Caribana this year was off the chain. I really enjoyed the fetes this year culminating in the Fire Fete on Sunday night. One thing bothered me though and it was the talking point whole weekend. Where was the Asylum Band? They were advertised for all the fetes all weekend yet only Bunji And Fayann were there. When they came on stage singing with tracks, people were mumbling "No band again, Why they robbing we so, We pay money to come in here to see Bunji and asylum yet no band." The Road march queen And Soca monarch king with no band and no explanation? Why? Is the band still together cause i heard that only the singers appeared in shows in which the band was advertised recently. Anyway, that was the bad. The Good is Atlantik and Destra sounds really great. The sound of the band is different and I figured out the difference. Remember earlier this year I said I heard the band in Jamaica and they sounded different and i couldn't put my finger on it? Well, the only change to the band is the drummer, the rasta guy who used to play with Invasion and that is where the change in the sound of the band is coming from. There is more a locking with the drum and bass and it is more on point. Well done Atlantik. Traffik was also great, well, Shurwayne was. We need to see Eddy and Sean do more and then there is new girl who didn't even get to sing a lead song but still nuff props to the bands.
STREETS R WATCHIN
why this no band thing they came to wingate park in brooklyn with that stupid trax thing they made the soca crowd angry
You serious? Dem come ah big show like Windgate Park and sing on tracks? So wah u feel going on with the band? You see how dem dissapointing we? But if the promoters of dat show did put Machel, u woulda hear dem, bout oh dey only pushing HD or nobody cyar get a fair chance but when u cum with that kind ah bull shit peopple does be vex and dissapointed. I also hear in Grenada carnival a couple weeks after carnival was the same thing, No Band, Artists on Tracks.
i went in a fete in Queens labor day saturday and they had the band wit them...boy they flatten that place...respect to bunji the wife and the band.
We cant realy look to say it is any ones fault why they not coming with the band. We dont know if the promoter only paid for them alone to perform and did not want the band the shows I went to in NY I saw them and the band