Old 07-11-2009, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 36,032
Lightbulb Should Microsoft have put a Restart option on the Start Menu...

or some prompt to come up and say "Are you sure you want to logoff or did you mean to restart?" lol

I say this because you tell people restart the computer but some choose logoff many times. Not too many people know what it means to logoff... to shut down... to restart...
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 07-11-2009, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,332
It's weird because as soon as you tell a user to shutdown their computer they immediately reach for the power button. So I always walk them through the steps.
Old 07-11-2009, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
It's weird because as soon as you tell a user to shutdown their computer they immediately reach for the power button. So I always walk them through the steps.
That is so wrong when people do that... isn't there some fact that if people press the power button to shutdown instead of using the software they can damage the hard drive and other parts of the computer?

Yeah it is best to walk through the steps in truth.
What are the steps you tell them?
``
Old 07-11-2009, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
That is so wrong when people do that... isn't there some fact that if people press the power button to shutdown instead of using the software they can damage the hard drive and other parts of the computer?

Yeah it is best to walk through the steps in truth.
What are the steps you tell them?
Well, yes and no. Your components are for the most part protected. The problem is that if you disk hasn't written everything that is in it's cache, that information could be lost. Most computers nowadays perform a graceful shutdown when the power button is pressed (thanks ACPI).

I always tell users "Click Start, then "Turn Off Computer". When the dialog pops up, click the Restart button (Green)."

That usually works. But you will be surprised.
Old 07-11-2009, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Well, yes and no. Your components are for the most part protected. The problem is that if you disk hasn't written everything that is in it's cache, that information could be lost. Most computers nowadays perform a graceful shutdown when the power button is pressed (thanks ACPI).
So the graceful shut down is due to when you hold the button for 10 seconds?

I googled ACPI:

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) is an open industry specification co-developed by Hewlett-Packard, Intel, Microsoft, Phoenix, and Toshiba.

ACPI establishes industry-standard interfaces enabling OS-directed configuration, power management, and thermal management of mobile, desktop, and server platforms.

When first published in 1999, ACPI evolved an existing collection of power management BIOS code, Advanced Power Management (APM) application programming interfaces (APIs), PNPBIOS APIs, and Multiprocessor Specification (MPS) tables into a well-defined power management and configuration interface specification.

The specification enables new power management technologies to evolve independently in operating systems and hardware while ensuring that they continue to work together.
I always tell users "Click Start, then "Turn Off Computer". When the dialog pops up, click the Restart button (Green)."
I like this but some clients have the Professional since it has the drop down menu and I find it will be tricky asking some clients to follow steps for that version of Windows.

That usually works. But you will be surprised.
You don't even have to say more. I see what you are saying due to some people.
``
Old 07-11-2009, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
steups...

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
So the graceful shut down is due to when you hold the button for 10 seconds?
Nope, if you press the power button and release immediately, it will do a graceful shutdown. If you hold the button down for greater than 4 seconds and release, it will be an abrupt shutdown.
Old 07-11-2009, 12:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Or hor... Thanks... some myths are being dispelled today!!
``
Old 07-11-2009, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,554
The only time yuh should hold down the power button is if yuh PC is frozen fuh more dan 2 minutes.

i usually disable the power button shutdown fuh people dat don't know much bout using a PC. I set it to when the power button is pressed do nothing. Dat backfired in my face one time.

Dis lady tried shutting down her PC by pressing th pwoer button once and when it didnt happen she beat in the button, had to end up buying a new case. I instructed her next time, dat she had to do start and shut down and it might take some time to power down.

Trinitrini you seriously didnt know bout pressing power button once and letting it shut down gracefully?

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 07-17-2009, 02:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post
The only time yuh should hold down the power button is if yuh PC is frozen fuh more dan 2 minutes.

i usually disable the power button shutdown fuh people dat don't know much bout using a PC. I set it to when the power button is pressed do nothing. Dat backfired in my face one time.
Interesting

Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post
Trinitrini you seriously didnt know bout pressing power button once and letting it shut down gracefully?
Did not put two and two together cassette nerd... when I thought I about it I said oh yeah that is right.
``