Old 08-02-2006, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

Credits: 2,210
Thumbs up Antiguans .....

My Queen Ivena

Sunday July 30 2006

Dear Editor:

It amazes me how as Antiguans we readily accept, adapt and appreciate the culture of others but when it comes to Antiguan and Barbudan culture we are so ready to criticize and scorn.

It amazes me how our calypso culture is dwindling to the North American Rap Music, the Jamaican Dancehall Music, and the Trinidadian Soca Music but when we hear our reigning Female Calypso Queen and reigning Calypso Monarch Queen Ivena sing that we make such comments as: “she too brawling”, “she cyarn sing”, “she sing too raw”. The Americans have always sung in American, the Trinidadians in Trinidadian, and the Jamaicans in their Jamaican twang. So why shouldn’t Antiguans sing in our dialect, why should we aim to be as others?The roots of calypso music “lay in the arrival of African slaves, who, not being able allowed to speak with each other, communicated through song.” After much research I have found that the language used in singing calypso in Antigua was never the Queen’s English but a dialect not easily understood by the European Slave Owners.

Because of the struggles of the black man, calypso was never meant to be devoid of emotion. It was meant to be raw and full of emotion and expression. Just jigging up and down a stage tapping your fingers on the mike, just wouldn’t cut it, those are the expressions of a house slave not one that toils hard in the harsh Caribbean sun.

So to all the critics who dislike my Queen Ivena, to all those who feel that “she cyarn sing” or “she too brawling”, to all those who have a problem with her dramatic expressions on stage check yourself because you are definitely not in touch with your culture or with your blackness and the possibility is, that you just may be a house slave.

Ivena, you’re my Queen, you are a simple, humble, down to earth African Queen. And although I know that winning isn’t foremost in your mind (because you focus most on pleasing your fans), and there just may be a conspiracy, hold your head up high girl and continue to do what you do every year. Regardless of what anyone says you have rekindled the spark for Antiguan calypso, you have forced every other calypsonian to improve their game, you have made the arena, not the Savannah a better place and that my dear is the work of a Queen.

South Massive –

Queen Ivena Fan.

http://www.antiguasun.com/paper/?as=...006&ac=Opinion
Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness

Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne)
Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement
Old 08-02-2006, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Smarty Skirt

Credits: 1,544
I was wondering if I heard right with the Savannah thing. But that girl gives me goose bumps. I like Althea as a singer not a calypsonian. Ivena is a Calypsonian through and through.
Old 08-02-2006, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Charmed

Credits: 198
Originally Posted by soca_souljah
My Queen Ivena

Sunday July 30 2006

Dear Editor:

It amazes me how as Antiguans we readily accept, adapt and appreciate the culture of others but when it comes to Antiguan and Barbudan culture we are so ready to criticize and scorn.

It amazes me how our calypso culture is dwindling to the North American Rap Music, the Jamaican Dancehall Music, and the Trinidadian Soca Music but when we hear our reigning Female Calypso Queen and reigning Calypso Monarch Queen Ivena sing that we make such comments as: “she too brawling”, “she cyarn sing”, “she sing too raw”. The Americans have always sung in American, the Trinidadians in Trinidadian, and the Jamaicans in their Jamaican twang. So why shouldn’t Antiguans sing in our dialect, why should we aim to be as others?The roots of calypso music “lay in the arrival of African slaves, who, not being able allowed to speak with each other, communicated through song.” After much research I have found that the language used in singing calypso in Antigua was never the Queen’s English but a dialect not easily understood by the European Slave Owners.

Because of the struggles of the black man, calypso was never meant to be devoid of emotion. It was meant to be raw and full of emotion and expression. Just jigging up and down a stage tapping your fingers on the mike, just wouldn’t cut it, those are the expressions of a house slave not one that toils hard in the harsh Caribbean sun.

So to all the critics who dislike my Queen Ivena, to all those who feel that “she cyarn sing” or “she too brawling”, to all those who have a problem with her dramatic expressions on stage check yourself because you are definitely not in touch with your culture or with your blackness and the possibility is, that you just may be a house slave.

Ivena, you’re my Queen, you are a simple, humble, down to earth African Queen. And although I know that winning isn’t foremost in your mind (because you focus most on pleasing your fans), and there just may be a conspiracy, hold your head up high girl and continue to do what you do every year. Regardless of what anyone says you have rekindled the spark for Antiguan calypso, you have forced every other calypsonian to improve their game, you have made the arena, not the Savannah a better place and that my dear is the work of a Queen.

South Massive –

Queen Ivena Fan.

Old 08-02-2006, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 34,879
aint nothing wrong being a little like the Jamaicans
Old 08-02-2006, 06:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Charmed

Originally Posted by Jahpikne
aint nothing wrong being a little like the Jamaicans
You would say dat, but would Jamaicans like to be like us Antiguans
Old 08-02-2006, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 34,879
Originally Posted by Lady Charmer
You would say dat, but would Jamaicans like to be like us Antiguans
Can't speak for all but I'll let you know what I think when I return on 8/11 from L.A.
Old 08-02-2006, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Charmed

Originally Posted by Jahpikne
Can't speak for all but I'll let you know what I think when I return on 8/11 from L.A.
Old 08-02-2006, 07:35 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by soca_souljah
My Queen Ivena

Sunday July 30 2006

Dear Editor:

South Massive –

Queen Ivena Fan.

I've never heard the song yet. BUT, I do agree Antiguans should not be putting down there singers just because their singers use heavy Antigua dialect. Of course, I still need to hear the song to see if that is the only reason they are putting down the song.
Old 08-02-2006, 08:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Sanity Challenged

Credits: 3,636
Aight I just gotta say I've heard some songs by her but I neva could understand wha she saying I tried to decipher one but it was too difficult.
She performed well and there was emotion when she was here for the Leeward Islands Calypso Competition I just wish that it wasn't so raw so that other persons who are not Antiguan can understand what she saying. Isn't there a way to compromise?

de only ting I undastood from de song was "I have nuttin against Lester but......."
Old 08-02-2006, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by AXA_Princess
Aight I just gotta say I've heard some songs by her but I neva could understand wha she saying I tried to decipher one but it was too difficult.
She performed well and there was emotion when she was here for the Leeward Islands Calypso Competition I just wish that it wasn't so raw so that other persons who are not Antiguan can understand what she saying. Isn't there a way to compromise?

de only ting I undastood from de song was "I have nuttin against Lester but......."

Anguilla looks BEAUTIFUL.