Old 09-21-2009, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 5,637
Arrow Women in IT

Any body apart of any Tech organizations?

My professor is suggesting i join WITI.

I trying to find out what really is the benefit.
Old 09-21-2009, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,266
Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post

hmm i think only mz jaze is the other female techie on here.

however, looking at their site i only see true benefits like networking and activism.
Old 09-22-2009, 03:11 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,620
'Geek girl' helps keep Mozilla safe in scary times - USATODAY.com
Old 09-22-2009, 04:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Will work for rum

she's sexy!
Old 09-22-2009, 11:04 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Spranga View Post

however, looking at their site i only see true benefits like networking and activism.
same thing i said.. dunno about paying $300 to network still lol

Yea saw this sometime before. Interesting read. Quite a good and encouraging story for women in IT.

As I was telling Yankee Doodle.. or he was saying to me... women still have to fight extra hard in this field....steups. Based on an experience last week lol... some men still see us as there to do the lite work.. and don't want to admit that we actually know what we doing.
Old 09-22-2009, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,342

Yuh have money tuh dash wey? That organization rather expensive for just some contacts.
Old 09-22-2009, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

she's sexy!
She can secure my firefox anytime.
Old 09-22-2009, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
steups...

Yea saw this sometime before. Interesting read. Quite a good and encouraging story for women in IT.

As I was telling Yankee Doodle.. or he was saying to me... women still have to fight extra hard in this field....steups. Based on an experience last week lol... some men still see us as there to do the lite work.. and don't want to admit that we actually know what we doing.
I wouldn't take it personally. It's just that there aren't many women in this field. I don't know if it's lack of interest, dislike of analytical thinking, or just that women are pushed into other fields (business). We need more of you.
Old 09-23-2009, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
Yuh have money tuh dash wey? That organization rather expensive for just some contacts.
lolol.. yea i throw that out from I saw the price anyway....

I wouldn't take it personally. It's just that there aren't many women in this field. I don't know if it's lack of interest, dislike of analytical thinking, or just that women are pushed into other fields (business). We need more of you.
I didn't... if i did I probably would have been telling you I have to transfer lol.
Old 09-23-2009, 04:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 16,238
While I'm in IT, I'm on the consulting side of things (in IT Infrastructure). Its still a struggle but none of the women that work with me are members of WITI. My company, EMC has its own networking groups for minorities such as women, people of colour, etc. and they are really good about hooking into external organizations.

But I guess it also doesn't hurt to expand your network.
Old 09-28-2009, 02:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,559

trinitrini is a senior IT nerd.

Now here we have miz reds. Yeah i find a lot of women shying away from the IT field, i dont find much of them doing the practical though, i find most are behind the programming and writing codes, the sit down ting. IDK

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 09-28-2009, 03:18 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post

Now here we have miz reds. Yeah i find a lot of women shying away from the IT field, i dont find much of them doing the practical though, i find most are behind the programming and writing codes, the sit down ting. IDK
Is it any less? Or more? The "sit down" and the practical? What is practical though? I have to make images of hard drives and run them through programs. I'm sittin... lol...but i still think it's "practical"? Or u talking more bout us not doing wiring and shit?
Old 09-28-2009, 03:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post

Old 09-28-2009, 03:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Is it any less? Or more? The "sit down" and the practical? What is practical though? I have to make images of hard drives and run them through programs. I'm sittin... lol...but i still think it's "practical"? Or u talking more bout us not doing wiring and shit?
he means toting big ole broke down computers home tuh fix like he does do
Old 09-28-2009, 03:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,559
he means toting big ole broke down computers home tuh fix like he does do
Damn you make it sound bad banna. Its how i make my living. Dat shit actually just hurt me how you mek it sound. [latino] hey! dat's fukked up! [/latino]

Wiring and shit. Making images isn't all dat practical cause it gets simpler as you image dem. Have you ever imaged 3 or more at a time over a network?

Yes i calling you a woman, with yuh sit down and writing source codes self. :

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose