Old 09-09-2009, 08:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Me

Credits: 24,974
Thumbs up 2009 West Indian Labor Day Carnival Footage

I had alot of fun at this years carnival, most fun i had there in a long time, it was like they held back on alot of the usual rules this year, i still have alot more footage of more bands to upload later today other than the ones shown
Old 09-09-2009, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,163
hey

thats nice

i never been to Labour day in NYC so im wondering what kind of rules they usally have.

I been to some carnivals all over europe and north america and all of them are very diffrent whats is allowed and what not.

Do they have big fences in NYC too?
A lot of security, police or just band security?
http://www.socarevolution.com/
http://www.myspace.com/socase
http://caribbeanbacchanal.podomatic.com
http://soca.spreadshirt.net <<< Fresh Soca T-shirts and more!
Old 09-09-2009, 10:22 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,778
thanx julian for that...i deffo would like to go to nyc one day & see how it compares to the london one. cant stand the london one!!
Old 09-09-2009, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Me

Originally Posted by da.swedish.soca.bwoy View Post
hey

thats nice

i never been to Labour day in NYC so im wondering what kind of rules they usally have.

I been to some carnivals all over europe and north america and all of them are very diffrent whats is allowed and what not.

Do they have big fences in NYC too?
A lot of security, police or just band security?
Our carnival don't have large fences but we have guard rails lining ine parkway and the arangment of them at the intersections sometimes makes it like a puzzle to move around. Some bands have there own security but for the parade in general there's like a couple thousand nypd officers everywhere, this year felt real nice for me. I have alot more video to put up later.
Old 09-09-2009, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Me

Old 09-10-2009, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,207
Originally Posted by julian182 View Post

Julian yuh is meh boy on here eh with all the hookups and I normally love your work. But this footage is definately not carnival and I would take that word carnival out of the youtube description. It's just footage of a bunch of people jumping up with a music truck waving diverse Caribbean rags babe.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 09-10-2009 at 12:34 PM..
Old 09-10-2009, 01:32 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 20,794
Originally Posted by proudmixed View Post
thanx julian for that...i deffo would like to go to nyc one day & see how it compares to the london one. cant stand the london one!!
boy this year u missed out sorry!!! everyone who actually partake in d carnival had fun wether it was build up from jouvey to chocolate sunday or liquid gold to pretty mas on monday ppls had fun n d vibes n weather was bless and where was yu at home probably shame on u mannnnnn!!!

dont know y u jus didnt go n find yaself inna band n dun... cha!!! ....lol

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Julian yuh is meh boy on here eh with all the hookups and I normally love your work. But this footage is definately not carnival and I would take that word carnival out of the youtube description. It's just footage of a bunch of people jumping up with a music truck waving diverse Caribbean rags babe.
dais is a bit harsh but then again the camera doh lie eh? he might not have been where all d hype was or he camera might have dead by d time d good times were rollin who knows but him n everyone else who was der?

buttttt!! it initiailly did look a tad pooring from d starting part n dem revellers was chippin alot ratha dan gettin on badda dan but i here a few 2k9 tunes which good 2 hear !

i gon watch d rest!!!!

ps: whoever goes MIA and has time 2 show we how it ah go so do so...

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 09-10-2009, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
boy this year u missed out sorry!!! everyone who actually partake in d carnival had fun wether it was build up from jouvey to chocolate sunday or liquid gold to pretty mas on monday ppls had fun n d vibes n weather was bless and where was yu at home probably shame on u mannnnnn!!!

dont know y u jus didnt go n find yaself inna band n dun... cha!!! ....lol

dais is a bit harsh but then again the camera doh lie eh? he might not have been where all d hype was or he camera might have dead by d time d good times were rollin who knows but him n everyone else who was der?

buttttt!! it initiailly did look a tad pooring from d starting part n dem revellers was chippin alot ratha dan gettin on badda dan but i here a few 2k9 tunes which good 2 hear !

i gon watch d rest!!!!

ps: whoever goes MIA and has time 2 show we how it ah go so do so...
You know I got mad love for you guys and always making sure we get the best live streams from Trinidad for carnival. If I dont like the angles of the camera I am the first one calling up Trinidad complaining about the feed/streaming. But carnival is about the costumes and this is why folks always turn up their noses when they see images on youtube of the NY Labor day parade. Where all the pretty gyals in costumes babe? You have to position yourself closer to the judging point or onto one of the mas bands music truck to see the real carnival parade. Julian now you going to make me give VP back his video memory card.

New York had over 52 new carnival mas bands this year. Lots of pretty mas and costumes. I dont know if Julian was taping towards the end of the parade or at the starting point but these are the music trucks that were getting turned off the parkway. Not even the Hot 97 truck got onto the parkway this year.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 09-10-2009 at 02:26 PM..
Old 09-10-2009, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Me

You know I got mad love for you guys and always making sure we get the best live streams from Trinidad for carnival. If I dont like the angles of the camera I am the first one calling up Trinidad complaining about the feed/streaming. But carnival is about the costumes and this is why folks always turn up their noses when they see images on youtube of the NY Labor day parade. Where all the pretty gyals in costumes babe? You have to position yourself closer to the judging point or onto one of the mas bands music truck to see the real carnival parade. Julian now you going to make me give VP back his video memory card.

New York had over 52 new carnival mas bands this year. Lots of pretty mas and costumes. I dont know if Julian was taping towards the end of the parade or at the starting point but these are the music trucks that were getting turned off the parkway. Not even the Hot 97 truck got onto the parkway this year.
lol i reached the parkway begining at like 1 ad i think by then most of the costume bands were already heading down, Borokeets was really were i caught up on the parkway, i missed everything before them. i usualy have help but this year i was down there alone, last year i had great photos but this year i had to pick between recording or taking pics and after all the partyin the days before i really aint feel like walking all over the place up & down or even recordibg lol, it was a last min decision to head to the parkway cuz i was gonna stay home for the first time since 2001, here's some nice picture shots my friend took while she was down there, ill post the rest from her later on youtube:

Old 09-11-2009, 12:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,303
Pebbles,

Spoken like a true Trini....I guess all actives around carnival must be about " pretty Mas" such as Bras, thongs...how dare these gate crashers mess up this thing call " carnival" much less call this nonsense carnival ......then again what the hell I know.
Old 09-11-2009, 11:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by julian182 View Post
lol i reached the parkway begining at like 1 ad i think by then most of the costume bands were already heading down, Borokeets was really were i caught up on the parkway, i missed everything before them. i usualy have help but this year i was down there alone, last year i had great photos but this year i had to pick between recording or taking pics and after all the partyin the days before i really aint feel like walking all over the place up & down or even recordibg lol, it was a last min decision to head to the parkway cuz i was gonna stay home for the first time since 2001, here's some nice picture shots my friend took while she was down there, ill post the rest from her later on youtube:

Thanks babe I'll look out for it then.
Old 09-11-2009, 11:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Pebbles,

Spoken like a true Trini....I guess all actives around carnival must be about " pretty Mas" such as Bras, thongs...how dare these gate crashers mess up this thing call " carnival" much less call this nonsense carnival ......then again what the hell I know.
LOL Pine now you know that I am a very proud Trini. Just how I can't go to Jamaica and tell you how to make jerk chicken. Then you also can't tell Trinis how to make Roti and doubles.

We agrue about the meaning of carnival every year on here babe. Yuh still not going to win this NY carnival debate with me.lol

Go Trinidad and Tobago
Old 09-11-2009, 12:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,303
LOL Pine now you know that I am a very proud Trini. Just how I can't go to Jamaica and tell you how to make jerk chicken. Then you also can't tell Trinis how to make Roti and doubles.

We agrue about the meaning of carnival every year on here babe. Yuh still not going to win this NY carnival debate with me.lol

Go Trinidad and Tobago
Hey Pebbles,

Oh I know....yuh proud, nothing wrong with that....its all good. I was just checking to see if as you mature if you were moving to the center. I will check back next yr. lol.
Old 09-11-2009, 12:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Hey Pebbles,

Oh I know....yuh proud, nothing wrong with that....its all good. I was just checking to see if as you mature if you were moving to the center. I will check back next yr. lol.
LOL I have matured Pine and I am willing to meet yuh half way. My top 3 NY carnival models are Jamaican, Bajan and Grenadian. The Trini soca artist still snobing the parkway. So as I continue to play devil's advocate its a uphill battle with some of the marketing efforts. Pretty gyals in carnival costumes get me sponsors not people jumping with a music trucks waving flags. Its all good however and yuh still meh boy.