Old 11-23-2005, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,882
Antiguans who've gone to Trini Carnival fetes...

Compare it to Lions...compare what you seen from Burning Flames to what you see from our best....I'd like to know what you all think of our fetes...
Old 11-23-2005, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,079
totally different ballgame.
Old 11-23-2005, 08:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 243
Originally Posted by yanktiguan
totally different ballgame.

...one is a fete..de udda is a jam experience...no comparison

Last edited by LolaMs; 11-23-2005 at 08:20 PM..
Old 11-23-2005, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,473
evenmore plainly...one is fete d udda is seshan

I am not Antiguan, me neva been in Anu for seshan nor in Trini for fete. I have been to both that were good and not so good in NYC.

Trini fetes have more artists doing a their individual big tune or bands doing their tunes plus hits which will have crowd response and reaction with some singing, flag and rag waving, and movements.

In a seshan in da Bronx usually wit Flames and couple bands doing mostly hits. The crowd moves differently with movements flag and rag waving. Now from what I have heard people say this still different from a Lions experience.

You could check out www.trinijunglejuice.com , they have some clips of BF plus several other fetes. Go to videos and look for the clips. That Onika clip could be a tear jerker.

Or try thses clips if they work

BF clip http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/Vide...FlamesLive.wmv

Onika clip http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/Vide...ungleJuice.wmv

Last edited by BFFan; 11-23-2005 at 09:35 PM..
Old 11-23-2005, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by BFFan
evenmore plainly...one is fete d udda is seshan

I am not Antiguan, me neva been in Anu for seshan nor in Trini for fete. I have been to both that were good and not so good in NYC.

Trini fetes have more artists doing a their individual big tune or bands doing their tunes plus hits which will have crowd response and reaction with some singing, flag and rag waving, and movements.

In a seshan in da Bronx usually wit Flames and couple bands doing mostly hits. The crowd moves differently with movements flag and rag waving. Now from what I have heard people say this still different from a Lions experience.
You could check out www.trinijunglejuice.com , they have some clips of BF plus several other fetes.

Or try thses clips if they work

BF clip http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/Vide...FlamesLive.wmv

Onika clip http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/Vide...ungleJuice.wmv

Lions is just that.....an experience and difficult to describe (I'm sure BET not even sure what to make of the footage dem have from Carnival 2K5 in Wadadli). Lions is "anyting goes"...literally. Yoo can do whaeva yoo want short of causing physical injury or death. Juss like the Bx "jam sesshans" but Flames is playing fuh about 6 hours straight...plenty of hits from their catalog. In Lions...they not "playing mud" (a nice mixture paste)..they playing straight up "DIRT"...yoo leff dat place dutty stink an nassy as hell. Jammers rush the stage to join Flames for a "jump up"......Lions is juss friggin' too WIKKED
Old 11-23-2005, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LolaMs
Lions is just that.....an experience and difficult to describe (I'm sure BET not even sure what to make of the footage dem have from Carnival 2K5 in Wadadli). Lions is "anyting goes"...literally. Yoo can do whaeva yoo want short of causing physical injury or death. Juss like the Bx "jam sesshans" but Flames is playing fuh about 6 hours straight...plenty of hits from their catalog. In Lions...they not "playing mud" (a nice mixture paste)..they playing straight up "DIRT"...yoo leff dat place dutty stink an nassy as hell. Jammers rush the stage to join Flames for a "jump up"......Lions is juss friggin' too WIKKED
Not to highjack de chread, but all me wan fu kno is when dem ah put um pon de T.V. ?
Old 11-23-2005, 09:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
Compare it to Lions...compare what you seen from Burning Flames to what you see from our best....I'd like to know what you all think of our fetes...

Antiguans like Trini Carnival fetes when they want a soca concert type environment (waving, social whinin') but, personally I only need to see that once a year and I'm good. However, when they lookin' to "jam"...is straight "small island fete"...cuz they gettin' on wyle wyle like is Carnival all ova again...
Old 11-23-2005, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Spitfire

Not to highjack de chread, but all me wan fu kno is when dem ah put um pon de T.V. ?

Me an Benjie juss min ah tark bout whamek dem nah show de subbn yet...not unless Tempo launch delay tings since dem have de same parent company as MTV. Yuh gyal....de ignorance whey min goo arn inna Lions...guh require plenty "editing"
Old 11-24-2005, 06:23 AM   #9 (permalink)

Me an Benjie juss min ah tark bout whamek dem nah show de subbn yet...not unless Tempo launch delay tings since dem have de same parent company as MTV. Yuh gyal....de ignorance whey min goo arn inna Lions...guh require plenty "editing"
Heee heee, seshan ah pwile...Oungku really mek dem ah bark jack....woooyeee

But me hab wan kweschan, why dem neva flim de seshan in ah Lions b4?

Last edited by BFFan; 11-24-2005 at 06:30 AM..
Old 11-24-2005, 07:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Spitfire

Heee heee, seshan ah pwile...Oungku really mek dem ah bark jack....woooyeee

But me hab wan kweschan, why dem neva flim de seshan in ah Lions b4?

Good kweschan....and me nah reelee knoh why ABS neva do it before buh me knoh recently me heer peeple me knoh say dem watch Lions live pan de intahnet Lions dutty dutty...so guess it nah quite fiteen wid ABS "nicey" Carnival show coverage.
Old 11-26-2005, 02:30 AM   #11 (permalink)

Good kweschan....and me nah reelee knoh why ABS neva do it before buh me knoh recently me heer peeple me knoh say dem watch Lions live pan de intahnet Lions dutty dutty...so guess it nah quite fiteen wid ABS "nicey" Carnival show coverage.
Well me ah google um an see. But Oungku an dem need fu settle and get dem public relations going.
Old 11-26-2005, 05:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,632
Antiguans like Trini Carnival fetes when they want a soca concert type environment (waving, social whinin') but, personally I only need to see that once a year and I'm good. However, when they lookin' to "jam"...is straight "small island fete"...cuz they gettin' on wyle wyle like is Carnival all ova again...
The last couple fetes that I've been to with Machel has been some REAL jam sessions....pure wildin out, I'll support that guy anytime, ain't no social whinin ting....
Old 11-26-2005, 10:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by cease10
The last couple fetes that I've been to with Machel has been some REAL jam sessions....pure wildin out, I'll support that guy anytime, ain't no social whinin ting....

That's great that you enjoy Machel...I enjoy him the time that I saw him as well. However,....Lions is a whole different animal...trust me on dat. The two experiences are just uncomparable. For instance.....Machel's concert show limits them to a performance time of about 1 hour maybe a little bit more. Now Flames in Lions go until eeda de police make dem lock dung ah mawnin' time or de church bells start ringin'. So I think it all is a matter of preference/mood which will determine how much sumbady gonna enjoy either event. I prefer endless "jamming" so it would be Lions type atmosphere anyday. So although I do like the occasional Trini concert fete I moreso enjoy the jam-band style fete.
Old 11-26-2005, 11:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,323
Lions is "anyting goes"...literally. Yoo can do whaeva yoo want short of causing physical injury or death.
yuh dont have 2 tell me twice
Old 11-26-2005, 11:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by SUGABUMBUM
yuh dont have 2 tell me twice

shhhhhhhhhhan nobody wearin' football helmets..maybe U'll see a hard hat or two but, those are fuh de soft peeple tryin' tuh mek sure dem doan geh a concussion.