Old 02-22-2009, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 97,744
Question Are bajans at a disadvantage?

are bajans at a disadvantage in the power soca monarch? the reason i ask this question is dat the other islands make jump and wave soca where there are lyrics commandin de crowd to jump and wave. and on the other hand, bajans do mostly wukkin up tunes which cause for foot on de ground and waist gyration. cause when i saw khiomal performance, de man was propellin his waistline to his tune, and he was de only performer who moved waist instead of jump up and wave kinda thing. barry or bruce chandler from the band jabae now do jump and wave songs with the trini influence, hence, a response is better cause it is jump and wave.

wat do de bajans think?
Old 02-22-2009, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 66,634
NAA. He was at a major disadvantage cause no one in the crowd seemed to know the tune. I don't remember any previous Party Monarch winners entering the competition like our 07 winner.

ALSO Bajans sing all sorta songs so your point is off.

Last edited by The Captain; 02-22-2009 at 06:59 PM..
Old 02-22-2009, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by The Captain View Post
NAA. He was at a major disadvantage cause no one in the crowd seemed to know the tune. I don't remember any previous Party Monarch winners entering the competition like our 07 winner.
yeah, not knowin de tune is another disadvantage.

but i still think de songs we sing as bajans are not jump and wave which other islands do. khiomal was de only one wukkin up in he performance.

timmy bumpa ketcha fyah was a big hit in trinidad, and we all know he does wukkup bad.
Old 02-22-2009, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
DI GENERAL

Credits: 81,222
Old 02-22-2009, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 13,327
I hope that Bajan's don't start jumping and waving, it is over done, sick and tired of seeing it. That foolishness should have run its course long time ago, its been around too long.
Old 02-22-2009, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
IN DE AIR

Credits: 130,519
a wuk up song could never do as much damage as a jump and wave song.

Antigua Carnival 2012 *IN LIVING COLOUR*

CARNIVAL DAYDREAM (ATL)

MAGIC CITY
Friday,May 24th

Fantastic Friday - Atlanta Carnival

Jolie
Friday,May 24th
Old 02-22-2009, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 150,184
Against the trinis everybody else is at a disadvantage. Why? Cuz the trinis make it all. Not just jump and wave not just wining songs or wukup songs but all of it. Maybe the bajans need to diversify more.
Old 02-22-2009, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 8,235
Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
true
Old 02-22-2009, 07:04 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Against the trinis everybody else is at a disadvantage. Why? Cuz the trinis make it all. Not just jump and wave not just wining songs or wukup songs but all of it. Maybe the bajans need to diversify more.
i think u gave the wrong reason to ur why. cause edwin came third some time back and he had a jump and wave song. bajans show diversity, it is just that wukup tunes is our forte.
Old 02-22-2009, 07:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
i think u gave the wrong reason to ur why. cause edwin came third some time back and he had a jump and wave song. bajans show diversity, it is just that wukup tunes is our forte.
I BELIEVE IT WAS DOWN D ROAD. That doesn't have jump n wave in it.
Old 02-22-2009, 07:07 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
then u need to come to barbados, cause wukup tunes tek over.

bumpa catcha fyah
mash up and buy back
ruff winers
lowtown with alison, peter ram and lil rick
crime of de century
stabby (hate that song, but it is a wukup song)
outpatients sing wukup tunes i dont remember de names
yardie by edwin
bashment bachannal by khiomal
worser dan dat
pambalam by keanne

and my more
Old 02-22-2009, 07:08 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by The Captain View Post
I BELIEVE IT WAS DOWN D ROAD. That doesn't have jump n wave in it.
edwin didnt sing PEACE SIGN? i swear it was peace sign he sang.

correct me if am wrong
Old 02-22-2009, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
I hope that Bajan's don't start jumping and waving, it is over done, sick and tired of seeing it. That foolishness should have run its course long time ago, its been around too long.
jump and wavin is not really our thing. that is why it hit me when khiomal was on de stage peltin waist, and all de other performers did their jump and wave nonsense. that is why trinis cannot wine or wukup cause of too much jumpin and wavin.
Old 02-22-2009, 07:09 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
edwin didnt sing PEACE SIGN? i swear it was peace sign he sang.

correct me if am wrong
we talking the same tune.
Old 02-22-2009, 07:11 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
name me one TRINI song that could mek bajans pelt waist. colours by natahlee and shontelle was jump and wave song.

i forgot to add to my list: waistline lickin shots