Old 03-11-2009, 05:37 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 4,164
yeah Brian, u absolutly right, its real hard to sell positive music... ;(
http://www.socarevolution.com/
http://www.myspace.com/socase
http://caribbeanbacchanal.podomatic.com
http://soca.spreadshirt.net <<< Fresh Soca T-shirts and more!
Old 03-11-2009, 06:56 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 2,796
Sorry i doh consider it folk music, is a good pace Soca for me (grind it) I gettin too old for de fast paced Soca of nowadays. Didn't realize Ja had such quality Soca, I know of Byron Lee (R.I.P) but not many more. Will have to look into it more.
Old 03-11-2009, 09:17 AM   #18 (permalink)

Credits: 11,863
Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
Truss mi....if it ever becomes popular, you wont be able to say that 'roun here.
Beat sounds a little like Tek Way Yuhself. But truth is soca exist naturally all over the Caribbean and the wider region, mix African and European cultures in a similar way and you have to expect a similar result culturally, Soca, Zuk, Samba, Mento...
Old 03-11-2009, 10:39 AM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 20,802
Originally Posted by warrior View Post
Beat sounds a little like Tek Way Yuhself. But truth is soca exist naturally all over the Caribbean and the wider region, mix African and European cultures in a similar way and you have to expect a similar result culturally, Soca, Zouk, Samba, Mento...
rightly so..

Having beats similar to others cultures is undoubtly bringin we together and this feels a more of ragga soca feel 2 it. The producer shows his inspiration by the reggae vibes thus still keepin it bubbly like the dancehall scene like it.

In the end its all the same ting ... we all jammin wid each other ..some sweet some slack n so forth..

ps: if this was 2 b released on the rest of the soca scene then alot of those songs wudnt make it due 2 its nature.

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 03-11-2009, 11:16 AM   #20 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
rightly so..

Having beats similar to others cultures is undoubtly bringin we together and this feels a more of ragga soca feel 2 it. The producer shows his inspiration by the reggae vibes thus still keepin it bubbly like the dancehall scene like it.

In the end its all the same ting ... we all jammin wid each other ..some sweet some slack n so forth..

ps: if this was 2 b released on the rest of the soca scene then alot of those songs wudnt make it due 2 its nature.
Exactly, WE before ME.
Old 03-11-2009, 12:09 PM   #21 (permalink)

Credits: 4,010
LOL

I heard that riddim for the 1st time today on the radio but it was a lot faster about the speed of Coconut tree riddim. It sounded more like soca at that speed, but at this speed it sounds more like folk music.
Coconut tree riddim is 110bpm and National Pride is 109bpm...(1bpm difference) so dont get fooled there's not much of a different
Old 03-11-2009, 02:24 PM   #22 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mr. Friday View Post
Coconut tree riddim is 110bpm and National Pride is 109bpm...(1bpm difference) so dont get fooled there's not much of a different
Sorry it was more of the speed of the riddim that "Plenty Gal" is on.
Old 03-12-2009, 12:23 AM   #23 (permalink)

Credits: 9,321
Originally Posted by VIinOZ View Post
Sorry i doh consider it folk music, is a good pace Soca for me (grind it) I gettin too old for de fast paced Soca of nowadays. Didn't realize Ja had such quality Soca, I know of Byron Lee (R.I.P) but not many more. Will have to look into it more.
My sentiments exactly, I can only go so fast nowadays.
Old 03-12-2009, 12:28 AM   #24 (permalink)

Credits: 9,321
Beat sounds a little like Tek Way Yuhself. But truth is soca exist naturally all over the Caribbean and the wider region, mix African and European cultures in a similar way and you have to expect a similar result culturally, Soca, Zuk, Samba, Mento...
And you would be right about that. I don't think these Ja. guys ever sit down and say "I'm gonna produce a soca chune", (not talking bout Fab5 or BL&D) if they did it would sound more like the stuff coming out of the soca islands.
Old 03-12-2009, 01:33 AM   #25 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
And you would be right about that. I don't think these Ja. guys ever sit down and say "I'm gonna produce a soca chune", (not talking bout Fab5 or BL&D) if they did it would sound more like the stuff coming out of the soca islands.
Very true, as I said, you take the same African cultures and mix them with the same European cultures in a similar environment and you get a similar result. Sort of like identical twin men marry and have children from identical twin women. The kids technically aren't brothers and sisters, but basicly they are.

Hopefully this will help all of us understand that Soca don't belong to any one island but belongs to all of we.