi Doin dis again Don't bother me Right Stuff If I remember correctly dey were the first band I saw perform live.. dis is one group ah would always make an effort to see ![]() |
da sweet one
Credits: 1,058
yes Rumpunch.. keep dem comin