Old 03-09-2004, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Unhappy Almost embarrased to ask

Does anyone know the name of this tune

Lyrics
When ah dead, bury mi clothes

HELP................................
Old 03-09-2004, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,843
Re: Almost embarrased to ask

Originally posted by deejaytrixx
Does anyone know the name of this tune

Lyrics
When ah dead, bury mi clothes

HELP................................
lol shame on u!!! that is Stick fight by Anslem Douglas
Old 03-09-2004, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,092
i don't know the name but i know Anslem Douglas sang it.
Old 03-09-2004, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by Val3nie2debone
i don't know the name but i know Anslem Douglas sang it.
Am hello try yuh best yuh ah lil late!!

BTW Good afternoon babes how u today?
Old 03-09-2004, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

you just make me win a bet..Thank you very much.

This man gonna argue with me and swear on a stack of bibles its call bury mi clothes....lord faddah.

he better start repenting now
Old 03-09-2004, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by deejaytrixx
you just make me win a bet..Thank you very much.

This man gonna argue with me and swear on a stack of bibles its call bury mi clothes....lord faddah.

he better start repenting now
Den he need de imps mobile. In fact scratch dat he need ah ims limo!!
Old 03-09-2004, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
Am hello try yuh best yuh ah lil late!!

BTW Good afternoon babes how u today?

oh gosh yuh replied before i could hit the submit button. but i am fine sir. how are things with u?
Old 03-09-2004, 04:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by Val3nie2debone
oh gosh yuh replied before i could hit the submit button. but i am fine sir. how are things with u?
Just dandy an yuh kno ah had to wild yuh!!:p
Old 03-09-2004, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,718
for historical purposes, the original composition was recorded earlier in the 60's i believe (or earlier than that).

not sure if it was Pal Joey or another long time brass band dat did the song. when i find out i'll let u know. have de tune at home. a classic.

salty
Old 03-09-2004, 06:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Originally posted by lordsalt
for historical purposes, the original composition was recorded earlier in the 60's i believe (or earlier than that).

not sure if it was Pal Joey or another long time brass band dat did the song. when i find out i'll let u know. have de tune at home. a classic.

salty
well if you have the original composition we have to link up and discuss some business
Old 03-09-2004, 08:48 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 700
Re: Re: Almost embarrased to ask

Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
lol shame on u!!! that is Stick fight by Anslem Douglas
Boss chune...di'n know it was Anselm (or Pal Joey or whoever...boss chune!)
Old 03-10-2004, 12:49 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,628
Originally posted by lordsalt

salty
Nerd boy.. do u kow if the stickfighters incorporated that song from dem.. or if they took it from the stickfighting industry???
Old 03-10-2004, 11:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
Nerd boy.. do u kow if the stickfighters incorporated that song from dem.. or if they took it from the stickfighting industry???

good salt...take question in yuh pampalam.....lol....hurry eh ah waiting for the reply.
Old 03-12-2004, 04:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Credits: 1,085
Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
Anslem remade a 60's Calypso (not by a band though - by a calypsonian but I cyah remember de name just yet... soo come :p). The original borrowed the hook from an actual old stickfight folk song - the original folk song has exactly the same melody and lyrics as the chorus we know from th soca tune... The folk song was sung during stickfights by fihgters and was supposed to intimidate the stickfighter's oppnent when someone sung it - it implied that the fighter singing it wasn't afraid to die fighting.

As soon as I confirm who sang it originally, I will come back and post... don't wanna put the wrong name out there: there's anough misinformation in the soca community as it is.

Last edited by MuzikkMan; 03-12-2004 at 04:06 AM..
Old 03-12-2004, 10:39 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,718
Muz, BG & Val - i stick real bad, cuz datz my field. muzik is correct. the song was composed as a not a tribute, but more less an anthem for stick fighters.

the original was sang by the Growling Tiger in the earlier 60's.

hear the original here
http://hurl.content.loudeye.com/scri...910&cid=010026

so ashamed......i said Pal Joey.... ......however, dey did do a cover of the tune or Ed Watson???.....and I have dat and the original 'When Ah Dead' by Tiger at home.

salty

Last edited by lordsalt; 03-12-2004 at 10:46 AM..