Old 11-05-2009, 01:34 PM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 5,635
Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
Most people (not trying to make this into a battle of the sexes) have a perception about "nerds" that is tough to break. And those perceptions are tied to career choices. Namely the IT field. Once someone knows you're in IT, you get all their computer questions and they feel that is all that you do/know. I would like to think that I am a very well rounded person, but most women (in my case) don't even get past "nerd" to know.
Loool... atleast u ent getting.. "Oh u look like u work in health care" comments
Old 11-05-2009, 01:45 PM   #32 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,342
Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
Loool... atleast u ent getting.. "Oh u look like u work in health care" comments
You eh know every West Indian woman a nurse.
Old 11-07-2009, 03:54 PM   #33 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 36,118
Originally Posted by PJK View Post
Notepad++
Use notepad every week but I am ready to explore other text editors. Just for a been there done that type of thing.

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
Most people (not trying to make this into a battle of the sexes) have a perception about "nerds" that is tough to break. And those perceptions are tied to career choices. Namely the IT field. Once someone knows you're in IT, you get all their computer questions and they feel that is all that you do/know. I would like to think that I am a very well rounded person, but most women (in my case) don't even get past "nerd" to know.
Logically, though, those who "feel that is all you do know" how can one person know only about one topic and not know about others? I know people from various fields who are somewhat knowledgeable about varying topics. When you have to learn to drive, buy gifts, have hobbies etc you start to learn about other topics and become reeeeeeeeeal knowledgeable. When you read newspapers, books etc then you learn about yet more things. Some people just don't want to use their noggins.

Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
I use context...

I'll take a look at textpad!!
Have to check out what Context is about.
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.