Old 05-25-2004, 10:33 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 1,276
I don't know about the way...but I agree that it it's a good way....
Old 05-25-2004, 11:07 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 367
Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

Originally posted by CrAziNeSs
I agree with u 49%.... cuz soca music just can't elavate through a music video itself.... de person has to feel de music and understand it first hand..instead of just seeing it through de eyes of de video director or artist....

if in fact... it is believed that it can elavate through videos... fine...but what if a soca artist comes out with one bad video..and that is de first someone witness of soca music....after that...dem wouldn't feel to understand it at all....

on the other hand...a video like sugar daddy - sweet soca music...and destra - it's carnival....are good music videos to introduce ppl to soca/trinidad with.... but ah don't feel dem define soca at all....yes de videos are flashy and are high in excitment... but it can send the wrong message to ah first time viewer...
So what are you saying? Should we or shouldnt we. Its like your not giving a direct answer! You say people might get the wrong idea? Why? Whats the difference btw rap videos when they first made it to mtv and soca doing it as well? I dont know.
Old 05-25-2004, 02:00 PM   #18 (permalink)

Credits: 101
V POWA you're 100% rite...

The SOCA BUSINESS OF TODAY NEEDS TO BE REBUILT FROM SCRATCH ,IF WE WANT TO COMPETE WITH THE MAJORS....

Fireeeeeeee
Old 05-25-2004, 06:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 6,209
WOW THIS GREAT FIRST OFF. EVERYONE RESPONDING REPECTFULY AND MAKING EXCELLENT POINTS. HATS OFF TO EVERONE

I believe that if what was done once can be done already. What do you guys think about "Hot, Hot , Hot"? Still being played in movies, a huge international song. I think in time, that catchy tune that can't get out of peoples mind is going to come around again. It could be something that starts a trend or maybe even a dance. But of course, it takes a focused and serious mind to push them selves. And I believe the catchy tune will be 100% pure soca.
Old 05-25-2004, 09:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 3,338
Re: Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

Originally posted by harizon
So what are you saying? Should we or shouldnt we. Its like your not giving a direct answer! You say people might get the wrong idea? Why? Whats the difference btw rap videos when they first made it to mtv and soca doing it as well? I dont know.
Yes I am saying people might get the wrong idea for example. my co-worker is Polish and the first and only soca videos she ever seen was It's carnival and Turn Me On . after seeing those videos, she went along, thinking, that ... carnival and costuming was an ordinary thing.. she came to me and said "I want to go next week and play carnival, I like the outfits they wear, I am going to play the whole week straight."and remind u this is in april. some people that I know take trinidad as a club or something....

and with rap music.... ah rather not get into it... most rapper make videos just to out do the other..... and to bring their hopeless dreams onto film...so there is ah difference...
Old 05-25-2004, 09:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mommy Dearest

Credits: 67,246
I AGREE THAT SOCA MUSIC NEEDS VIDEOS IN ORDER TO ELEVATE ITSELF. i WAS WONDERING HARIZON WHERE DID YOU GET TO SEE ALL THE VIDEOS YOU LISTED PREVIOUSLY.
Old 05-25-2004, 10:05 PM   #22 (permalink)

Credits: 185,301
Re: Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

Originally posted by harizon
I think the big difference between rap videos when it made it to MTV and soca doing it as well, is, Rap is an American art form while soca is a foreign genre trying to make it in the American mainstream.

Furthermore, when the first rap video made it on MTV, it was rap/rock fusion called "Rock Box" by RunDMC.
Old 05-25-2004, 10:24 PM   #23 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

Yes I am saying people might get the wrong idea for example. my co-worker is Polish and the first and only soca videos she ever seen was It's carnival and Turn Me On . after seeing those videos, she went along, thinking, that ... carnival and costuming was an ordinary thing.. she came to me and said "I want to go next week and play carnival, I like the outfits they wear, I am going to play the whole week straight."and remind u this is in april. some people that I know take trinidad as a club or something....

and with rap music.... ah rather not get into it... most rapper make videos just to out do the other..... and to bring their hopeless dreams onto film...so there is ah difference...
I hear you bredrin but really you trying to tell videos wont have an positive effect ? Money wont circulate better than it is now in the industry? We need more videos point blank! Now about your co-worker, thats a weak argument! She sees its carnival and im sure she was pleased, the pretty custom s and ting! Its was something new for her so of course shes gonna be kinda oblivious of how and when we celebrate carnival. Whats the difference btw that and someone else watching a rock, pop, or reggae for the first time??? The only ting we can do is try to teach dem what its all about!:)
Old 05-25-2004, 10:28 PM   #24 (permalink)

Originally posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva**
I AGREE THAT SOCA MUSIC NEEDS VIDEOS IN ORDER TO ELEVATE ITSELF. i WAS WONDERING HARIZON WHERE DID YOU GET TO SEE ALL THE VIDEOS YOU LISTED PREVIOUSLY.
I mostly catch dem on C.I.N or Synergy!
Old 05-25-2004, 10:30 PM   #25 (permalink)
fox

Credits: 122
Re: Re: Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

from what you wrote, i'll think your not a smart person.

The reason why Machel made his music video so, is because they want people to know about carnival, that it'a a big party in the sun for two days.

With costumes, music and bands, thats what the country is most popular for.

Destra sings about how special and sweet is carnival is.
Wendy fiztwilliams( how ever you spell it) sold trinidad to the world by saying "trinidad is the island of fun.
Machel sings it to the world that carnival is de greatest fete.
And last but most important, Trinidad and Tobago sell themselves by saying "carnival is the greatest show on earth".
And well it is
Trinidad is a big ass night club because three months before carnival its fete right till ash wednesday.
And every trini knows fete don't stop there, it fete again, and again, again, again, again..
So yes trinidad is one of the biggest night club, and tobago is for peace.

Last edited by fox; 05-25-2004 at 10:37 PM..
Old 05-25-2004, 10:42 PM   #26 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

Originally posted by fox

The reason why Machel made his music video so, is because they want people to know about carnival, that it'a a big party in the sun for two days.

Wendy fiztwilliams( how ever you spell it) sold trinidad to the world by saying "trinidad is the island of fun.
And last but most important, Trinidad and Tobago sell themselves by saying "carnival is the greatest show on earth".
And well it is
Trinidad is a big ass night club because three months before carnival its fete right till ash wednesday.
And every trini knows fete don't stop there, it fete again, and again, again, again, again..
Old 05-25-2004, 11:04 PM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 185,301

Originally posted by fox

And well it is
I am wondering if you really understand what you just said about Trinidad?

I think you better read your post. Once you read it, I want you to read it again. Once you do that, think of what you really wrote, and then tell me what you come up with.
Old 05-25-2004, 11:38 PM   #28 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 3,338

Originally posted by fox

And well it is
ur ego has to be much bigger than ur brain.... that is the opinion of a fellow co-worker of mine.... not mine..but hers..... u are the reason...violence is a crime......if u would sit, and re-read and take ur keyboard out ur rass u would of understood my comment...but nothing in de world..would get me to understand urs...

and harizon hun..soca won't elevate itself 100% through videos.... but to some extent yes..I hear where u are coming from too..but remember there would be some people who get mislead...so other methods of introduction will help also..
Old 05-26-2004, 03:27 AM   #29 (permalink)
fox

Credits: 122
i understand what yuh saying craziness, i didn't mean to get so rude.
But Vincypowa i know what i say, cause it's all trini's who said it in the first place.
The person who said trinidad is one big night club, is the travel channel, cause trinis like to party.
Look at tv nah.
Old 05-26-2004, 08:26 AM   #30 (permalink)

Credits: 7,921
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Agree or disagree?

ur ego has to be much bigger than ur brain.... that is the opinion of a fellow co-worker of mine.... not mine..but hers..... u are the reason...violence is a crime......if u would sit, and re-read and take ur keyboard out ur rass u would of understood my comment...but nothing in de world..would get me to understand urs...

and harizon hun..soca won't elevate itself 100% through videos.... but to some extent yes..I hear where u are coming from too..but remember there would be some people who get mislead...so other methods of introduction will help also..
Wow it's so interesting finally seeing all of this guys. For the record the real story behind some of this. It's carnival music video is a small clip from the Inside carnival 2k3 DVD. That carnival DVD is an educational documentry that was put together to help market Trinidad Carnival and culture to the rest of the world and to also prove why Trinidad Carnival is the Greatest Show on Earth. I was also kind of tired of explaining to people in the general public what carnival in Trinidad was really like. So why not have a visual to show them? Normally when you say carnival to the average person they think of an amusement park or Rio's carnival It was also specifically designed and made to target people Puffy and others in the music/entertainment industry. So that they too can also learn what soca/calpyso/steel pan music sounds like. :) Its was only a matter of time before the word got out to the right people. :p Anyway, Advance Dynamics is going to be coming out with the 2k4 version soon and I can't wait. It's going to be
Successful people work on themselves! While the "over-night wonders" become arrogant and quickly disappear, really successful people work on their personality, their leadership skills, management skills, and every other detail of life. When a relationship or business deal goes sour, they assume they can learn from it a...nd they expect to do better next time. Successful people don’t tolerate flaws; they fix them!