Old 05-19-2004, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 205
Talking American Soca Artist

Do you think it's possible for an American to be a Soca Artist? There are Caribbean Artist who have sang over American songs. So do you think that an American person who listen and loves Soca just as much as a Caribbean person can be a Soca Artist?
Old 05-20-2004, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,914
Well the bagpipe soca folks made it to soca monarch...so I guess anything is possible. I just don't see it any time soon
Old 05-20-2004, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 19,808
Originally posted by Rummy
Well the bagpipe soca folks made it to soca monarch...so I guess anything is possible. I just don't see it any time soon
Bagpipe? I reach kinda late so ah musta miss dat 1...
Old 05-20-2004, 12:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 2,002
Yes it is, just as it is possible for there to be white rappers and chinese rappers. I have seen american artists doing reggae since it's introduction. Especially late nites on BCAT u catch all dem upcoming artists...

and also....some reggae/soca artists from the caribbean...were born in america!!!... so im guessing they would be classified as american..but even if so...alot of them have still made it far...

so i do think it's possible for a "american" person w/wo caribbean blood in them to become an soca artist...as long as dem have the drive and heart...it's all up to dem...although ah feel alot of negativity and set backs might come towards their way...with great devotion...in time they can climb over that mountain...
Old 05-20-2004, 03:11 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 152
those bag pipes definately hurt meh ears lol as for an american becomin' a soca artist i see no problem wit dat but i hope to see a canadian one first :)
Old 05-20-2004, 07:54 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,971
Music is universal, therefore a Korean can sing soca muchless an American.
Old 05-20-2004, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 181
Re: American Soca Artist

Originally posted by Socakay
Do you think it's possible for an American to be a Soca Artist? There are Caribbean Artist who have sang over American songs. So do you think that an American person who listen and loves Soca just as much as a Caribbean person can be a Soca Artist?
Burning Flames did a tune with a white man from England and yes the white man was singing soca. Flames also did a tune with a japenesse artist!
Old 05-20-2004, 10:21 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,914
oh yeah...well Machel bring Walker & he came out w/ tune a while back didn't he?
Old 05-20-2004, 11:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,869
It is very possible for an American to sing Soca. But what do you define as being American . I am from America but my family is from the Caribbean. I know plenty of people whose family have been here since slave days that rep for the Caribbean. What I would love to see is a Soca song sung on American Idol, now that's something worth pondering.
Old 05-20-2004, 02:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Born Again

Credits: 708
I'm an American soca artiste in training I was born here but I think havin' de Trini roots and background helps though. If de artiste rhel have love for the music and can do it some justice I say why not?
Old 05-20-2004, 05:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
SoCa ADdIcT-nEeD aH fIx

Credits: 774
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Rummy
[B]Well the bagpipe soca folks made it to soca monarch[B] [QUOTE]

they was real kicks too!!!
Old 05-20-2004, 07:49 PM   #12 (permalink)

Thanks for all of your replies and to Jandy, GOOD LUCK. I hope to see you out there soon.

The reason I brought up this topic is because I feel that Soca Music is not getting the same play as reggae music. Up til now if you tell someone about Soca music, they look at you like "what they h@ll you talking about". If you mention reggae, now you're talking about something they know.

I have seen jamaican reggae artist such as Bob Marley, Shaggy and Elephant man bring reggae to the mainstream. But not one Soca artist manage to bring Soca to the mainstream. Maybe on the backbone of the American artists, it can happen or if an American Artist sing Soca but bring it out with a mix of hip hop and R&B, but then again it will not really be Soca.

It would be nice if big time Artists like Beyonce and others have opening acts from the Caribbean exposing Soca to the audience and then maybe it will catch on. This is now 2004 and on the American TV station including cable I can find reggae artist performing on shows like the Music Awards or BET Spring Bling. Where are the Soca Artists?

They need to be better promoted. It would be nice if the Soca Awards can be televised this way people can learn more about the music. Besides, I get more exercise from Soca music than I get from Reggae. Maybe everyone the USA can lose some weight just by jumping up.
Old 05-20-2004, 08:41 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 5,638
steups... why the hell not???

Soca ent defined by who sing it..is it? Or is it by how it sound??
Old 05-21-2004, 02:10 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 24,388
Dylan not somewheere inbetween dere, since he broke now
Old 05-21-2004, 09:08 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally posted by Oneshot
Dylan not somewheere inbetween dere, since he broke now