Old 08-30-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,460
$15,000 To book KL?

speking to a couple promoters over the weekend and they say KL charging 15,000 to perform. What allyuh think?
Im all for artists making their share of money but what should we base their prices on? Or maybe his price has something to do with his label. I aint know
Old 08-30-2005, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,228
to perform how much song?? steups
Old 08-30-2005, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,398
He's on international standards now.
Old 08-30-2005, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 375
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
speking to a couple promoters over the weekend and they say KL charging 15,000 to perform. What allyuh think?
Im all for artists making their share of money but what should we base their prices on? Or maybe his price has something to do with his label. I aint know
Thats not really much...probably for a strictly soca crowd its more than other acts but he does carry a mainstrean name.
Old 08-30-2005, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
I am de one Sizwe C

Credits: 280
Originally Posted by deoriginalrudeboy
He's on international standards now.
But realy how many songs can he sing? I mean I sure he could sing every song from his album but are people really trying to hear that?
Old 08-30-2005, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,893
Well...considering he's signed to a label now, understandable. Would I think that is fair to a soca promoter? NO. But as an artiste who would be performing alongside more popular entertainers(mainstream), it isn't that bad. Those promoters can afford it.
Old 08-30-2005, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

That works out to beling like what.. ..7,500 a song or sehing so??
Old 08-30-2005, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

Originally Posted by Juksan Stabbs
That works out to beling like what.. ..7,500 a song or sehing so??
Nah wait.. ..i think it works out to being sehing like $3000 per remix or sehing!!
Old 08-30-2005, 12:44 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 6,460
please dont turn this into a bashing of how many songs the man have. But is his price a good thing for the industry or not? Artists can see his price and up their prices. He has set a standard Not on the international market Im talking in we own backyard. Outdoor and indoor fete. I see it as a good thing for our artists. But are we going to be willing to pay upped ticket prices at the doors to see them?
Old 08-30-2005, 12:44 AM   #10 (permalink)

Nah wait.. ..i think it works out to being sehing like $3000 per remix or sehing!!
but who is dis KL dude in de fuss place??
Old 08-30-2005, 12:45 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,398
Originally Posted by BajanFyah83
Thats not really much...probably for a strictly soca crowd its more than other acts but he does carry a mainstrean name.
American standards, no. Infact, the price he is asking for is nothing compared to the amount the "popular" acts charge. To a West Indian promoter his fee may be a little outrageous, seeing that they could book, Destra, Machel, Edwin, Alison, for less.

Originally Posted by SizweC
But realy how many songs can he sing? I mean I sure he could sing every song from his album but are people really trying to hear that?
If I was the promoter, I would decline his quoting price, and pay him 3,000. In a West Indian oriented fete, he doesn't need all the gimmicks. The songs he would end up singing would probably be, TMO, Loosing Control, Sexy Ways, Home Fuh Carnival.

But I am sure Vp will back me up and say, he is on international standards now, ent so vp?
Old 08-30-2005, 12:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

Originally Posted by sharkbait
but who is dis KL dude in de fuss place??
I en know fuh certain...but becryst ef he mekkin $1000 per song wiff a different artist den he must be a popular somebawy in the Country an Western genre yeh! (I think dah is whuh he does sing bout but i en sure yeh... )
Old 08-30-2005, 12:48 AM   #13 (permalink)

I en know fuh certain...but becryst ef he mekkin $1000 per song wiff a different artist den he must be a popular somebawy in the Country an Western genre yeh! (I think dah is whuh he does sing bout but i en sure yeh... )

he could be de one hit wonder dat sing "achy breaky heart"
Old 08-30-2005, 12:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

On a serious note SOS...if he's being paid that to sing his one big song then i think that's too much money. When Machel performs he gets more than that but he does more than that too. Same with Rupee even though i will admit i'm starting to tire of the same show over an over again. He needs to bring muh back to the days of Rugged Style, S.T.O.P, and Road Race yeh!!

"WHAPS....dis is de chant for de road!!"
Old 08-30-2005, 12:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Juksan Stabbs

Originally Posted by sharkbait

he could be de one hit wonder dat sing "achy breaky heart"
Stop laughing Sharkie...word on Asylum block is that Billie Ray Cirus is on the next remix...no boost!!