Old 03-10-2003, 08:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Dragon

Artiste of the week Super Blue

Super Blue

Austin Lyons, Super Blue, is the super soca star. His charisma is immeasurable. His live performances are mesmerizing... as his aura fills the stage, the crowd reacts to every move. He walks on stage, opens his arms and the crowd goes into a frenzy.

His achievements are incredible. From his amazing entrance on the Soca scene with his massive hit Soca Baptist, with which he won Road March in 1980, he then went on to winning Road March in 1981 & 1983. In the 1990's he won the title three years in a row. He is actually rivaling the Grand Master Kitchener with winning the most Road Marches in the history of Carnival
Old 03-10-2003, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Credits: 188
Simply put, Superblue is a master at what he does, making music to move the people. With him it is more than just wildness to jump up to. His MUSIC is infectious, his meolodies and rhythms never fail send listneners into a frenzy.

Just off the top my head let me name some of my favorite Blue boy/Superblue songs:

Unknown Band, Lost Tenor,Soca Baptist, Ethel, Rebecca, Swing, Poom Poom, Hello,Get something and Wave, Jab Jab, Jab Molassie, Bacchanal Time, Birthday Party, Fire Coming Down, Flag Party, Signal For Lara, Bounce, Barbara, Ato, Sundar Popo. And I know I forgot some.

Many people don't know that he composes music for other artists. He wrote Nani Wine for Crazy, On the Road and No Sleep for Ronnie Macintosh, The man with the Pepper Sauce for Swallow. And alot more I can't think of right now.

Now he seems to have passed the torch on to his daughters to carry on the tradition. See me on Faye Ann Lyons week.

Last edited by GeeDawg; 03-11-2003 at 11:54 PM..
Old 03-10-2003, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 9,315
Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Super Super Super Super Super!!!!

That man is a living legend, 8 time road march King and 6 time Soca Monarch King. Like Dragon said, "His charisma is immeasurable"
Old 03-10-2003, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 155
The best

Is what he aint do, he is simply the best
Old 03-10-2003, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,239
BIG UP SUPER BLUE!!!!!
Old 03-10-2003, 05:04 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 44
On sesame St.......... Bouncin.
I want to see rags and flags and condoms....

For all the times I wear blue and my superman jersey, I takin a drink

Stranger Gone.
Old 03-10-2003, 05:38 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 3,050

True Blue Fans...
artiste-week-super-blue-blue150.jpg  
Old 03-10-2003, 05:48 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,725
respect 2 blue boy. from the late 70's to present he has given us wonderful music and addictive melodies 2 cherish. absolutely puts his all in his works and like gee dawg says, does a lot of behind the scenes work 4 other artists.

we should post more however, 'it's a lovely day to go fishing but something is tellin me we should go and party'

salt
Old 03-10-2003, 09:40 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,729
Blue is the most beautiful color in the spectrum of color... the color is befitting for his greatness....

Ethel...... music playing, gyul do something..you better start to shake de ting.....
Old 03-10-2003, 10:59 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
carnivallllllllll

carnivallllllll dat is blue. Yeah one of the greatest of all time. I hope this is not the end of road for blue and judging on the steam that he song pick up in Trinidad I dont think it will be. Love to all those members who show their respect to the great super. We will wait for blue next year hopefully he will be back in the socaMonarch and in the road march contention. CARNIVALLLLLLLLLLL
SAVEOURSOCA!!!
Old 03-11-2003, 12:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,133
Yes, I have to drop something in here for one of my favorite all time artists. Mr. Austin Lyons, a pioneer in this ting we call soca. One of the greatest performers in this industry to ever hit de stage, and no doubt one of the most talented. Gee Dawg ran down many selections from his long list of hits so I doh need to get into all of that.

Just to show he still have it, take a listen to all the tunes on the Road Riddim and leave Superblue's tune for last, you'll hear the difference...that says it all!
Old 03-11-2003, 11:53 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by Socaboy

Just to show he still have it, take a listen to all the tunes on the Road Riddim and leave Superblue's tune for last, you'll hear the difference...that says it all!
I must agree with that...I listened to the Road Riddim album and Super's tune is by far the best lyrically!!
Old 03-11-2003, 12:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
BBM - 20CECCB0

Credits: 577,392
Date of Birth (DOB): 5/25/56
Best Known for: Road march Monarch several times over

BIO: Austin Lyons a/k/a Superblue (formerly known as Blue Boy) was born on May 25, 1956 in Point Fortin, Trinidad. At an early age he taught himself to make and play steel pan, and then formed his own band, the Apple Stars Steel Orchestra. In 1980 Blue boy joined a calypso tent and sang "Soca Baptist", written on a layover in Santo Domingo in 1979. This tune took the whole country by storm, and went on to earn him the title Road March Monarch. "Soca Baptist" was the biggest Road March in the history of Trinidad Carnival up to that time.

In 1981 he became Road March Monarch for the third time time with his tune "Rebecca", which was also played by the winners of Panorama, Witco Desperadoes.In 1986 Blue Boy helped form, then manage, the calypso tent "Culture House" and its associated record label. This venture required a lot of his time, but he still found time to write "Blue Fever", a runner-up for the Road March. In August he appeared at Socalypso 86 in London. This was the longest live soca festival to be staged in Europe up to that time.

In 1991 his tune "Get Something And Wave" earned a fourth Road March Monarch by a landslide and in August he became the first calypsonian to ever perform at Wembley Convention Centre in London, England.

In 1992 Superblue was crowned Road March Monarch for the fifth time with "Jab-Jab". In 1993 Superblue was crowned Road March Monarch for the sixth time with his tune "Bachannal Time". In 1995 Superblue coveted the title of Road March Monarch again with “Lara”. His 2000 Road March title for “Pump Up “ was marred by controversy, when a fellow vocalist Iwer George sued the committee claiming his song “Carnival Come Back Again” should have won. Superblue continues to tour the Caribbean, Canada, Europe and the United States, spreading the music and culture of Trinidad and Tobago.
Old 03-11-2003, 08:24 PM   #14 (permalink)

[i]
In 1981 he became Road March Monarch for the third time time with his tune "Rebecca", which was also played by the winners of Panorama, Witco Desperadoes.
[/B]
I am sorry to interrupt but I have a personal Super Blue story to tell. When Super found out that my mother was pregnant with me (Super is my godfather) he actually wanted my mother to name me 'Rebecca' because of the success that the song had....thank god my mother didn't agree.
Old 03-11-2003, 08:47 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
Rebecca

Ok what ever super say go he say mash up de stage we mashing up de stage he say jump and wave we go jump and wave he say call Trini Prinzez Rebecca we go call she Rebecca So your new name is now Rebecca...