Old 02-11-2007, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Soca or die .. BIATCH !!!

Credits: 95
Arrow >>>2 questions<<<

1. Can some tell me what happened to calypso ? is it over shadowed by soca ? have the majority of supporters become the minority ? or ppl want more tempo and hype than just lyrics ?

2. why is it when a thread is created it can never stay on course must it be hijacked and get totally side tracked ?? sometimes you even lose interest in the thread

example a thread is created about who is the wealthiest performer artist etc .from the caribbean ..... and in the thread the MAIN topic WYCLEF IS A HIP HOP ARTIST NOT SOCA OR CHUTNEY OR REGGAE OR DANCEHALL OR DISCO OR ROCK

ohhhhhhhh yeaahhhhhhh <--- i like that it does roll off the finger tips nice lol
Old 02-11-2007, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,577
Originally Posted by Lucian2dbone View Post
1. Can some tell me what happened to calypso ? is it over shadowed by soca ? have the majority of supporters become the minority ? or ppl want more tempo and hype than just lyrics ?

calypso is moreso a laid back/commentary type of music, whereas soca is a get on wild ( except the groovy soca) type music.

example nigerian highlife music is almost like calypso/kaiso commentary it attracts the more listening crowd, whereas a more lively nigerian music will catch the ears and body of more lively crowd.

Calypso = big people music - Soca = the wildout crew.

2. why is it when a thread is created it can never stay on course must it be hijacked and get totally side tracked ?? sometimes you even lose interest in the thread

example a thread is created about who is the wealthiest performer artist etc .from the caribbean ..... and in the thread the MAIN topic WYCLEF IS A HIP HOP ARTIST NOT SOCA OR CHUTNEY OR REGGAE OR DANCEHALL OR DISCO OR ROCK

ohhhhhhhh yeaahhhhhhh <--- i like that it does roll off the finger tips nice lol
To answer this question, when you have idiots that have a very narrow mind about caribbean music this will always be the case, people ask who is the welthiest performer, artist etc in the caribbean people automatically thinks soca or reggae, is soca & reggae the only genre of caribbean music? steups.

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.

Last edited by notorious saga; 02-11-2007 at 12:48 PM..
Old 02-11-2007, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 15,612
Ok, I'll answer question number one. I won't talk about the other islands but I know for sure in Antigua soca has definitely passed calypso in terms of popularity. There was even talk about moving the Calypso Monarch finals to Saturday and giving the Party Monarch finals, the Sunday. I do believe that it's a case where younger people especially relate more to soca than they do to calypso. And older people still relate to both. So because of that, soca has a greater fanbase right now.
Old 02-11-2007, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Soca or die .. BIATCH !!!

Credits: 95
Originally Posted by notorious saga View Post
To answer this question, when you have idiots that have a very narrow mind about caribbean music this will always be the case, people ask who is the welthiest performer, artist etc in the caribbean people automatically thinks soca or reggae, is soca & reggae the only genre of caribbean music? steups.

Originally Posted by direct_effect View Post
Ok, I'll answer question number one. I won't talk about the other islands but I know for sure in Antigua soca has definitely passed calypso in terms of popularity. There was even talk about moving the Calypso Monarch finals to Saturday and giving the Party Monarch finals, the Sunday. I do believe that it's a case where younger people especially relate more to soca than they do to calypso. And older people still relate to both. So because of that, soca has a greater fanbase right now.

ok i follow both of you and agree but is it FAIR when RADIO makes a decision to play ALMOST NO CALYPSO shutting out the minority of ppl who love calypso i think radio has a strong part to play in this am sure if we heard calypso on the airwaves ppl would pay more attention to it ... or maybe i eh know what i talking about..... but repetition does have an effect on ppl
Old 02-11-2007, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 140,977
Did you say IDIOTS?

Well, stop making yourself LQQK like one.

An IMIXER (ONE PERSON) created this THREAD....and in the OPENING POST by the AUTHOR (ONE PERSON) she or he SPECIFICALLY OUTLINED what GENRES we should CONCENTRATE on.

But of course, like the AUTHOR of this THREAD stated, there R those WHO are LACKING the CAPACITY to STAY on TOPIC.
Old 02-11-2007, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 15,612
ok i follow both of you and agree but is it FAIR when RADIO makes a decision to play ALMOST NO CALYPSO shutting out the minority of ppl who love calypso i think radio has a strong part to play in this am sure if we heard calypso on the airwaves ppl would pay more attention to it ... or maybe i eh know what i talking about..... but repetition does have an effect on ppl
well each station i think gears the music towards the demographic. i kno in anu, both observer radio and zdk, stations that older people listen to, play a good amount of calypso both in and out of the season. Whereas stations such as SUN, Family, Gem, Hitz and Liberty who are geared towards younger audiences are likely to play only soca and not calypso.
Old 02-11-2007, 01:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,577
Did you say IDIOTS?

Well, stop making yourself LQQK like one.

An IMIXER (ONE PERSON) created this THREAD....and in the OPENING POST by the AUTHOR (ONE PERSON) she or he SPECIFICALLY OUTLINED what GENRES we should CONCENTRATE on.

But of course, like the AUTHOR of this THREAD stated, there R those WHO are LACKING the CAPACITY to STAY on TOPIC.
Somebody say shit and you come sliding down, lol it's funny when you heard idiot you felt the urge to respond lol like i called your name or something? are you the vincy town idiot. ohhhhh yeaaaaaaa you were one of the idiots in that thread, come again like the idiot that you are lol - awaiting your idiotic reply as usual.

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.
Old 02-11-2007, 01:51 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,396
so, who do you think is gonna rock the grammys tonight?
Old 02-11-2007, 01:54 PM   #9 (permalink)

Somebody say shit and you come sliding down, lol it's funny when you heard idiot you felt the urge to respond lol like i called your name or something? are you the vincy town idiot. ohhhhh yeaaaaaaa you were one of the idiots in that thread, come again like the idiot that you are lol - awaiting your idiotic reply as usual.
Why are you so DEFENSIVE?

You CREATED a POST LACKING any SENSE as it RELATES to the ISSUE you TYPED on.....U were CORRECTED.

You should THANK ME for CORRECTING your ERRONEOUS ways.

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhh
Old 02-11-2007, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
so, who do you think is gonna rock the grammys tonight?

Mannnnn, I THINK it will be de WHITE BOY, Justin Timberlake.
Old 02-11-2007, 02:03 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 3,396

Mannnnn, I THINK it will be de WHITE BOY, Justin Timberlake.
Man, you is a realll C*nt! Timberlake?....PLEASE! tonights show is gonna be all about Mary! what do you think Lucian2dbone?
Old 02-11-2007, 02:04 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
Man, you is a realll C*nt! Timberlake?....PLEASE! tonights show is gonna be all about Mary! what do you think Lucian2dbone?

Mannnnn, DE WHITE BOY is GOING to TAKE this. They are ALREADY BUILDING HIM UP as the NEXT GREAT POP STAR.

But I think MARY will get her SHARE.
Old 02-11-2007, 02:19 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 153,685
calypso doesn't exist too me.i cah listen to it i doh know why.
Old 02-11-2007, 02:27 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 426

One of the reason why soca have supplanted calypso, IMO: Calypso in its truest form is a social, economical and political commentary to a specific island nation, so its kind of difficult to market outside of the specific island. Part of the difficulty is that someone outside of the island would not be able to relate to the song. Where as soca is genrally about partying and styles of partying with catches phrases that anyone could adopt and relate to....

part 2, its just like debate in a group people always stray from the subject.
Old 02-11-2007, 02:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,638
Originally Posted by direct_effect View Post
this does mek me wonder how much longer calypso will be around, cause seein that the fanbase is mostly older folks and the younger folks ain't pickin up on it, maybe calypso might die off with the older folks

I agree with u, it does have an effect, listenin to the radio, I does pick up on the calypsoes that I hearin and I does like them, so yea u have a point