Old 04-11-2004, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 19,771
Question Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

I'm back from trini and need some soca...something other than my pioneer. I mean really though...am I the only soca lover here? I was a little excited to find a similar soul in Belizean gal but now she is gone from us (God rest her soul). Come now...there's got to be more...where r u?
Old 04-11-2004, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,001
Mr. Young One right here
yet to find my carib ppl yet
Old 04-11-2004, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)

Red face

Yeah, I miself still lookin 4 them...whe de?
Old 04-11-2004, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
TAUREAN WOMAN...nuff said

Credits: 1,666
Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

Originally posted by 1trini-gyal
I'm back from trini and need some soca...something other than my pioneer. I mean really though...am I the only soca lover here? I was a little excited to find a similar soul in Belizean gal but now she is gone from us (God rest her soul). Come now...there's got to be more...where r u?
well i'll be down there for memorial weekend and i love nuff soca.... so i'll be a soca addict in orlando for a weekend :p
Old 04-11-2004, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
afterdark

Credits: 3,119
Nah gyal I live in Orlando and I'm A huge Soca Fan..... But I feel Yuh So times U feel like Yuh Alone Here....
Old 04-11-2004, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,001
Closest thing to Jump up & wave i get here is

"Throw Dem Bows"
Old 04-12-2004, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
afterdark

Closest thing to Jump up & wave i get here is
Lol....... Took The Words Right out me mouth
Old 04-12-2004, 09:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,433
Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

I am in de same boat...killing mih poor CDs from Trini....dey used to have the little underground station, but dat done...then they used to have Tropical Paradise but dey get shut down...so sometimes I go to Bob Marleys, and hope to God that they have a decent live band who's primary focus is soca...have to get a little fix sometimes...a little is better than nothing.
Old 04-12-2004, 01:46 PM   #9 (permalink)

Re: Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

Originally posted by triniprincess76
I am in de same boat...killing mih poor CDs from Trini....dey used to have the little underground station, but dat done...then they used to have Tropical Paradise but dey get shut down...so sometimes I go to Bob Marleys, and hope to God that they have a decent live band who's primary focus is soca...have to get a little fix sometimes...a little is better than nothing.
Yes tell me about it! I see they are starting something up at the old Spicy Hot and I believe I saw a flyer about something at some Troical something...think it mught be that spot on the corner of John Young and Colonial behind that gas station. We as soca lovers just need to start reppin for we ting...I know anytime I actually show up at a Firestone or Tabu or Carribbean I always mak it known that I want some soca. Most of the time they'll play it just to shut me up but the whole reason they are hesitant (what I've been told) is that when they drop a soca tune in de ting people standin up like they gwan to church. I sure if dem man see some more bam bam rollin they not gonna be against no soca.
Old 04-12-2004, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
afterdark

Check Bye Tropical Magic on A Friday night they R Having Something now....
Old 04-12-2004, 04:40 PM   #11 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

Yes tell me about it! I see they are starting something up at the old Spicy Hot and I believe I saw a flyer about something at some Troical something...think it mught be that spot on the corner of John Young and Colonial behind that gas station. We as soca lovers just need to start reppin for we ting...I know anytime I actually show up at a Firestone or Tabu or Carribbean I always mak it known that I want some soca. Most of the time they'll play it just to shut me up but the whole reason they are hesitant (what I've been told) is that when they drop a soca tune in de ting people standin up like they gwan to church. I sure if dem man see some more bam bam rollin they not gonna be against no soca.
I liked Tropical Paradise but ah hear dey shut dem down 'cause dey were selling liquor without a proper liquor license. Yeah, people act like soca is de worse ting dey ever hear in their life...but if de DJ give me 10 mins I happy...I was telling someone soca is de only kinda music I could hear all night, and not complain...can't do it for any other type of music...love soca bad!
Old 04-12-2004, 04:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 23,917
Re: Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

Well, I went to Bob Marley's on Spring Break one year in undergrad and they had a good live band. My girls and I had so much fun...we got our 'soca fix' for the vacation. I'll be in Orlando in early July so I'll be a 'soca addict' in Orlando for a week. :)
Old 04-12-2004, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

Originally posted by currygyal
Well, I went to Bob Marley's on Spring Break one year in undergrad and they had a good live band. My girls and I had so much fun...we got our 'soca fix' for the vacation. I'll be in Orlando in early July so I'll be a 'soca addict' in Orlando for a week. :)
You got lucky...i've had quite a bit of luck there...and I usually end up there most Saturday nights...you can call before you go to find out which band is performing, and their particular genre...the reggae bands usually play some soca, and they do a fairly good job with it...

I don't even stick around for Orlando Carnival...if I'm here, I go, if I plan my vacation then, I don't feel like it's a big loss.
Old 04-12-2004, 08:52 PM   #14 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Any Soca Addicts in Orlando or am I all alone?

You got lucky...i've had quite a bit of luck there...and I usually end up there most Saturday nights...you can call before you go to find out which band is performing, and their particular genre...the reggae bands usually play some soca, and they do a fairly good job with it...

I don't even stick around for Orlando Carnival...if I'm here, I go, if I plan my vacation then, I don't feel like it's a big loss.
Yeah I'm pretty much the same way. I was actually going to skip it again this year and go to Miami but I'm lookin to see if they gonna have any kiddie mas so my daughter could play. She turned four this year when we went to Trinidad and now she's wanting to play mas so...we'll see.

I am interested to see what's up with that tropical Magic business. Has anybody been?

I feel the same way about my soca though, I could hear soca whole night and I will be in my glee. Any other club I does have to hop from room to room to not go mad.
Old 05-19-2004, 08:59 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 202
For those of you that live in Orlando, you need to pool your money together and start your own club call "Soca Addicts"