islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree11Likes

Old 02-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 11,986
Originally Posted by Ingram_Gordon View Post
with all you are sayin about the flames, you are eluding to what i want you to notice.. you like the tunes that has 'body' to it.. and those tunes were not on the first album..

why

they matured..

they grew up and started to write good music and arrangement

now

the young man hardknaxx and his friends dem inna juggle fu life, are in that stage..

the style tite stage of dem career..

and as i can clearly remember, it's the pundits like yourself who are now bashing the young people dem and dem contribution, just like inna de early flames days had to endure

(yes, i was hanging around and working for antigua carnival when flames buss)

so

if you cant help dem move forward from the style tite-ish type lyrics.. hop offa dem dyck!

imagine likkle 23 year old yute you ah openly bash on an internet forum, and not yet offer some kinda positive encouragement to help mold them into the international standard

It is not bashing the young man, and like I said, I give koodos to him for trying. Do you really believe that he could ever compete with Flames of old?, get a life there, just wishful thinking. At least Onyan could turn a tune, I must have missed that in the Chicken song.

The thing about criticism is that you hope people would listen/read and do a better job next time, because again if Antiguans like you believe that, that song was the best that the country had to offer, I I feel sorry for the country, 2011 set music back too many years for Antigua.

From your comment, I see we going to be rapped with a lot of ignorance again this year instead of having artists step up their game. The music should not be for the confines of Antigua, since music is a business and the best is what should be put out there.

There is a lot of money in this business, contrary to opinion a lot is opening up to our music, but you have to strive for it and make sure whatever you put out can stand up to criticism.

Artists should not be immune to vocal coaching, if you want to be in the business and you are on the borderline it is a necessity, the same way engineers and builders of rhythms should not be above taking a few courses on music construction to get the rhythms flowing right.

It is just not in my blood to bite my tounge and be a hypocrite and support something that sounds bad.
Old 02-19-2012, 03:48 PM   #32 (permalink)
17 61

Credits: 139,251
and which part of them maturing you dont understand?

or you werent old enough to know style tite to realize the childish lyrics and musical arrangements the original flames put out before them became a musical power house..

if you want to insist that the music from antigua 2011 is bad, then you need to look back for atleast 6 years.. cause most of the artist except for the flames used trini or bajan writers..

and now, some you 23 year old, who wrote dem own music win, give dem some encouragement or just stfu..

as for badfowl, hop offa antigua too.. VI havent produced any hits for you to be makin any comments

After me tell dem run de marathon
dem couldnt run it!
after me tell dem bun dung de dance
dem couldnt bun it!!

Buju

Old 02-19-2012, 03:53 PM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 20,456
When a competition like this reaches a certain point it becomes totally subjective regardless.

Maybe there are good intentions with letting other islands participate but its a popularity contest and the competition itself, its hard to have any objectivity in it.

Trinidad and Tobago needs to have a competition for their own and only their own artists to compete. Maybe invite outside artists as guest, not to compete, it will be too expensive and nonsensical for any outside artist to try to make themselves competitive in Trinidad's market.
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-19-2012, 04:13 PM   #34 (permalink)

Credits: 3,252

or you werent old enough to know style tite to realize the childish lyrics and musical arrangements the original flames put out before them became a musical power house..

if you want to insist that the music from antigua 2011 is bad, then you need to look back for atleast 6 years.. cause most of the artist except for the flames used trini or bajan writers..

and now, some you 23 year old, who wrote dem own music win, give dem some encouragement or just stfu..

as for badfowl, hop offa antigua too.. VI havent produced any hits for you to be makin any comments
What does V.I. making hits have to do with my opinion on one horrible tune out of Antigua. I did not make an indictment on Antigua's music in general. Just one shit song.

In response to your Burning Flames comment....Stylee Tight, Go Go and Do Anything were revolutionary in that they started the trend of using Rhythm Box programming and Keyboard sequencing in live and recorded Soca music. The lyrics were in the same vein as Party/Carnival music of the time and the musical quality was poor possibly because those songs were probably not even recorded in a professional studio. IT WAS AN EXPERIMENT THAT WAS HUGELY SUCCESSFUL!!!!

Burning Flames changed the course of Eastern Caribbean music and it has not been the same since.

So to use the Burning Flames example to justify that chicken shit song is pure foolishness. Burning Flames is one of the greatest bands the Caribbean has ever seen.

I don't believe this chicken song has or will enjoy any popularity outside the borders of Antigua and Barbuda.
Colors likes this.
Old 02-19-2012, 04:15 PM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 11,986

This is my last comment on this subject, it is not the young man but the people who listen and voted this song as the best, why it was permitted over other songs that sounded better into a competition that could propel the music abilities of the country is beyond my comprehension.

I was there for Style Tight from Flames the first year and the music is what drove that song, they were inventive and they brought something to the table. There is no comparison here whatsover, no matter how you try to spin this. Not possible, Style Tight brought in a fusion of genres that is still what drives soca music today, you really believe that the Chicken song is on the the same frequency. NOT IN THIS LIFE TIME, IF ANYTHING IT IS A BAD JOKE and an insulting comparison.

Last edited by caribarts; 02-19-2012 at 04:20 PM..
Old 02-19-2012, 04:24 PM   #36 (permalink)
17 61

Credits: 139,251
please do make it your last comment on the young men who are trying

After me tell dem run de marathon
dem couldnt run it!
after me tell dem bun dung de dance
dem couldnt bun it!!

Buju

Old 02-19-2012, 05:44 PM   #37 (permalink)

Credits: 468
I disagree with the title of this thread, why stop them? Everyone starts somewhere. Their presence will only help to grow and expand T&T carnival.

Folks shouldnt look at this in a negative way.