Old 11-05-2007, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,891
Thumbs down 2008 Barbados Music Award Nominations

Once again they suck (not all but most). Ronnie Morris & friends (so many categories make no sense - AGAIN).

http://boycevoice.com
Old 11-05-2007, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 20,794
never heard dat one

Tara & Natahlee- I Ain’t Lookin’ was it n e good??

oh gosh reggae this n dat??? well its a reflection of wot is going on in bim cos they love dem dub tunes so JA ppls wud feel right at home!!!!

but gheese so many awards ??? but then again its not jus a soca ting for bim i guess unless it was stated Bajan Soca Awards Nominees??!

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-05-2007, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
never heard dat one

oh gosh reggae this n dat??? well its a reflection of wot is going on in bim cos they love dem dub tunes so JA ppls wud feel right at home!!!!

but gheese so many awards ??? but then again its not jus a soca ting for bim i guess unless it was stated Bajan Soca Awards Nominees??!
Tarah song nice...i think she place 5th in Party Monarch. Bim have their own dub artistes, so that's not really an issue (I'm not familiar with all of them, but I know they have songs that are rotated regular on their stations). Yes it is Barbados MUSIC not jus soca.
Old 11-06-2007, 01:52 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,305
Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
never heard dat one

Roughly 37 awards, 2 for R&B, 2 for Hip Hop, 2 for Jazz, 2 for Reggae.......but which one sticks out for you? Seems to me Reggae is just one of the popular music genres in Barbados. Looks like Bajans are into all forms of music.
Old 11-06-2007, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 15,461
looks like a joke to me....who they putting on this big show for.......ah keep saying West Indians need to stop looking for acceptanc from outsiders .......wah d fork Alison Hinds and Rihanna getting awards for........Boyce looks like he selling out to d man.........shame shame shame.........wat d fork Machel getting an award for......is this to make amends for Patrice not gettig a prize cuz she wasnt Bajan....wat a joke
Old 11-06-2007, 07:32 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 35,017
Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
looks like a joke to me....who they putting on this big show for.......ah keep saying West Indians need to stop looking for acceptanc from outsiders .......wah d fork Alison Hinds and Rihanna getting awards for........Boyce looks like he selling out to d man.........shame shame shame.........wat d fork Machel getting an award for......is this to make amends for Patrice not gettig a prize cuz she wasnt Bajan....wat a joke
ARE RIHANNA AND HINDS OUTSIDERS?

THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX INSTEAD OF YA BIG HEAD. NEXT TIME, DONT DRINK AND DRIVE BAUER.

machel is gettin an international award prize. do u know wat i mean by international? patrice was in a local competition.
Old 11-06-2007, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post

Well it's not just soca, so Rihanna rightfully there (I swear she need to win female performer of the year). My issue is more with soca album of the year (by solo/duo/group). Either Krosfyah need to win it, or there shouldnt have been a category for lack of albums avail (Jabae album came out late & is mostly songs from previous years. Alison's album officially released after the deadline for submissions & also contains a number of older songs - and a set of songs not soca).

Producer category is puzzling as well. I'm not sure why there are a number of artistes & songs nominated in other categories, yet there are several producers not listed as nominees. A good number of the 50 people were that were part of the committee to select the people were picking names out their ass rather than paying attention to who actually deserve to be there (ie. Soka Junkie isn't up for Soca Single but makes it to Song of Year.. .wtf sense is that? Song won People's Choice, Road March & came 2nd in Party Monarch).
Old 11-06-2007, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 20,794
Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
Well it's not just soca, so Rihanna rightfully there (I swear she need to win female performer of the year). My issue is more with soca album of the year (by solo/duo/group). Either Krosfyah need to win it, or there shouldnt have been a category for lack of albums avail (Jabae album came out late & is mostly songs from previous years. Alison's album officially released after the deadline for submissions & also contains a number of older songs - and a set of songs not soca).

Producer category is puzzling as well. I'm not sure why there are a number of artistes & songs nominated in other categories, yet there are several producers not listed as nominees. A good number of the 50 people were that were part of the committee to select the people were picking names out their ass rather than paying attention to who actually deserve to be there (ie. Soka Junkie isn't up for Soca Single but makes it to Song of Year.. .wtf sense is that? Song won People's Choice, Road March & came 2nd in Party Monarch).
yeh dat is ah big point....

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow